History of Farmington 1988 - b5z.net

History of Farmington 1988 - b5z.net

History of the Town of Farmington, New York 1788-1988 �TOWN OFcr1, FARMINGTON BICENTENNIAL Sponsored fry the Farmington Bicentennial Committee 1988 ...

14MB Sizes 1 Downloads 19 Views

Recommend Documents

Peddlers Application - Farmington Hills - Farmington Hills
Peddler. Solicit for contributions for profit for themselves or a company and are NOT soliciting contributions for chari

Chronological History 1952–1988 - ICA International
Sep 14, 2015 - and George Holcombe, Sandra True, Charles and Doris Hahn, Bill and Barbara. Alerding, and Juana Foss prov

Farmington, Missouri - St. Joseph – Farmington.
Mar 27, 2016 - Army, Ft. Sam Houston son of Cris Costello. CPT Joseph Costello. Army, Ft. Sam .... Mary Dugan. Carol Ago

Salamanca NY Republican Press 1988 - Fulton History
awards went to Jimmy Buf- falo, Chris Lusczak and Allen. Slaugenhaupt. Excellence in. Science honors were given to. Fred

farmington-victor kiwanian - Farmington-Victor Kiwanis
Mar 15, 2007 - 3/9/2007. DENNIS MONEY. SENECA WHITE DEER PROJECT. 3/16/2007. STEVE SCHMIDT/CAROL FINCH. VICTOR HISTORICA

Schedule of Charges - Farmington Bank
account or have a total deposit account portfolio balance of ... You must have at least one direct deposit posted to thi

merit awards history 1988 – 2013 - Canadian Association of
Herb Hughes. 1981. J.E. O'Byrne. 1982. Jack Goth ... Herb Hughes. Tom Berg. Award of Merit ... Scott Land & Lease Ltd. -

Farmington News - Farmington City, Utah - Utah.gov
Jun 12, 2014 - The Story of Rock Hotel Dental. Farmington News. PARK LANE RECONSTRUCTION. This summer the Utah Departmen

156 Brickyard~Road - Farmington - The Farmington Libraries
I Thompson, Jonathan, House. 2 .... fhe Jonathan Thompson House .... sold both the Lambert Hitchcock estate of 200 acres

Protect Yourself - Farmington Bank
Let Farmington Bank work with you to protect you against fraud. Access steps you can take to enhance your personal and f

History of the Town of Farmington, New York 1788-1988 �TOWN OFcr1, FARMINGTON

BICENTENNIAL Sponsored fry the Farmington Bicentennial Committee 1988 Edition fry the Farmington Bicentennial Historical Book Committee

Committee Members

William Bohling &tsy Eoerdyke Margaret Hartsough Allen Herendeen Betsy McMalwn Donna Powell &tte Ranney Karen Scofield

Cover Design by RAS Back Cover Design by Nonnan Cole

The History of the Town of Farmington This volume is a new edition of the history book written in 1976 on the occasion of the U.S. Bicentennial. An attempt has been made to incorporate new information which reflects the changes that have taken place in Farmington since 1976. The major portion of this edition is a rewriting of the Original. However, efforts have been made to substantiate existing information with historical evidence gleaned from careful and extensive investigation. We would like to thank everyone who has contributed his personal historical recollections. We hope that this book will serve as a valuable remembrance of Farmington's 200th Anniversary. Historical Book Committee

�TOWN OF� FARMINGTON

SUPERVISOR WESLEY T. PAYNE

BUIl.DING INSP. III EVERETTJ.BLAZEY

CLERK ROSE M. KLEMAN

HIGHWAY SUPT. LEO EVERDYKE

COUNCILMEN RONALD J. CHAPMAN JACK MCCABE LAWRENCE E. POTTER GUSTAVUS C. WEHRLlN

WATER & SEWER SUPT. JAMES E. CRANE PARK SUPT. GARY R. SCRIBNER

1988

CH. PLANNING BOARD DAVE lYNCH

JUSTICES LAWRENCE C SCOTT CHARLES R COOKSEY

CH. BOARD OF APPEALS RON THORPE

BICENTENNIAL Phones: Town Offices - 315-986-4774 - 716-924-3158 Sewer Plant Highway Dept

- 315-986-5540

Congratulations to Farmington As we celebrate our 200th Anniversary this year,

let us thank our

forefathers for their sound and insightful wisdom that provided the solid base for our Town. We hope and pray that we may carryon the values and traditions that have survived the test of

time as we move forward in our Community.

We are thankful for the many volunteers that so selflessly give time and talents to help preserve the spirit that binds our communities together. Let us review our committment to continue the spirit of dedication and cooperation that has made us a proud community.

i . �O Ul.__L rxa .� J_�) Wesley T: ayne � Town Supervisor

1000 County Road No.

8 - Farmington, New York 14425-9565

THE WHITE HOUSE WASHINGTON

February 18,

To the Citizens of Farmington,

1988

New York:

I am pleased to send warm greetings for the 200th anniversary of Farmington. Each city and town of our great country is unique, but all are bound together in the love of these We are fortunate to live in a nation United States. of strong and proud communities where everyone has a chance for success and the blessings of lib­ erty and freedom can be enjoyed by all, regardless of background.

As you commemorate this anniversary, you have a splendid opportunity to renew your commitment to preserving the spirit which has forged America I am proud to join you in into a land of wonder. making such a commitment on this historic occasion for the people of Farmington.

With hearty congratulations and best wishes for continued milestones,

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. II.

The

IV.

Hamlets

V.

Families

VII. VIII. IX. X. XI. XII.

3

Early History

III.

VI.

1

Features

Geographical

12

Quakers

Military

History

History

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

1 7

42

50

Servicemen

of the Town of

of Educational

Farmington by

56

School District

69

Opportunities

Churches

73

85

Organizations

Businesses and Services

93

Town Governments

XIII.

Celebrations

XIV.

Grave

.

Sites in

.

.

.

.

.

103

.

.

.

.

.

Farmington

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

120

131

I

Geographical Features

The Town of Farmington is located in northern Ontario Victor to the west, County. It is surrounded by the towns of Manchester to the east, Canandaigua to the south and Macedon in Wayne County to the north. the The northern portion of the town is characterized by rolling hills that are drumlins. These hills run north to south �ith northern end being very steep, gradually formed were drumlins that It believed off to the south. is sloping d�nng t�e of this Glacial Age. The highest drumlin is Bowerman Hill. The North Farmington water tower is located at the summit There drumlin at an elevation of 740 feet above sea level. The Hill. big hill on County Road 8 is a drumlin called Dynamite are several other such high points in the area. There are many different soil types in the northern part of Farmington. Much of the soil is gravel but there is also well drained loam to be found. In some fields the soil contains gravel, loam and clay. In the southern portion of town, from Route 96 to the town line, the land levels into a plain. This plain consists of poorly drained clay. It is more difficult to farm clay, but such soil is not as rocky as that found in North Farmington. There are several main drainage areas in Farmington, the largest being Mud Creek which flows along the western edge of town. Its Indian name is Ganargua which means "muddy water". When the rains are heavy the creek is very muddy due to the drainage of the farm lands. Sometimes even the flats flood after heavy rains or when there is an ice jam in late winter. In the early days settlers built mills on the banks of Mud Creek because of its use as a source of water power. One of these was Red Mill on the corner of Allen-Padgham and Pannell Roads. Another smaller stream that flows into Mud Creek is Beaver Creek in South Farmington in the area of East Mertensia. In the center of town near Hook and Collett Roads along the north side of the Thruway is another very large drainage system. This flows northerly across the Thruway, then easterly across County Road 8 into the Big Swamp (Hosey or Town House Swamp), then into Black Brook in the eastern part of town, eventually flowing into Canandaigua Outlet in Manchester. There are several hundred acres in the Big Swamp owned by various people. In the early days of the Town a number of farms had a parcel of the swamp as a woodlot. Today much of this is inaccessible because the NYS Thruway cuts off all rights of way on the south side. In the last twenty years there has been a vast ecological change in the swamp. The water table has become higher, killing numerous trees and allowing cattails to grow, filling in some of the old channels. It is hard to believe that in years past vegetable crops were grown in the areas east and west, north of the Thruway on County Road 8. The swamp is noted for its wildlife of deer, raccoon, muskrat, mink, birds, rabbits and the Blue Heron. In the Swamp is one of the few Blue Heron rookeries in the area. If one looks east from the corner of Sheldon and Herendeen Roads, toward the Thruway, one can see the Heron nests in the tree tops. In the summer one sees the Herons flying to various ponds and streams to feed.

Another fairly large drainage area is a flat land running from Payne Road east to the town line, north of Route 96. This area is wooded in some places; the drainage flows into Black Brook. There are other smaller drainage areas in town such as Bowe's Swamp and Zobel's Brook on County Road 8. In the center of town, running east to west near the Old Lehigh Valley Railroad, is a limestone ridge. In some areas the limestone is at the surface and allows very little vegetation to grow. There is a large quarry off Route 332 between Route 96 and County Road 41 where the stone was mined. Today the quarry is filled with water and is now called Calm Lake. Across the town line off Plastermill Road in the Town of Victor, gypsum was mined. It is believed that many mine shafts run under the Mud Creek area; these shafts are said to be filled with water. During World War II there was talk of draining the mine so it could be used as a bomb shelter or storage area. Such steps were never taken, possibly because of the high cost of the project. A planned community, known as Gypsum Mills Estates is currently being developed in this area.

The Town of Farmington, with its varied landscape of hills, valleys, plains, streams and swamps, is a good place to live, play and work. Many ecological changes have occured over the years, caused by the building of numerous subdivisions. The building of homes and factories has led to increase in water runoff that our streams and swamps have had to handle. Such changes in our ecology are inevitable as more building takes place.

1

I

PLACES OF INTEREST Dead Man's Curve - The old Route 332 off Route 96 before the Thruway was built. It curved off from Rt. 96 in front of Twentyfive's Restaurant, near the Finger Lakes Racetrack. Buttermilk Hill - North of the Thruway west of County Rd. # 28 off Collett Road. Pumpkin Hook - A hamlet on the northern edge of town near the corner of Hook and Allen-Padgham Roads; formerly New Salem. Blacksmith Comers - Corner of Route 96 and County Road #28. Flint Hill - South of Route 96 on County Road #28. Mertensia - Cluster of homes on County Road #41 and corner of New Michigan and Mertensia Roads near Mud Creek. This was also a railroad station of the New York Central branch. Poverty Huddle Corner of County Road #8 and Martz Road. Calm Lake - Stone quarry between Route 96 and County Road #41, west of Route 332.

Hathaway's Comers Corner of Route 332 and County Road #41. Beaver Creek - Drains area east of New Michigan Road and toward Route 332, bending westerly toward Mud Creek. Mud Creek - Its Indian name is Ganargua Creek, which means muddy water. It flows across the western side of Town. Brownsville - A cluster of homes on corner of Brownsville and Crowley Roads near Mud Creek. Hosey's or Town House Swamp Large swampy wooded area north of the Thruway, east of County Road #8. Padelford Brook - Located in the southern part of town. Beaver Meadow Swamp - Located in the east part of town north of the Thruway.

Trap Brook Stream draining Bowe-Popenhousen Swamp flowing northerly into Macedon's Mud Creek. Blue Heron Rookery - In swamp off corner of Sheldon and Herendeen Roads. Blue Be"s - Found in many places along Mud Creek especially in Mertensia (which means Blue Bell) and on the Brice Bowerman Farm on Cline Rd. Location of first settler's cabin: Otis Comstock -Brice Bowerman Farm on Cline Road. Bowl·shaped area west of Mertensia Road near Mud Creek - A good natural ampitheater.

HILLS: Ranney Dynamite Herendeen's (Allen) Bowerman Hill in Herendeen Pasture Buttermilk Young

650 650 550 740 700 650 700

-700 ft. -700 ft. ft. ft. ft. ft. ft.

560 569 559 630 620 608

ft. ft. ft. ft. ft. ft.

ELEVATIONS: Pumpkin Hook Corner of County Rd. #8 & Allen-Padgham Rd. Corner of County Rd. #8 & Holtz Rd. Corner of County Rd. #28 & Fox Rd. Hook Rd. & Route 96 County Rd. #8 & 96

2

II. Early History THE INDIANS The Indians have left traces of their occupation of the town. Flint arrowheads, knives, scrapers, fish spears and stone pestles have been found in liberal quantities. The farms once occupied by Ellery G. Allen, John J. Reynolds, Thomas R. Baker, Oliver Ryan, Cornelius McCloskey and Oscar Randal yielded many fine specimens of these relics. After each plowing the soil gave up a greater or less number of these tokens of by-gone inhabitants. This section was the camping ground of the Senecas. Near the springs of fresh water the flints were found in greatest abundance. Early settlers have said that near these springs little patches of ground had been cleared, where the squaws raised maize and melons. It is only by the utmost stretch of the imagination that we of the present day can form any idea of the almost unbroken forest covering the fertile farms we now take so much pleasure in tilling. In this forest the Indian hunted the bear, the deer, the timid rabbit and the frisky squirrel. The brooks and creeks teemed with fish. The Indian, with his sharp flint fish-spear, was able to secure enough for the coming meal. Lewis F. Allen found several of these barbed spears. There was scarcely a home in the northern part of the town which did not contain one or more flint or stone relic of the Indians. It was said that the neighborhood of the mills was an accustomed hunting and fishing ground of the Indians. Their fish and game were offered to the settlers in exchange for meal and flour. The Indians would come into the grist-mill bringing their fish or game, and lay them down before Mr. Smith (Mertensia Mill) and say, "The skano trout" or "The skano game", and then be off before any answer could be returned. In a few days they would be back for their "gifts" and say, "Skano ingun meal". The miller humored their caprice and gave them as they desired. This mill, on County Road #41, was in close proximity to the headquarters of the Six Nations. THE PHELPS AND GORHAM PURCHASE The State of New York has no land summarily taken from the Indians, but it was all bought, some fairly, and some by artifice. The policy instituted by the Dutch in 1629 was followed by their English successors. Turner's History says: 'Western New York was claimed by Pennsylvania, Connecticut, and Massachusetts; each of these claims was based on a charter, and not on actual possession. Pennsylvania claimed northward to a narrow strip along Lake Ontario, but in 1774 this was abandoned, and a boundary was fixed at the 42nd parallel of north latitude. Connecticut next asserted its right to a tract, two or three miles wide, laying along the whole north side of the Pennsylvania line, and usually known as the Connecticut Gore; but in 1800 this right was renounced."

The claim of Massachusetts, based on a patent given by James I in 1620, was the most important, but was not urged until after the Revolution. A negotiation of about three weeks between the agents of New York and Massachusetts, at Hartford, Connecticut, resulted December 16, 1786 in an agreement. By the terms of this article, the government was ceded to New York, but Massachusetts was given the right of extinguishing the Indian title to about six and one quarter millions of acres of land, and the privilege of selling the pre-emption right. Oliver Phelps of Suffield, and Nathaniel Gorham of Charlestown, Massachusetts obtained this right March 31,1788, for about one shilling per acre; they were also to purchase the claims of the Indians. These men were the agents of an association which had been attracted by the reports brought from the new grant. Considerable trouble was made them by a New York company which attempted to secure the property by a lease from the Six Nations, but this difficulty was also overcome. In May, 1788, Oliver Phelps, Israel Chapin, and William Walker began negotiations with the Indians for the sale of the pre-emption right, but it was not until July 8, 1788, that a deed was given. Tradition says that the Indians at first refused to sell any land west of the Genesee River, but when Mr. Phelps proved to them the benefit they would derive from a mill site, where they could get corn ground and lumber sawed, they consented. The Indians were surprised at the size of the tract required; it being twelve miles wide, and twenty-four miles long. It extended from two miles north of the present village of Avon to Lake Ontario. The agents also bought a larger tract which extended from a point eighty-two miles west of the northeast corner of Pennsylvania, westwardly along the northern boundary line of that state, to a point where Coneseraga Creek united with the Genesee River; from thence westwardly along the said river to the mill site mentioned, and follows its east line to Lake Ontario thence eastwardly along the shore of said lake to a meridian passing through the point of beginning; and from thence southwardly upon that line to the starting point. The consideration for the conveyance of about two and one-half millions of acres of land was five thousand dollars ($5,000) in hand, and five hundred dollars ($500) annually thereafter." In 1788, in pursuance of the authority conferred by the act creating Ontario county, the Court of Sessions formed the townships now known respectively as Farmington and Manchester into one town, and to the same was given the name of Farmington. Of this, however, it must be said there is no present positive record to prove the foregoing assertion, but it is nevertheless an accepted fact. Within the territory of the original township, were numbers eleven in the second and third ranges, each containing presumably thirty-six square miles of land. In 1821 number eleven in the second range was separated from the mother town and organized under the name of Burt, but subsequently changed to Manchester. The first township sold by the Phelps and Gorham proprietary was number eleven in the third range, and Its purchasers were a company of Massachusetts citizens, then residing mainly in Berkshire county, who were members of the old and honored SOCiety of Friends, whose desire was to leave their former home and take up their abode in a then wild, uncultivated and almost unknown region called the Genesee country. The purchasers of number eleven were Nathan Comstock, Benjamin Russell, Abraham Lapham, Edmund Jenks, Jeremiah Brown, Ephraim Fish, Nathan Herendeen, Nathan Aldrich, Stephen Smith, Benjamin Rickerson, William Baker and Dr. Daniel Brown. 3

The first settlement of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase was made at Canandaigua, and for about five years its local government controlled the townships northward to Lake Ontario; and a record of its town officers show men who were chosen from what afterwards became Farmington, Palmyra, and Macedon. Early in the spring of 1789, the first settler of Canandaigua, Joseph Smith from Geneva, had built a block house for his family, whom he brought with him, and opened a tavern. Early in May 1789, General Israel Chapin arrived and built a log house near the outlet; some eight or ten others came with him, thus making a good beginning for the settlement. The first sale of Phelps and Gorham was township No. 11, range 3, now Farmington, and the purchasers who became residents were Nathan Comstock, Abraham Lapham, Nathan Herendeen, Nathan Aldrich and Dr. Daniel Brown. The deed was given to Nathan Comstock and Benjamin Russell, a non-resident. The town had been surveyed, but there was some difficulty which seemed to arise over the lines and it was surveyed again. The town had not been visited by any of its owners and it was concluded to make 144 prizes, being the number of lots in the town, and draw for them, for all, or nearly all knew nothing of the quality of the land, being an entire wilderness. Each lot was to contain 160 acres of land.

ONTARIO COUNTY Farmington is located in Ontario County which was formed from Montgomery, January 27,1789. It was named for Lake OntariO, which originally formed its Northern Boundary. Steuben County was taken off in 1796, Genesee in 1802, parts of Monroe and Livingston in 1821, and Yates and part of Wayne in 1823. A strip was annexed from Montgomery County west of Seneca Lake, February 16,1791, and a small tract in the fork of Crooked Lake, from Steuben, February 25,1814. The territory lying within the limits of this County was the chief seat of the Senecas, the most powerful tribe of the "Six Nations". Their chief village was at Kanadesaga, just west of the present site of Geneva, on Seneca Lake. During the Revolution the Senecas espoused the English cause and in 1779 General Sullivan invaded their country from the south, burned their villages, destroyed their corn and orchards, and left the most beautiful region in the Indian domains a desolate waste. At the conclusion of peace, the force and spirit of the Indians was broken, and they quietly yielded to the gradual encroachments of the whites, until the last acre of their hunting grounds within the limits of this County, and the graves of their fathers, passed out of their possession. By the terms of the charter of the Colony of Massachusetts, the region between its north and south boundaries from the Atlantic to the Pacific, was embraced; and the title to this territory was claimed by Massachusetts after the Revolution. The subsequent charter of the State of New York intervened and conflicted with this claim, from which difficulties arose. This was finally settled by commissioners at Hartford, Connecticut, on December 16, 1786. It was agreed that Massachusetts should cede to New York all the territory claimed by the former, lying within the limits of the latter, and that New York should cede to Massachusetts the right of the pre-emption of the 6,000,000 acres to Oliver Phelps and Nathaniel Gorham for one million dollars. Mr. Phelps collected the sachems, chiefs, and the warriors of the Six Nations at Kanadesaga, and in July 1788, concluded with them a treaty of purchase of a tract containing 2,250,000 acres. The portion of the tract to which the Indian title had not been extinguished being about two-thirds of the original purchase was abandoned by Messrs. Phelps and Gorham had reverted to Massachusetts. It was re-sold by that state to Robert Morris in 1796, and subsequently formed what is known as the Holland Purchase. In 1789 Mr. Phelps, at Canandaigua, opened the first land office ever established in America for the sale of land to settlers. The system adopted for the survey of this land by townships and ranges, with slight modifications, was adopted by the government for the survey of all the new lands in the U.S. When organized in 1789 Ontario was the first County set off from Montgomery, and embraced all that part of the State lying west of the east line of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase, including what was called the "Genesee Country".

The foregoing was by Martin Wehle, from the reprint of the 1874 Ontario County Atlas.

4

FROM THE HISTORICAL AND STATISTICAL GAZETTEER OF NEW YORK STATE R.P. Smith, Publisher, 1860

Acres of Land, Valuation, Population, Dwellings, Families, Freeholders, Schools, Live Stock, Agricultural Products, and Domestic Manufactures, of Ontario County. Acres of Land

Names of Towns

Valuation of 1858

"0 Q) > e a. E 'c :::>

"C (I) > 0 a. E

(I) (tj t) W co (I) II:

�� 0(1) en a. "'0 ... (I) a.. a..

Population

en (I) co �

co "0 t-

en (I) co E (I) u,

en Ol .s Q) 3: 0

en � 'E «I U.

'0 ci Z

'0

Schools

c Z

en Q) "C "0 s: (I) (I) U:

.!1 ..... (,) 0',: ci.� zo

e (1)... � "COl =:::J �«I tH-

Bristol ............... Canadice ...........

17,023

5,945%

$452,676

$72,249

$524,925

862

397

316

12

571

4,959%

195,699

230,800

491

185

185

163

9

449

Canandaigua ..... E. Bloomfield .....

34,846%

8,433

2,422,920

35,101 678,074

853 486

334

10,799

3,100,994

121,050

838,551

1,108 397

1,184 406

339

11

2,213 701

19,676%

5,419 7,621%

717,501 761,849

151,805

354

368

309

955,794

121,670 71,490

913,654 1,077,464

3,314 1,051 952

20

2,906

3,166 1,117 998

767

13,277

1,185 910

1,195 873

496

455

388

15 16

932

305

321

237

13

634

1,541 1,088

1,468 1,030

533 408

569 409

349 346

15 17

1,232 911

2,694 767

2,599 728

1,005 285

1,014 291

761

19 11

1,905 543

4,033 614

4,265 565

1,589 241

19

2,822 477

1,153 820

1,055 801

1,480 225 415 298

21,439

21,235

7,828

8,180

Farmington ........ Gorham ............. Hopewell ........... Manchester .... " .. Naples ............... Phelps ............... Richmond .......... Seneca .............. South Bristol ..... Victor ................ W. Bloomfield .... Total ..............

22,294% 16,685

4,043

18,085

3,175%

13,958

10,117 6,675

33,409% 18,827 32,802 10,180 16,051 12,726

767,927 930,704

6,979 10,324 13,595 3,969 2,946%

290,639% 97,108%

839,417

111,679

1,042,383

257,589 1,650,475 656,152

56,814 182,125 240,600

314,403 1,832,600

3,087,504 207,851 787,083

1,354,265 12,948 105,430

486,966

82,435

14,338,690

896,752 4,441,769 220,799 892,513 569,401

3,397,735 17,736,425

Live Stock

Names of Towns

Bristol ............... Canadice ........... Canandaigua ..... E. Bloomfield ..... Farmington ........ Gorham ............. Hopewell ........... Manchester ........ Naples ............... Phelps ............... Richmond .......... Seneca .............. South Bristol .....

"C Ole e«len �e� 0(1)�oc3

en 3: 0 o

736 459

925 670

683 424

1,506 666 823

2,381 873

1,615 692

1,600 1,433 1,072 1,315 1,089 2,200 1,485 1,969 691

1,130 892 734 965 708

en (I) en 0 I

1,318 737 882 643 1,710 719

Victor ................ W: Bloomfield ....

1,556 400 902 603

Total ..............

13,660

.

1,795 464

1,.212 845

820 579

19,760

14,202

202 295

12 11

258

9

594

5,845

209

15,435

Agrigultural Products Bush. of Grain

2,043 658

426 325

206 909

a. (I) (I) s: CI) 6,949 2,770 15,988 7,956 10,264 10,279 5,625 7,419 6,602 13,141 884 557 392

(I) e .� CI) 1,427 603 3,618 1,183 1,748 1,649 1,503 1,773 1,121 3,575 1,413 2,892 787

0'1 e '§' CI)

Q) c � 28,440 17,264 60,744 41,446 31,322 27,604% 21,401 29,827% 16,867 66,184 38,050 32,044

1,038

1,775 1,252

10,775 84,823 37,698

89,864

26,419

544,490

5

68,949 20,344114 169,425 91.109 110,355114 97,796 96,619 121,048 27,848114 257,571 64,936 206,446 11,663 102,950 70,925

>. «I I '0 en c:: 0 t2,795% 1,263% 5,344% 2,057% 2,875 2,972% 2,394 2,464% 1,821 5,085% 3,224 4,863 1,297 2,224 1,767

1,527,481% 42,448%

669

'0 .!!?� (1)0 ..t::.en� :::::JO coa..

'0 en en Q)Q) ..t::.en a. :::::Ja. CDc:(

Dairy Products en enQ) "0 .... "0 en c::Q) C::Q) :::::J:::: :::::JQ) O:::::J o..t::. a.. CD 0..(.)

6,454 3,119 10,836 9,511 11,696 6,034 9,201 14,838 5,472 48,284 4,172 12,514

60,225 36,625 146,897 53,939 93,258 90,059 66,170 79,571 75,160 174,832 54,236 149,581 55,548 72,049 14,947

22,724 4,262 22,901 8,838 27,407 10,053 12,522 15,293 7,210 33,096 12,715 11,805

1,904 33,892 10,973

47,339 6,543 34,331 19,052 30,848 22,318 31,881 22,729 17,173 43,154 19,773 47,753 6,232 29,950 18,022

188,900

397,098

1,223,097

205,921

3,040 5,370 8,685

782

en s: (5 (3 o .. en en-o (I)'" E«I 0>'os 551% 130 670% 10 325 170 247 189 1,076 357 51 573 430 105

4,885

ONTARIO COUNTY DWELLINGS, AREA, AND PRODUCTS IN ONTARIO COUNTY· 1860

Number of Dwellings Stone Brick Frame Log Total Number of Farms

Average Value (Statewide) 120 516 6,591 513

$6,857.89 5,500.26 784.90 46.13

7,828

$1,362.76

3,943

Number of Acres

Improved Total

290,6393/4 387,7491/2

MANUFACTURING ESTABLISHMENTS AS REPORTED BY THE STATE CENSUS OF 1855

Bakeries Blacksmith Shops Boot and Shoe Shops Breweries Brick Manufacturers Cabinet Making Shops Carding & Cloth Dressing Establishments Carpenter Shops Chandler's and Soap Factories Coach and Wagon Manufactories Cooper Shops Furnaces Gristmills Harness, Saddle and Trunk Manufactories Hand and Cap Manufactories Lime Manufactories Machine Shops Marble Manufactories

Millinery Shops Paper Mills Plaster Mills Printing Offices Salt Manufactories Sash & Blind Manufactories Sawmills Shingle Factories Stair Building Establishments Silver Ware Manufactories Tailor Shops Tanneries Tin & Sheet Metal Manufactories Tobacco & Cigar Manufactories

40 29 1 3 8 1 1 1 19 13 8 40 10 1 2

Turning Shops Woolen Cloth & Yarn Factories Other Manufactories

3 1

6

2 7

54 1 1 14 5 13 13 1 4 46

AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS OF THE COUNTY OF ONTARIO FOR THE YEAR 1854 It is noted that 1854 was distinguished by a severe and prevalent drought. From 20 to 50% should be added to obtain the proximate results of years of ordinary production. (Note: There has also been a severe drought in the summer of 1988 which is also affecting agricultural production.) Bushels of Winter Wheat Bushels of Spring Wheat Tons of Hay Bushels of Oats Bushels of Rye Bushels of Barley Bushels of Buckwheat Bushels of Corn Bushels of Potatoes Bushels of Peas Bushels of Beans Flax - Bushels of Lint Bushels of Seed Pounds of Hops Pou nds of Tobacco Bushels of Apples Barrels of Cider Pounds of Honey Pounds of Wax Total No. of Neat Cattle No. of Working Oxen No. of Cows Pou nds of Butter Pounds of Cheese No. of Horses No. of Mules No. of Sheep No. of Swine Tons of Broom Corn Bushels of Peaches Bushels of Pears Bushels of Plums

528,488 27,659 42,4483/8 525,9371/2 16,002 320,375 18,3253/4 617,4851/4 188,900 15,297112 2,4043/4 2,070 1991/2 32,751 9,180 397,098 8,044 53,135 2,4583/4 33,962 2,113 14,202 1,223,097 205,921 13,660 159 132,725 26,419 3,0733/8 5993/8 2653/8

7

THE PIONEERS (The following sections are taken from the Ontario County History of 1876) The desire to better their condition is universal with the human race. Where courage, endurance, and ability are combined, the result is, in the main, success. Prayerfully, yet hopefully, the colonists had crossed the broad ocean in a small vessel, and won themselves a footing, not without persecution, from those who had fled religious tyranny themselves in the province of Massachusetts. From necessity and inclination, the Friends constituted themselves a distinct people, simple in dress, plain of apparel, and bound to the observance of certain societary laws, among which were temperance, peace, and superintendence. The latter feature included a report to the Society of any portion of its members of all important plans contemplated, especially that of a distant removal, in order that the subject should be fairly considered. When the fame of the far-away Indian country came to be noised among the Friends of Berkshire County, Mass. twelve men associated to purchase a body of the native land as soon as it should be put on the market. The subject was canvassed in council, and the decision was adverse to emigration. The distance was too great, and the dangers too formidable, and when the movement was resolutely advanced, the projectors were formally disowned. Turn we now to the task voluntarily assumed by the pioneer Friends. The Phelps and Gorham purchase had been surveyed into townships by range and number, and the first sale was made of township No. 11, range 3, the Town of Farmington, to the fOllowing-named pioneers: Nathan Comstock, Benjamin Russell, Abraham Lapham, Edmund Jenks, Jeremiah Brown, Ephraim Fish, Nathan Herendeen, Nathan Aldrich, Stephen Smith, Benjamin Rickerson, William Baker, and Dr. Daniel Brown. As representatives of the company, the deed was given to Messrs, Comstock and Russell. Nathan Comstock became the pioneer and from Childs Gazette it was learned that: "In 1789 Nathan Comstock with his two sons, Otis and Darius, and Robert Hathaway, came from Adams, Massachusetts a part of them by the water route, landing at Geneva with their provisions, and a part by land with a horse and some cattle." When the overland party arrived within 15 miles of Seneca Lake, a calf was added to their stock, which Otis Comstock carried on his back the remaining distance. Arriving on the new purchase, which was lot No. 133, located in the nortwest corner of the town, bounded by the town line of Perinton on the west and the town line of Macedon on the north; the Comstocks commenced clearing. The crashing down of old forest trees, and the vigorous strokes of the Pioneer's axe were heard through the neighborhood. The burning of brush, the hatcheling with a crude form of appliance drawn by one horse were in operation. A log house was constructed which was the first in the town, located abouth eighty rods south of the Macedon town line and about the same distance from the Perinton line. A small field was sown with wheat; but when winter approached, all returned to their New England home, save Otis Comstock, who was the first white man to spend a winter in the Town of Farmington, and the first actual resident in the township, although his father Nathan Comstock, was given the honor of having been the first pioneer settler. Their horse had died shortly after their arrival, throwing the party wholly upon their own resources and Darius, as the subsistence commissary, was obliged to act as a pack horse, going through the woods to Geneva once a week, where he purchased provisions and carried them 20 miles on his back, to their home in the wilderness. A proprietor, named Aldrich, came by water to Geneva, bringing with him provisions and seed-wheat, which he packed to his purchase, and then set to work and put in a few acres of wheat. Winter drew nigh, and all but Otis Comstock returned to Massachusetts to recount their experience, consummate their plans, and prepare for a permanent removal. Otis remained in the lone dwelling, caring for, and protecting, the stock against wild animals, of which the prowling wolves were numerous, and looking for spring to come when he would again associate with his relatives.

The winter fireside was the place of many a discussion of the coming season; the long route of travel through the old forests; the Indians hovering about their former villages and camping-grounds; the wild beasts howling in the timber, and fierce for attacks upon the flock of herd; and the long, weary journeys to distant mills and markets. Nor was Otis forgotten. Not as now could letters borne with lightning speed convey him tidings of good cheer, and return letters, freighted with pioneer experience, assure them of his welfare. They only could wait, while he, with no neighbors nearer than Canandaigua and Boughton Hill, tenanted the lone cabin, cared for the stock, and waited the coming of spring and the family. Early in the year 1790 preparations had been made, and on February 14th the journey for permanent settlement began; the old and well-remembered home in Adams was seen for the last time, and the party set out on their long and memorable journey. Nathan Comstock was the leader, and his family formed no inconsiderable portion of the proposed settlers. It consisted of Nathan and his wife, Mary, Darius, Nathan Jr., Jared, Joseph, and John. With him were Nathan Aldrich and Isaac Hathaway. Days and weeks went by, and the distance lengthened till the old home was far away. From Utica they found their way through the wilderness by marked trees. Cayuga Lake was crossed on the ice near the side of "Long Bridge". At Seneca Lake outlet they found what was supposed to have been one of Sullivan'S transports, used for the crossing of his expedition, which they used to cross over. Each day saw the party plodding on through mud and snow; each night the snow was cleared from a small plot by the campfire, and the children awoke terrified at times at the dismal howls of the prowling wolf. From Geneva they made their roads as they went, for the greater part of the way to their new homes, which they reached March 15, 1790. After leaving Whitestown they, with women and children, camped out every night of the journey, and on arriving at their destination, most of them had to build cabins at this inclement season. On February 15th, one day later than Comstock's party, Nathan Herendeen, 49, having traded his small farm in Adams for a thousand acres in the "purchase", started upon his trek. With him were his son Welcome, sons-in-law Joshua Herington and John McCumber, their wives and children. In all, about 40 persons emigrated from Adams, Massachusetts about the middle of February 1790. 8

It was a great undertaking, as there were very few inhabitants after leaving Whitesboro, near Albany, and all provisions to last until more was raised, must be carried, as it would be difficult to return. Putting their trust in God, and using their best endeavors, they resolved to go. Welcome Herendeen proposed to go with those who started first, but Nathan said no. The next day after the Comstocks left, Nathan ordered teams and goods to be made ready and on the following morning they started, so where the other company started from in the morning, Nathan reached at night, where there would be coaling and plenty of fire, so that Nathan had not to strike fire in their whole journey, which lasted 28 days, and they laid out every night. It is believed that Nathan's wife and youngest son, Thomas, did not come with him, but in another company some time later. It is probable that Huldah and Plainfield came with their father. The first party was not overtaken until they reached the Seneca River. They arrived at Canandaigua the 10th, 3rd month 1790 in usual health, and on the 13th they found lot #21. They selected a building site (Nathan walked west on the line of lot 21 to the farthest corner of the lot), and erected a cabin and on the 15th they moved into their new home. The oxen and cattle they brought stood the journey well, when it is considered that all they had to eat was what they could pick up along the road. The Com stocks meeting with Otis was wonderful, and Otis was filled with great joy at seeing his family once more. Mary (Mrs. Comstock) was very enthusiastic over the prospect of future prosperity, and she did all she could to encourage her husband and sons in the new project. The crude farm implements, the pulling of stumps and the tilling of the soil with oxen, gave utterance to the fact that the new settlers had come to stay. The settlers were entirely dependent on their own resources, as there was no one to call on for assistance, no mills to grind their corn, not a physician in the town. They pounded their corn and other grain on a stump mortar prepared for the purpose by hollowing out the top. The newcomers were soon installed in cabins and engaged in clearing, and the close of fall saw a number of fields sown in wheat. The plow was not used in the preparation of the soil; the trees were cleared away, the wheat scattered and raked in, and with this slight culture heavy crops resulted. It was not without struggle, for where the settlers dwelt upon the site of former forest trees; the miasma of decaying vegetation, now exposed to the torrid heat of summer, floated in clouds about the cabin, and thirteen out of fourteen in Herendeen's party had the fever and ague during the first season. Welcome Herendeen escaped only to be a six months' victim of the disorder during the following season.

All of their breadstuffs had to be brought in from Whitestown, near where Utica now stands. The journey to that place had to be made by water commencing at the foot of Canandaigua Lake at the outlet and following the outlet down below Jack's Riffs, then drawing their boats across into Wood's Creek, then down Wood's Creek into Oneida Lake, out of the Oneida Lake into the Mohawk. (The water route was probably Canandaigua Outlet, with portage at Manchester, Seneca Lake, portage at Jack's Riffs, Oswego River, Oneida River, Oneida Lake, Wood's Creek, portage to the Mohawk.) This route was very tedious and hard work to accomplish. What meal was brought would sour in a little time, so corn was the principal living, which had to be pounded in the fall. Welcome Herendeen, desiring wheat for seed, worked for Nathan Aldrich a period of thirteen days for two bushels and a half. This was his last purchase of wheat; his fields, years later, furnished to his labor the most ample returns. Aldrich had sown wheat in the fall of 1789, on lot 23, and it was harvested in the summer of 1790. Summer crops were put in during the season and the prospect of bread from ground wheat was regarded with anticipated satisfaction. The stump mortar was the prlnclpal dependence for preparing their grain for bread. Some grain was taken in the fall of 1790 to Wilder's Mills in Bristol by long journeys with oxen. In 1791 Levi Smith, who was working for Nathan Aldrich and Abraham Lapham, carried grists upon two horses to the Friend's Mill at Jerusalem. It may be said of Aldrich that his was the second cabin built in the town. In it was held the first town meeting during 1797, and here he died in 1818.

Much of interest is derived from a manuscript written around 1843 by Edward Herendeen concerning this early settlement. The pioneers were conscious of their victorious struggle with the forces of nature, and not more fondly does the soldier delight to fight his battles over again, than the old settler recount his early life and draw his contrast of past and present. It is his well-won right, and it were well if his experience were jotted down.

"What would we now think", says Herendeen, "to take eight children in the dead of winter, with an ox-team, where they could not have or see a fire from morning until night? It looks marvelous to me that they lived through the journey! Often have I thought of it, and it almost looks impossible that it could be done." Edward Herendeen was the oldest child of Welcome and Elizabeth Durfee Herendeen. He was born in Farmington February 10, 1795. Daniel McCumber, grandson of Nathan Herendeen, was 7 months old when he made the journey. James Herington was 18 months old. Pennsylvania Herington was the mother of the first child born in Farmington, Welcome, born September 17, 1790. The residents of what became Farmington numbered nearly 30 men, besides women and children, In 1790. A list of the inhabitants gives the names of Nathan Comstock, his sons Nathan, Otis, John; Isaac Hathaway, Nathan Herendeen, Joshua Herington, John McCumber, Welcome Herendeen; John Payne, Israel Reed, John Russell, Abraham Lapham, Jacob, Elijah, Levi, Jeremiah, and Jonathan Smith; Reuben Allen, Nathan Aldrich, Job Howland, John Rankin, Ananlas McMillan, Edward Durfee, Thomas W. Larkin, Silas Lawrence, Pardon Wilcox, and Robert Hathaway. Only a part of those who were married had brought their wives with them, but most of them were unmarried. Jacob Smith brought his family in 1791, and was 31 days in coming from Adams to Farmington. He put his family and furniture on board a boat at Schenectady and drove his stock through the woods. The whole party arrived at Swift's landing, beyond which he had to make almost his whole road to the settlement. 9

Levi Smith, one of the pioneers of the town, purchased a farm of about 200 acres from Nathan Aldrich, and made payment by giving the labor of a day for an acre of land. The farm thus won by day's labor became the heritage of his son, P.A. Smith. John Pound, and Elijah, his brother, from New Jersey, were the first farmers upon the land owned by the Sheldons. Nathan Herendeen's family, under the guidance of his son, Welcome, came in February 1791; and about the same time the families of others who came the year before, and some new ones, arrived; among these were Brice and Turner Aldrich, William Cady, Uriel Smith and Asa Lapham. The newcomers were soon in their log cabins, and making clearings about them to let in the sunlight. Nathan Comstock, Sr., was their surveyor general of roads; trees and underbrush were cut, logs turned out of the way, and streams, sloughs and marshes were bridged. In the fall of 1700 a considerable number of fields of wheat were sown. The first settlers brought apple seeds, and peach and plum pits with them, and were early fruit growers. The products of these trees served many purposes, and were esteemed great luxuries. Nowhere in all the newly settled region was success so uniform and unparalleled as in Farmington. The wholesome discipline and upright example of the Society of Friends preserved the settlement from an excessive use of spirituous liquors, and from other harmful indulgences while the fruits of their proverbial industry and economy gave the town the pre-eminence it now enjoys. LIFE OF THE EARLY SETTLER When a good title was made possible, and something like roads were marked out, the ox teams took up the line of march for the Genesee country, and that mainly in the winter, for the streams were without bridges. Trees had to be felled to build the log cabin, and the big box sleigh served awhile for shelter. Many journals of the pioneers tell how the family of little children lived under the big sleigh box for a week. The box was banked up with boughs, and had a big fire burning before it. The wolves howled by night, and there were no neighbors for miles.

The crashing down of the old forest trees under the vigorous axe strokes, the burning of the great logs and underbrush, the pulling of stumps, and rude forms and appliances for tilling the soil marked the early settlers' coming. The pioneer's work was hard, uneventful, his chances for social and intellectual improvement shut out by solitude. Yet he did a valuable work and laid the foundation of wealth and progress. If he was rude in manner and dress, he was cheerful and healthy. The table fare was simple and unadulterated, and as a result the children of the pioneers grew to maturity strong in mind and body, and lived much longer than the average of the race.

Farmington has presented a direct advance from the felling of the first tree down to the present fine farms, with neat buildings and broad fields. The advent of the pioneers was chilled by the ostracism of the society they loved, and in the midst of hardships their minds were set on the future. We see them regain fellowship, and set up a local society. We find them cheerfully submitting to loss of property to vindicate a principle, establishing a school to bring the boon of education within the reach of all, and buying up costly property to exclude the sale of liquors from their midst. Almost the whole town was settled by residents of Adams, Massachusetts, and nowhere could better material be found. In the purchase of the land in this town, but one of the original proprietors failed to become a permanent citizen and pay for his land. Alone in his forest hut one passed a winter, - a solitary picket on the outpost of civilization; another journeyed long to find a mill where the first grain could be crushed; others planted the peach and the plum pits, and sowed the seeds of the apple, so that in other times the new settlers from different localities journeyed thither for fruit. The apples, cider and applesauce were a fine treat to the pioneers in the clearing of the Holland Purchase. On some winter's day the keeper of a log taven would set out in a sleigh and secure a load; and on his return, the news would circulate far and wide, and on ox-sled and horse-sleigh the settlers would gather to the feast and the frolic. Singular in customs, plain in dress and speech, yet full of energy, the Comstocks and their bretheren have left an impression upon the society of Farmington, honorable to themselves and beneficial to the community. Despite the manifest hardships endured by the pioneers, they were satisfied. The people were united and willing to give each other aid. There was equality in condition. People were not accustomed to the distinctions of wealth and commonly went clad in clothing made in their own families, as the result of necessity and economy. The matrons and maidens were not averse to labor, and loved the buzz of the spinning wheel and the double shake of the loom. Sabbath and holiday were the occasions when "boughten clothes" made their appearance. Yet, often suits made by the female members of the family were worn with evident pride by child and parent. The girls made their own dresses, and they were not cast aside with the season.

Amusements were mingled with labor, and pastimes were more prevalent than now. There were corn-huskings and apple-parings, quiltings and choppings, knittings for the benefit of the poor, etc. There were celebrations of memorial occasions, political rallies, and all the ludicrous features of muster-day. There were raisings of barns, and bees for logging these last ending with a huge bonfire and a good time, and the consumption of pumpkin pies, sweet cider and rye whiskey. Visits deserved the name. They were given and received with pleasure. Several went together and the hum of conversation was unceasing. Horseback-riding was common, since the horse could pass where tree and stump forbade the use of wheeled vehicles. If a party for social enjoyment was announced to be held in the neighborhood, none stopped to inquire who would be there, but each set out for a good time. 10

Scale of Miles � 1

FARMINI

lYe 103

u

>

TON 1904 c

o.

�t �f.3�=====*====�nnT==;�� S:--RfUSl e ..!l-. J<_-..i..

'ph/II

97

_J

�--,-

)I

An early resident gave the following account of the methods employed to conquer the difficulties. "The pioneer first secured an article or contract for his land, and then raised a rude log cabin. He had a chimney built of sticks, with straw mixed with mud for mortar. He made the roof of elm bark, the floor of split logs, and the door of hewn planks. He had a small window of oiled paper. His household goods were brought on an ox sled over a rough, underbrushed road to the new home. Elevated spots and natural ridges were available for beginnings. It was a hard task to make roads. Subsistence, other than wild game and vegetation, could only be procured by bringing it in by pack loads, and on foot, until land could be cleared and crops raised. Year after year the clearing was enlarged, and corn, potatos, grain, beans, and pumpkins grew among the stumps. Progress was slow until up to 1812, yet there was advance made. Roads were worked, mills were built, and comfortable homes were near enough to see the smoke of each other's chimneys. Schools began to gather the children from the woods, and abundant crops were raised. At times there were difficulties; Indians, soldiers, and wild animals raided upon the settlers, but after a time these caused them no more trouble." "New England conquered by peaceable settlements, she planted her theology and her townships as coincidents everywhere, until states rose up to copy her constitutions and her creeds, to adopt her holidays, and to respect her traditional opinions. Her sons carried the wooden clocks and spinning wheels, the habits, the manners, and the thrift, of the little land which is forever to be known as the mother. Step by step the most eager pressed forward, to spy out, and to take possession of new fields. Though ever advancing, they never lost the homing instinct, but built New England farm houses and villages, raised New England beans, and planted New England orchards from seeds brought from their old homes. The seedlings were also improved by grafts from the best fruit trees of New England. The households were models of the eastern homes. Besides agriculture, nearly every boy was taught at least one trade. In the household they carded their own wool, spun their own rolls, wove their own yarn or knit it, dipped their own candles, made their own soap, sewed and wove their own rag carpets, and had a dozen other industries, now taken by the factories. These were the common duties of pioneer households."

THE EARLY SETILERS NATHAN COMSTOCK BENJAMIN RUSSELL ABRAHAM LAPHAM EDMUND JENKS' JEREMIA BROWN EPHRAIM FISH NATHAN HERENDEEN NATHAN ALDRICH STEPH EN SM ITH BENJAMIN RICKERSON WI LLiAM BAKER DR. DANIEL BROWN ROBERT HATHAWAY ISAAC HATHAWAY WELCOME HERENDEEN JOSHUA HERRINGTON JOHN McCUMBER JOHN PAYNE JONATHAN REED SAMUEL MASON JOHN DILLON ADAM NICHOLS JOSEPH WELLS ELAM CRANE JOSEPH SM ITH JAM ES D. FISH AHAB HARRINGTON

PETER C. SM ITH JACOB SMITH JONATHAN SMITH ICABOD BROWN EBENEZER WELLS ABIATHER POWER GEORGE JENKS JOHN YOUNG ELIJAH POUND LEVI SMITH MOSES POWER ROBERT POWER SAMUEL COOPER GIDEON PAYNE WILLIAM DAILY JEPHTHA DILLINGHAM RICHARD THOMAS DAVID SMITH GIDEON GRINNELL ELIAS DEN N IS REUBEN SMITH PETER CLYNE JOSEPH JONES DAVID GILLIS HEZEKIAH LlPPETT DR. STEPH EN ALDRICH ELISHA GARON ER

11

JOHN SHEFFIELD OTIS HATHAWAY HUGH POUND DANIEL TALCOTT BERRICK BECKWITH LEWIS LOMBARD JOHN GILLEM JOHN POUND ASA WILMARTH CALVIN WHIPPLE JOB HOWLAND MAJOR SMITH BENJAMIN HANCE PARDON ARNOLD GEORGE SMITH ABEZ ALDRICH ISAAC PRICE SIMPSON HARVEY PETER PRATT LAWRENCE McLOUTH PEREZ ANTISDALE SAMUEL RUSH PETER McLOUTH SHARON BOOTH JACOB GILLETT JOSHUA VanFLEET NATHAN PIERCE

FARMINGTON FIRSTS Otis Comstock was the first white man to brave the rigors of winter in the Town of Farmington. In 1?89, his companions all returned to Massachusetts to prepare for a permanent removal to this town. He had no neighbors nearer than Canandaigua and Boughton Hill. On September 17, 1790, the first child was born, Welcome Herington, later known as Herendeen. He married while young and moved to Michigan. Otis Comstock and Huldah Freeman were united in marriage in 1792 at the home of Isaac Hathaway, Sr., Town Clerk, it being the first marriage in town. The first white man's cabin was owned by Nathan Comstock and sons, Otis and Darius on the property now owned by Brice Bowerman at 319 Cline Road. The first town meeting was held on April 4, 1797 at the home of Nathan Aldrich. The first house of worship was a log house built by the Friends in New Salem in 1796. It was the first west of Clinton, in Oneida County. This was located4 rods northwest of the present meeting house on County Road #8. The first barn in the town was built by Ananias McMillan for Isaac Hathaway in 1793 in District #6. The first orchards were planted by Major Smith in the early 1800's in District #9. The first physician was Dr. Stephen Aldridge (or Aldrich). He lived east of Brownsville (Brownville). The first highway was most probably County Road #41 (Boughton Hill Rd.) It was an old Indian trail and called Mud Road.

III

The Quakers

THE EARLY QUAKERS Nearly all of the early settlers in this locality were from Berkshire County, Massachusetts, and members of the Society of Friends, or Quakers. The name Quaker was originally applied to the Friends by Justice Bennett, a Derbyshire, England, magistrate, in derision of George Fox, the founder of the Society of Friends. The latter admonished Bennett to quake before the Lord, and he, in turn, called Fox the Quaker, which name has followed the Friends down through to the present time. The original Friends were a plain people; their best Sabbath suit was always plain black or Quaker gray. The men wore broad-brimmed black felt hats with neither crease nor dent in the crown, the women wore either black or gray poke bonnets, without ornament, except, possibly a little white ruffle inside over the forehead; no golden ornament or costly apparel for either sex. In summertime the boys very often went to Meeting barefooted, dressed in homespun, home­ made garments, either gray or stained a rich brown with walnut shuck dye. John T. Comstock once remonstrated with a Brother for not attending Meetings. The delinquent Brother said he did not have boots to wear, to which John replied; "If thee will come, I will come barefooted, too, and keep thee company", and so that summer those two grown men attended Meeting without boots. The language of the Friends was taken from the plain speech of the Scriptures, using the pronouns "thee", "thou", and "thine". There was no "Mr. or Mrs.", "Lord", "Lady", "sir", "duke", or "count", were no better in the sight of God than other men or women. They would not lift their hat to any earthly Potentate. The days of the week and the months of the year as we call them, represented heathen Gods; they never used them, but designated them by numbers. Monday was "second day" and January was "first month". Sunday was not Sunday but "Sabbath" or "first day". They had no music in their Meetings, and they put great emphasis on the Holy Spirit or inner light to guide them in their conduct and correct them in their errors. They accepted no paid salary in their ministry; neither was their Clergy 'educated in Theological Seminaries. They were men and women who felt called to preach, and spoke as the spirit gave them utterance. The Friends never hurried in their worship, but literally waited on the Lord. If no one in the Meeting was prompted to speak, they would sit in silence the usual length of time. They all kept quiet until one of the Elders of the High Seats extended his right hand in greeting to the one who sat nearest to him, which was the signal for breaking up the Meeting (a benediction, so to speak). A period of silence is still observed in the Friend's Meeting.

12

From the time of their first settlement, beginning in 1790, the Friends held regular meeting services, and although wholly devoid of display or demonstrations of any sort, the members were none the less zealous or devoted. Ostentation was foreign to their characteristics and repugnant to their doctrines; and it is a serious question whether these sturdy pioneers were not the first settlers in the county to hold and conduct religious services, although the Friends themselves made no claim to this honor, as it did not become them to do so. When they came as pioneers to the Genesee country their action was disapproved by the head of the Friends' Society in the east, and being without consent and approbation, the emigrants were for a time cut off from the parent society in North Adams. In 1794 a group of Pennsylvania Quakers came to Canandaigua to assist the Indians in negotiating the Pickering Treaty with the infant republic. The treaty settled the land claims of the Indians. The Pennsylvanians visited the Farmington Friends and one of them was entertained in the home of Abraham Lapham. The Friends meetings were held from house to house, and the home of Abraham and Esther Lapham was soon known as a place of meeting. The report of the visiting committee was favorable, and the disowned members were restored to membership and a meeting was organized in the same year, but a meeting house was not built until 1796. The representatives from the east had found that happiness and progress was everywhere evident in the Farmington colony, the errors and faults of the former separatist were condoned and forgiven, and the factions became united. Throughout several of the towns in this part of the state there dwelt families of the society; in Farmington about thirty families, and in Palmyra about forty-five. In 1796 the first Friend's Meeting House was built of logs in the north part of Farmington, near the hamlet called New Salem. In December, 1803, the building was destroyed by fire, and in 1804 was replaced by a larger building of frame construction, but perfectly plain in exterior and interior finish. The Friends were given the site for the first Meeting House by Sunderland Pattison at the four corners in the southeast corner of lot 137, it being on the northeast corner. The first log church had two apartments, which served them for a Meeting House and school. The committee to build the second Meeting House was composed of Nathan Herendeen, Caleb McCumber, Stephen Aldrich, John Sprague, Nathan Walker, Nathan Comstock, Hugh Pound, David Pound, Isaac Wood, Jesse Aldrich and H. Arnold. This building answered the purpose for a time, but the settlers increased so rapidly that the building was soon found to be far too small, so they decided to build again. A committee of five members was then appointed to draft and take care of the work. They were Darius Comstock, S. Pattison, Ira Lapham, Nathan Aldrich, and W. Herendeen. In 1816 they chose a site directly opposite, on the west side of the highway, and erected a good and efficient building that would seat approximately one thousand people. There were many times at Yearly Meeting that this new building was filled to overflowing with people from the different states and Canada. The Friends Meeting Houses were divided through the center by a partition, with shutters or slides so that they could be raised up or pulled down at will, thus making it possible for the men and women to hold separate Meetings. Simultaneously, this was frequently done when a Brother or Sister was to be censored or a confesison made which would be embarrassing in a mixed company. All were expected to attend Meeting unless they were sick. If for any reason those who were unfortunate were liable to become public charges, they were taken care of by the Meeting and never sent to the County House. Children born of parents who were both members of the Meeting were birthright members. The backsliders were visited, and prayers and supplications were offered to reclaim and convert the regenerate. The Friends were very much opposed to slavery, and a great many Southern Negroes were freed by their help through the underground railroads. The Hathaway house was one of the depots. The Friends would drive with them by night and keep them secluded through the day; thus they escaped to Canada. The religious Society of Friends thrived and were very congenial until about the year 1827. In 1828 Elias Hicks, an able and eloquent speaker, was moved to so teach and preach sentiments not at all in harmony with previous usages, and the result was a division in the SOCiety; a large number of the people flocking to the standard of the new doctrinal expounder, and thenceforth the seceders were called Hicksites, while those who remained faithful to their old allegiance at the same time became known as Orthodox Friends. In June 1828 the portion of the meeting who were displeased rose in a body with their leader, Caleb McCumber, and crossed the road back to the old church. The late Henry Nichols was at the meeting the day of the separation. He said his mother took him by the hand and followed McCumber to the old church which was filled with soap boxes. In the course of time the house of meeting occupied by the Orthodox Friends burned, and to replace it the members built a neat and commodious modern structure, the first services therein being held June 11, 1876. In addition, it may be stated that another Friends Meeting house was built in the southeast part of the town in 1823 between lots 21 and 22, in which preparative meetings were conducted for many years. All the ill-will, prejudices and old sores have been healed. The Friends believe in the cooperation of churches, and the descendants meet and associate together in perfect harmony. The Hicksite Meeting house, at 160 County Road #8, was purchased in 1926 by John Van Lare. In 1927 he moved it 400 feet north and converted it into a packing house. His son, Raymond, bought 2 small rooms from the south end of the Meeting House and moved them to the northwest corner and constructed a nice home. His daughter, Phyllis, occupies this house at the present time.

Having due regard for the educational and physical welfare of their children, the Friends established what has been called a Manual Labor School, in which the youth of the town might acquire necessary education, and pay therefor in manual labor on the lands connected with the institution. On March 19, 1838 Daniel A. Robinson, Isaac Hathaway, and Asa Smith conveyed lands to the extent of 12.14 acres to trustees Gideon Herendeen, Asa B. Smith and John Ramsdell, in whom the management of the school was vested. It may be said, however, that notwithstanding the worthy character of the institution, it failed to produce desired results, and therefore enjoyed not more than a brief existence.

13

The schools of Farmington are the subject of considerable attention, and are on a level with those of other towns. The following statistics are illustrative of public interest in this important branch of social culture. The town was divided into fourteen districts, of which all but one had schoolhouses in this county. Only three of these houses were separated from the highway by a fence. Boarding around is not a practice save in exceptional cases. Six districts used library funds in payment of teacher's wages. Verified registers were generally kept. The number of children between the ages of eight and fourteen, residents of the town, on September 30, 1875, was two hundred forty, of whom two hundred and four respectively attend district school at least fourteen weeks of the year. EARLY AND LATER CUSTOMS A conscientious regard to apparel was a custom of the pioneer Friends. All superfluities and ornaments were discarded, and clothing was fashioned in the plainest styles; not a useless button was sewed upon a garment, and suspenders were considered a useless appendage. Hats were worn in church and in the house, and it is said that the old pioneer Nathan Comstock slept at night with his hat on. The women were accustomed to fasten their hair with wooden hairpins made be whittling a hard wood stock smooth, and pointed at one end. In time, combs were made of cows' horn, perfectly plain and of the natural color, began to be worn. Any carving or coloring, being for show, was regarded as superfluous. Or naments were regarded as indicative of disposition to follow fashion and frivolity and as such were considered vain and sinful. As an example of the customs adopted by these good people, the following is adduced: "Twentyfifth of fifth month, 1804. Whereas, Samuel Willets hath had a right of membership amongst Friends, but for want of attending to the dictates of truth hath so far deviated from the principles of our profession as to neglect an attendance upon our religious meetings, to depart from plainness of speech, behavior, and apparel, to have consummated his marriage with one not of our SOCiety, and to attend trainings when called upon, for which he has been labored with without the desired effect we, therefore, deny him to be a member of our religious society until his future conduct shall render him worthy, and he shall make satisfaction for his conduct, which we desire may be his happy experience." The preceding was the experience of any of the society who "went astray", and was not unusual for persons to make confession, express sorrow, and be again taken into membership. The Friends are historically a peace people, and have always refused to do military duty, and to train or attend a training was a misdemeanor. The fine for refusing to do military duty was three dollars, which sum was collected from any available quarter. In January, 1827, a cow, valued at twelve dollars, was taken by Constable Foster from Ira Lapham to satisfy a fine of three dollars, imposed upon his son for refusal to train. John Sprague, collector, took from Arthur Power five sheep, valued at ten dollars, to pay a fine of four dollars, imposed upon his son for disobeying military orders. Daniel Raymond was imprisoned in the county jail in 1843 during a term of five days, as a payment of three dollars fine. William Getchell, refusing either to train or pay the fine of four dollars, was deprived of fourteen sheep, worth twelve dollars and twenty-five cents. David Wilson was the owner of a colt valued at fifteen dollars, which was taken from him as satisfaction of a four dollar fine, imposed as a neglect to do military duty. Job Ayres had eleven and three-fourths bushels of rye in his granary, and its value was; five dollars and eighty-nine cents, but it was taken as the penalty for refusing to muster. Asa and Harris Aldrich owned two fine calves and two good axes; their value was eleven dollars and a half, and all went to pay fines. Among various articles levied upon to pay these fines were hats, clothing, spinning wheels, saddles, brass kettles, watches, stock, and grain. In all instances the property was worth far more than the amount of fine. The Friends, regarding conscience more than property, appointed committees on "Suffering", and resolutely adhered to their principles, which ultimately triumphed. While obedience to law is the first and highest duty of the citizen, yet the unflinching devotion of the Friends to the tenets of their faith must ever win admiration. SOCIETY OF FRIENDS

The pioneers of Farmington were mainly Quakers, or Friends, whose emigration was disapproved by the society, and when they persisted in removing to the Genesee country they were formally disowned. It was an established custom that any families which contemplated so important a step as a journey and residence in a wilderness should consult the society and abide by its decision, but in this instance they saw fit to act on their own judgment, and although denied by their former associates, acted with firmness and independence, and secured unexpected advantages so far as concerned the Friends in Massachusetts. Some of the Quakers came west to attend Pickering's treaty, held at Canandaigua, in 1794, and found their former brethren on the high road to prosperity, and visited them. At the next yearly meeting the embassy reported in favor of taking the western Friends back into the society. A united opinion was expressed, and they were taken back, and constituted members of the Saratoga Monthly Meeting, in which they remained till 1803. Their preparatory meetings were held at the houses of Abraham Lapham and others. Their first "Monthly Meeting" was held on the 21st day of the 4th month, in accordance with the following minutes from the "Quarterly Meeting": "At a quarterly meeting of Friends, held at Easton, on the 16th day of the 2nd month, 1803, three of the committee appointed to visit the preparative meeting of Farmington, on account of a proposal for a division of Saratoga Monthly Meeting, report that they are united in believing a usefulness would arise from a monthly meeting being allowed them agreeably to the proposal of Saratoga monthly meeting, which, claiming the entire attention of the meeting is united with, and they are allowed to hold a monthly meeting for one year, to be held on the 5th day preceding the last 1st day in each month." At this, the first monthly meeting, Stephen Aldrich was chosen clerk for one year, and was continued some time as such. At this period assemblies took place in a house of worship built of logs, near where the sheds of the Orthodox church were. (There is a marker to mark the site at this time.) The structure was what was known as a double-log house, and one apartment was used for school purposes, and the other for societary assemblies. This log church, erected in 14

1796, was the first house of worship west of Clinton, Oneida county. This pioneer edifice was burned in December 1803, and the meeting on the 26th of the tst month, 1804, was held at Palmyra. A new framed church was built by the society in 1804. It was covered with clapboards made from split cedar, cut in four-foot lengths, shaved to a proper thickness, and fastened with wrought nails. Sawed lumber was then very difficult of purchase, and building was done with the means at command. No attempt at ornament was made in the interior, and boards took the place of seats. Their first public Friend, or, as other denominations say, minister, was Caleb McCumber, whose death took place about 1850, at an advanced age. The increase of the society in numbers was very rapid and encouraging. The membership at organization was too large to permit an enumeration here. Over half the society belonged in Macedon, Wayne county. There were about thirty families in Farmington, and forty-five in Palmyra, at the date of their first meeting on January 26, 1804. It was at this time that the subject of the meeting-house was broached and acted upon. Dimensions were to be forty­ four feet by thirty-two, and twenty-feet posts. Cost was estimated at one thousand, three hundred dollars, of which eight hundred and fifty dollars was raised by subscription. The building committee was N. Herendeen, C. McCumber, Stephen Aldrich, John Sprague, Nathanial Walker, N. Comstock, Hugh and David Pound, Isaac Wood, H. Arnold, and Jesse Aldrich. The first meeting was held October 26, 1804. On May 24 of 1804 Nathanial Walker and Benjamin Hance were appointed elders, the first recorded since organization. On the 22nd of February, 1816, the growth of membership caused an inconvenience to all from the limited capacity of the place of worship, and it was concluded to enlarge it; but after due consideration this was dropped, and a new building resolved upon and built within the year. It was erected on the west side of the road, opposite the old one, at a cost of two thousand, two hundred and fifty dollars. The committee in this instance were not so numerous as the one preceding, and was composed of S. Pattison, Darius Comstock, Ira Lapham, N. Aldrich, and W. Herendeen, under whose supervision the work was carried to completion. The society worshiped in concord until the spring of 1828, when Elias Hicks, a very able speaker, came among them, and presented new doctrines subversive of former teachings and contrary to the ideas of many. Quite a body of the Friends accepted the new doctrines, and as a result separation took place on June 26, 1828, and the two branches became known as Orthodox and Hicksites. The latter occupied the new church, and the former, considered to be the rightful and authoritative society, opened the old meeting-house, which had been out of use for some time, and therein held meetings until it was burned down. This society has recently completed (1876) a very neat edifice for worship. Dimensions, thirty-six feet by sixty; framed, and costing four thousand dollars. It has a basement constructed of stone. The building is being handsomely furnished, and when completed will have cost five thousand dollars. The service of dedication was performed June 11, 1876, and was attended by eminent members of the Society of Friends, among whom were Thomas Kimber and wife, of Philadelphia; Elwood Scott, of Iowa; and Mary S. Knowles, Mrs. Lorenzo Hathaway, and Jarvis M. Rider, all recorded as speakers. The society of Friends have a house in the southeast part of the town, wherein preparative meetings are held.

(The foregoing articles were taken from the History of Ontario County of 1876) CAUSE OF THE FIRST SEPARATION OF FRIENDS The following information concerning the first division of Friends, which occurred in 1828, was taken from the "Memoirs" of Sunderland P. Gardner, who was a very popular and influential minister of the original Society of Friends for more than sixty years throughout the United States and Canada. He was born in 1802 and died in 1893, and knew the Friends long before their separation: "* * * *To give a full history of the cause and separation of the Society of Friends would make quite a volume; however, I will endeavor to give thee some of the particulars, having had knowledge of things pertaining to the Society since 1826. * * * *The days of persecution having passed away, Friends, as a natural result of industry and economy became wealthy, and consequently much respected and courted by the people of the world; but, alas! This ease and prosperity soon made the weaker members of the Society forget their dependence on the revelations of God. They turned to the letter (which, Paul says, kills), and in proportion as they did this, died to the true life of religion. They also lost the badge of true discipleship, which is love to one another, and though they still kept to the outward form, they began to contend about doctrines until their very language became, as it were, confounded, Thus stood matters in England when some of the more influential members began to introduce into the Society doctrines borrowed from the Church of England, which doctrines were diametrically opposed to the principles of early Friends. At length some of their ministers came to America, when, on finding that the prevailing influence among us was on the side of the old ground of original Quakerism, they commenced a crusade against those of our members who stood most prominent in the Society. Of * * * *" course, they found some among us who were ready to follow them, and hence the division.

At this time there were many eminent and faithful public Friends in America, men who stood high in the walks of truth and practical righteousness, among whom were Elias Hicks, Edward Hicks, John Comly, Jesse Kersey, Thomas Wetherald and others. Elias Hicks, especially, who had been a faithful minister for years, was inferior to none in point of talent or depth of experience. He bore a faithful testimony, was firm, immovable, and could give, moreover, a reason for the faith which he possessed. The English ministers envied Hicks on account of his popularity and unbending integrity, and he seemed to be the particular mark toward whom they aimed their venomed arrows. They felt that English influence alone should be paramount. The ministers at this time had become numerous, and they did not seem to think that as good Quakers could be made in America as in England.

15

Elias Hicks faithfully reproved the Philadelphia merchants (some of them articles very wealthy) for selling or using produced by slave labor, and they, too, became his enemies. More ministers from England arrived, namely; Ann Jones, Elizabeth Robson, Hannah C. Bockhouse, Thomas Shillitoe, William Forster, and others, who suggested that a congress should be established composed of all the Yearly Meetings in America, supported at the expense of the common members, although these members were to have no voice whatsoever in the proceedings of the business; thus the Yearly Meetings would lose their independence. This scheme, however, was successfully opposed by Elias Hicks and his friends. When the English found they could not succeed in their designs, they were disappointed and offended, and felt that they must first get Elias out of the way. In order to do this, they pursued the course that other bigoted persecutors followed toward those of their opponents whom they could not dislodge by arguments or flattery, bribes, or force. They took care to fill the ears of the clergy of other denominations with their own representation of the Friend's doctrines, maktng them appear dangerous to the true faith. Papers and handbills defamatory to the religious character of the SOCiety were thrown into carriages and wagons in villages and cities, and in their ministry almost the whole discourse was filled with damaging and false statements. They went about with the cry of "Infidel! Infidel!" thus embittering the minds of individuals against each other, even destroying the harmony of families, until in 1828 they separated themselves from the original Society. While the Yearly Meeting in New York was in session they left the house and set up a Meeting by themselves. They did the same thing in Farmington. Caleb McCumber (who was pioneer minister in Farmington), after the arrival of many other Friends ministers, could not help but feel that he was less fluent and less popular than some of the others (and especially Elias Hicks) among the Friends. This created jealousy, and in June 1828 he invited his friends to walk out of the Meeting, and they went back to the old Meeting House across the road (which had been used as a storage for soap boxes by the Pounds), leaving double the number of members behind, who remained faithful to the old and reliable discipline of the religious Society of Friends. The seceders began at once to call them "Hicksites", which was just another mark of their enmity against them. The Society of Friends had never coveted any other name than that of "Friends", which was the original name of the Society. The Church of England openly acknowledged that they were "the true Quakers", but that the Orthodox had come to agree with their church in doctrines. The Society of Friends waxed strong for many years after, but in later years, as the times and customs changed, the plainness of dress, the unpainted seats, the bare floors and walls, and hen-feather cushions, were no longer attractive to the young people. They began to attend other more up-to-date organizations and marry into other churches, their friends constantly passing away, until finally the Society failed to meet, and their descendants mingled with the tide. For many years after the separation, the Orthodox seemed to hold a grudge; they were prejudiced against the Friends (which was contrary to the old discipline of Friends and Friendly People); but as the years rolled by and the old heads passed on, the bone of contention melted away. Today the descendants of both branches mingle in unity and harmony with each other. CHARLES H. GARDNER

Mrs. Sarah D. Peckham.

16

IV

Hamlets

HISTORY OF BROWNSVILLE In the western district of the Town of Farmington the earliest settlers were Jeremia Brown, one of the original purchasers of the town tract, and near him were Gideon Grinnell, Peter Smith, and others named Harris and Pratt. In this general neighborhood also were David Brown, Otis Comstock, William Smith, David Gillis, Zurial -Brown, Nicholas Brown, Hezekiah Lippett and others. The settlers last mentioned were early residents of what was known as the Brownsville district, a locality which at an early day was of much note as a center of trade. In early days this settlement was called Norton Mills. In this vicinity David and Stephen Brown had a distillery and an ashery, while Stephen Brown and Elias Dennis started a carding and cloth mill. Other early manufacturers hereabouts were James Van Vleck, and the Haskinses: Amos, James and John. Reuben Smith was in trade, as also, later on, were Paul Richardson, Abner and Stephen Brown and Albert Nye. Peter Cline is remembered as an old tanner, and Otis Brown a blacksmith. Joseph Jones made hats for the early settlers. The pioneer of Brownsville is said to have been David Gillis. Brownsville is situated on Mud Creek which was formerly called Ganargua River. Down this waterway the Indians in their canoes brought their wares to trade with white settlers. The United States Mail was carried from Victor to New Salem (Farmington) and the carrier often spent the night with the Bryants who operated the woolen mill and acted as Post Master for the area. At one time it is recalled that Peter Frederick conceived the idea that gold was to be found in a hill on his property. After extensive digging he declared "Thar ain't no gold in them thar hills". Even today one can see where dirt was dug out where the excavation was made. The first school house was built of logs in 1820 on the Harris farm, later known as the Gallup farm and now the Emery farm. The second school was built on a corner east of Brownsville. The third was on a farm known as Charles Schraders. In 1850 the school was built on land owned by Harvey Hart. The site was donated by him for educational purpose. This school remained in operation until the district was centralized with Victor in 1940. This last school house was demolished and a pretty home built here by Robert McLaughlin, at 524 Cline Rd.

This history of the schools is credited to Nicholas Frederick who attended all the schools, starting at the age of 6 in the log school and graduating from the last school built in 1850 at the age of 20 years. He attained the age of 99 years and died in 1931. The first teacher of the last school was a Mr. Walker, followed by many others. Brownsville school has always been distinguished by its large attendance, often more than 70 on roll. Many influential citizens received early education here. Rev. P.A. Neville of the East Bloomfield Catholic Church & Rev. Hallet Herendeen, rector of a church in Odessa received schooling in Brownsville. They started school the same day in 1869 and sat together. Others were Dr. Ed Bowerman, H.E. Bundy, H.S. Bundy, George Frederick and Albert Sale, who served the community nearly a quarter of a century as a Rural Mail Carrier. At present, 1988 there are no places of business, no schools, no churches, no banks, no post offices, no stores; just a quiet little handful of homes and land given up to agriculture. Here life glides along quietly with no great happenings, much like other small communities.

Brownsville School - Helen Lane, Teacher 17

Crowley Family on 751 Crowley Road

HISTORY OF PUMPKIN HOOK The hamlet now known as Pumpkin Hook was orignally named New Salem and at one time was called Farmington Village. The work on lot 136 on which the village now stands, was commenced in 1808 by Otis Hathaway, brother of Isaac Jr. He was the founder of the village, and gave it its name of New Salem after Salem, Massachusetts. He built the first store buildings and sold building lots to others, and it is noted to be the only village in the Town of Farmington. It grew rapidly and was quite a business center prior to the construction of the Erie Canal.

In the early days there were a great many pumpkins grown by the Hathaways for the feeding of stock, and one day a man from a distance came with team and wagon and purchased a load of pumpkins which he intended to take where they were less plentiful and sell tbem. He put up at a hotel for the night. When the good people of New Salem were quiet in slumber, some fun-seeking boys prowled around and hooked the pumpkins. Upon arising early in the morning, the man found an empty wagon, and every resident in the "Berg" had two or more pumpkins on their porch. The news soon spread about and many were asked if they had been down to the "pumpkin hook". "So you were down to the pumpkin hook?" etc. Thus originated the popular name "Pumpkin Hook". More than 140 years have passed away since this incident took place, and our little hamlet still is called "Pumpkin Hook". - Randall Phetteplace related this story to Charles H. Gardner when Mr. Gardner was a young boy (around 1860). Mr. Phetteplace died January 1, 1888.

The early settlers of New Salem did much to beautify their little village by planting a row of maple trees along both sides of what is now Allen-Padgham Rd. Most of them were set out in 1852 by Isaac Hathaway, and for many years the shaded streets and fine, gravel roads were a great attraction to all who travelled through the village. Many from neighboring towns would take a trip through New Salem and let their horses walk, on their pleasure drives, to enjoy the shade of the maples as long as possible; but in 1934 some less interested people moved in and wanted fuel. They already had more land than was used but felt that the shade was detrimental to their crops and cut the maples down for firewood. It is doubtful if any of the original trees still stand.

18

New Salem Village - 1874. NEW

SALEM VILLAGE

-

1874

(Pumpkin Hook) . r

II. If.•fI" 1,711,,';'

-_ �-_ .._- _ ___ ... - __ - - - - -._ - - -

! ---- __ ._---------------_-_._A'J:t(=-_j'''�.�

FAR�IINGTON 1904

19

BUSINESSES From the earliest days of Pumpkin Hook, business flourished and floundered. John Gillen was the pioneer blacksmith from New Salem who built a log house and shop. One evening, when he had company, he tied the horses in the shop and placed hay for them to eat on the forge. The fire was not out as completely as he had supposed, and the hay ignited. The fire consumed the shop and contents; the horses were also destroyed. At the point of the bend in the road, which is now south of the Hook, was a tannery which was in use until some time between 1830 and 1840. In the early days it was not uncommon to find a wolf or deer skin among the hides that were brought for tanning. The town paid a bounty of ten dollars for each wolf scalp as an incentive to exterminate the wolves which were very destructive among the sheep. At about 1852 the commissioners decided to build a highway leading south from the bend in the road at the tannery. Gideon Herendeen, who owned a large tract of land in the locality through which the road would pass, offered to give the use of the land needed if the town would build the road. The offer was accepted. The vats of the tannery had to be filled in because they were in the center of the road bed.

Next to the cemetery on Farmington Road in Pumpkin Hook was a tinshop where pails, pans, strainers, bailers, and all wares of tin, sheet metal and copper were made. In 1810 Jonathan Batty opened a store in a building built by Otis Hathaway. It is thought to have been the house at 5662 Allen-Padgham Rd. William Holden once had a cabinet shop here and was postmaster until 1890 when Mr. C.H. Betz was appointed to succeed him. From the four corners of Hook Road and Allen-Padgham Road, going west on Allen-Padgham Road were the sites where once stood a dwelling house, a harness shop and a blacksmith shop on the south side of the street. Sibil Wandser once lived there. Cyrus Holdridge kept the blacksmith shop and Henry Peckham made harnesses. The next house at 5703 Allen-Padgham Rd. was built by Randall Phetteplace about 1837. He lived there for a number of years and then sold to J.C. Hathaway and for years thereafter it was rented. Across the street is what was the old hotel, later the Iris Farm. "It.. .. has been so remodeled and improved that should one of the old landlords rise up, he would be lost to find it". This hotel was first opened by John Bosworth, as landlord, prior to 1820. At this time, the original canal, called "Clinton's Big Ditch" was in use, and a boat loaded with barrels of flour, sank below Macedon; a messenger came to this place for help to unload it as soon as possible. The landlord, belnq a powerful man, hastened to the boat and lifted all the barrels, alone, out of the hatchway, until the water was waist high and he could do no more. There was no village in Macedon at this time, consequently they had to send to Pumpkin Hook for assistance. The village was called New Salem until 1820 when the first Post Office was located here and it was then called Farmington. The post office had many locations throughout the years, mostly following the then current postmaster to his location. It was once located in the cobblestone house next to Townsend's Grocery at 167 Hook Rd., in the house at 146 Hook Rd., and in the Betz store until the advent of rural free delivery February 1, 1902. Abram Wilson was postmaster for a time.

The first doctor in this locality was Dr. Stephen Aldrich who settled on the property now owned by the Payne family at 672 Hook Rd. Several doctors were known to practice medicine in Pumpkin Hook. Among those recalled by local historians were Dr. Bullis, Dr. Colburn, Dr. Phillips, Dr. William B. Clapper and Dr. O.J. Mason, the last of the "Country Doctors" in this locality. Dr. Loren V. Cotton was a veterinarian in Pumpkin Hook around 1900. After the official opening of the Erie Canal in 1825, the pace of growth in New Salem slowed. New villages sprang up on the edge of the canal and New Salem remained a quiet, agricultural community, by-passed by the shipping activity to the north.

A foundry was built by Walter Whipple at 5642 Allen-Padgham Rd. in 1834. Charles Jennings and randall Phetteplace purchased it in 1836. A stone blacksmith shop was erected on Church Ave. by the Hathaways somewhere in the 1820's. It had 3 forges in operation. Christian Betz erected a shoe store and repair shop in 1866 which he carried on successfully. Later Edward Stamp went into partnership and they added a stock of groceries and provisions. After a few years (1873), Stamp retired and Betz remained in the business the rest of his life and was succeeded by his son, Edward C. Betz. For many years the Farmington Post Office was located in this building. Mr. Betz was appointed Postmaster in 1890, which position he held until the advent of Rural Free Delivery on February 1, 1902. The building is now "Country Pizza", at 5654 Allen-Padgham Rd.

20

A.B. Katkamier's facing Iris Gardens and a house on Allen-Padqharn Road. 22

John Gillem was pioneer blacksmith and built a log house and shop. George Hoag was pioneer wagon maker. Berrick and Beckworth kept a drug store in 1919. Dr. Smith and lucius Dean conducted a drug and grocery store. lewis lombard estabalished an axe and tool factory in 1825. Matter Windsor was pioneer shoemaker in 1817, and was succeeded by Randall Phetteplace from 1832 to 1838. Daniel Allen kept the first tavern in 1816. Brown kept a tavern and was succeeded by Aden Armstrong. A tavern was opened in 1818 by Noah Smith. New Salem soon grew to be a busy and industrious village of 34 dwelling houses, two blacksmith shops, a cooper, shop a foundry, two shoe shops, two harness shops and a tin shop, a milliner, a dressmaker, a tailor, a hat factory, both a district school and a select school, and a hotel, all doing satisfactory business. Henry Gorman kept a gas station on the property that Howard and Virginia Delano now own at 139 Farmington Road. Edward Wehrlin followed his trade of paper hanging and painting in Pumpkin Hook. He organized a Boy Scout Troop and served as Town Clerk for several years. IRIS GARDENS In 1927 A.B. Katkamier purchased the former hotel in the Hook (corner of Allen-Padgham Road and Hook Road). He also purchased a lot on Farmington Road which is now the property of the Bowes. Soon after his purchase, Katkamier established his world famous Iris Gardens. He had the largest individual plantings in the world, at one time numbering 2,000 varieties. It was said that people came from allover the world 'to view the gardens. He made a great success of his project, having varieties of peonies, oriental poppies, chrysanthemums, iris and around 65 varieties of perennials for sale. From a 1940 price list we learn that the prices for his iris went from 10 cents for the Halo and other varieties to 75 cents for the Prairie Sunset variety. A.B. Katkamier was a beautiful penman, a well educated man and a valuable asset to the community. In 1897 he compiled and edited The History of �armington which has been a valuable tool in completing this history. Mr. Katkamier died in 1947 and Mrs. Katkamier sold the house to Ansel and Dorothy Koegler in 1949. Joseph and Diane Robinson owned the House from 1974 to 1987. The new owners, Eric and Joanne Moon, are restoring the house and it will again be used as a type of inn, a "Bed and Breakfast".

Albert & laura Padgham's Home. Nell & Children located at 162 Hook Road.

23

THE OLD RED MILL In 1957 a new highway bridge was completed across Mud Creek in Farmington and eliminated the site of what was known to several generations as the "Old Red Mill". The concrete bridge, with entrances to accomodate traffic of converging roads, completely covered the site of the one widely known pioneer grist mill. mill on Mud History records that Sunderland Pattison was the first proprietor of lot 134 and, in 1813, erected a grist Creek. Tradition says that this old mill had a threshing floor, and farmers drew grain in the straw to be threshed and to carry water to a ground. This seems plausible when evidences of more than a half mile raceway along the stream to meet was mill growing demands, to turbine changed higher level to a breast or paddle wheel are yet visible. The wheels and a complete roller flour system. A dam constructed in 1820 impounded a pond of water eight acres in extent. Pattison manufactured Genesee flour and the barrelled product was drawn to Pultneyville for shipment. The completion in 1825 of the Erie Canal, shortened the shipping route. Mr. Pattison built a canal boat in 1826 in a clearing (north of Nelson Allen's house at 6061 Allen­ and was soon Padgham Road) out of lumber from his own trees and hauled it to Wayneport with forty yoke of oxen to market in his shipping Genesee Flour ground from wheat grown on his own farm, ground in his own mill, and shipped own boat. Mr. Pattison sold out to others and moved to Michigan in 1836. The mill had numerous owners and enjoyed a prosperous life until the milling industry followed the wheat fields westward. The mill was next owned by John Katkamier, by George and William Newark who carried on the milling business for many years. Later Lewis F. Allen, Sr., (brother of Ellery) was master miller, Henry B. Katkamier was in his employ as foreman. Warren Youngs owned and operated it for many years. John Reynolds worked many years in the mill. Others in Mr. Young's employ were Lon Mott, Fred Hook, Will Reynolds. Edwin Youngs and Eastwood were next owners and operated it for a time. Mr. Norris of Troy next bought the mill and his son. Norman and wife Edith moved here in 1904, ran the mill several years, then moved to Caledonia and operated a mill there for one year before returning to Farmington. Mr. Emerson next bought the mill and added gasoline power. Before this it was a water wheel. Mr. Emerson didn't stay very long. Next George Pardee owned it and did little grinding. Norm and Henry Whipple did some feed grinding about this time. Next George Young bought the property and installed a cider mill. Raymond DeMay bought the old mill next. Mr. and Mrs. VanGee were living in the mill house and helping Raymond convert the building into a 3 story poultry house. At 5:00 a.m., February 4, 1945 the mill burned. This was during a terrible blizzard and only a few men could make it to the mill. Nothing could be done -- 1700 laying hens, 2000 chicks and much equipment were lost. The present owners of the Pattison house located at 6061 Allen-Padgham Rd. are Nelson Bowen and Margaret Kreger Allen, and the present occupants are Margaret Allen Baker, and William and Mary Alice Allen and Family. The old wooden bridge spanning Mud Creek washed away in high water and heavy ice in March of 1881. It floated downstream and lodged with heavy ice to block the water, which soon overflowed the Allen lowlands to the extent of many acres. A temporary plank bridge, laid on trees thrown across the stream, likewise was washed away. In 1881 stone for new abutments was hauled from Carson's Quarry (Dead Man's Curve). The iron bridge constructed that year was exacted by Henry Greene, Town Highway Supervisor. In 1957 it took the efforts of bulldozers and dredges to tear away the work of the 1881 stone masons in order to construct the present bridge spanning Mud Creek. In 1985, a N.Y.S. Historical marker was erected by the Yorker Club of Victor Central School. The original mill site was on the opposite side of Mud Creek from the signs present location.

24

Yau Will Never Get Left ",OU TO> • SOCK 0' if; '� oungs & � �. Eastwood';/ '�" Celebrated '1')1 �M �.>. 4(� ::t ... :I o I/)

m -<

co It) eli o �uici oZO >3j �8� . . (( ((::te( 0( .•

< zr; ' ...

3:::ta:

-<0 , :::II

.�;

:

5�� .... 1Il0 IIlZo.. wwlo.l ::t .... z uex:> owe( a:�� w,

.., .. Nur ACTU'"

If.....

3: z�

.'(q�

:<� , .. �4�/· �� ,/ Wl � ,/

� Wheat and Buckwheat Flours, \y� \ rHOS AND MEAL, \� \�, CUSTOM GI'IINOING A �P[CIALTY. \7' ...... OUND 10 ., ....... D "'"(0'.''' ,v, .... "CI< .\� 0' "OUI< 'S W"''''''NT[D

?::

:

lo.I ..J e(:

::

1/1 ex: o· 10.

'''{�

(();

YOUNGS & EASTWOOD, FARMINGTON,

25

N. Y.

.



The Book Department ollers many induce ments to Holid.\Y buyers.

$1.25 buys a TEACHER'S BIBLE. .'"

JUSTICE Of TH[ PIACl.

___;;{;;';;:!=�=d;���

Don't go

A.

B.

O

K

N ursery Stock,

away from

$1.00 buys a BEAUTIFUL VOLUME OF POEMS.

home .. II

,)C $1.00 buys a FOUNT AlN PEN, 14 K Gold and warranted in every way. ..'"

to

25 cents buy� a DAINTY BOOK, White and Gold with Illustrations.

The pas t year I

buy your

s grocerle s and dry good

_,. N CJ)

sundrie.5.

Hundreds of Booklets, Box Papers, Diaries and Calenda rs at

I have made arran �rult and Ornamental Tr Shrubs, Small Fru i ts, E

You can

tJ!.J:......sK..S>�:.._j)t.J��:._S,:.J>

buy

•• ","".,1,.."

fI'

PARLOR,

here

Farmington e e etsewnere .

Investigate.""";

STORE AN D

Bulbs,

as

advantageou.5ly in

STAHL E

®

BROOMS

C. H. Betz., Grocer,

�;i('i.::::

Farmington, N. Y.

Fnrmiugtou, N. Y.

i:J����4�"��"�49.

selling large quantitie stock. Last Spring I plants.

®

SMLTH & ZIEGLERS.

D. A. KATKAMIER,

Far Dear Friend:

Also Flower, Ga all at WHOLESALE PRICES The most

of this

make a specialty of one the bes t t ha t money, expe

If you desire an Field. Garden or Conse quote you prices on firs

Your

BUSINESS ADVERTISEMENTS

A. £. &. L. A. NICHOLS,

A. B. KATKAMIER,

(:W)C '1:1(1 r.S,

DIo�ALEH 1� NI'I:�EIt\' STOl'I\,

Fnl'llllll�IClII, x. Y.

C

H. BETZ, G HI )(�I,:It,

"'"r",IIl�llln, N. Y.

SMITH 1-1. CROCKER,

-

1897

A MiIIion

CA HPI,::'Il'fI';lt,

Farllllllj!t.on, N. Y.

Fm-ming tou , N. Y.

MRS •• F'}OBEnT BHOWN,

S. G. DILLINGHAM,

xuusr,

CONTnA(;TOlt AND nmLDEH,

Fnrrniug ton , N. Y.

Furruirurt.ou. N. Y.

Gifts

'1

Suitable for•••

Xmas or New

and nol one poor on

Vlf;a OUI' storo, wo will he g you whether you buy or

I\) ......

LonEN V. COTTON,

YOU NGS & EASTWOOD,

VET8nI:-';AHY SUUGEON,

M1LLEnS,

Fnrlllin:,!loll, N. Y.

Furmlng ton, N. Y.

All goods mnrkcd III plu lu li

ONE PRICE ONL

W. H. GLENNY .oo.l�·IOI

EMt

�l\llll !'lr

ROClIt:Sl'I:R, ="

DR. WM. B

CLAPPER,

Y.

E. J. GARDNER.

PflY:-;ICJ..\N AND SUnGEON,

"IIc)TOGHA I'JI Ell,

Fnl'lnllll!ton, N. Y.

Farmlnqtnn, N Y

Loren V. Co CHARLES GARDNER,

VOLNEY REDINGTON,

WlHE FENCE IlIJILDEI1,

13LACI{S;\IITllING ANt.> HEPAInING

Furmlugton, N. Y.

Furmiug ton, N. Y.

MINNIE L. SADLER,

JOHN DORAN,

VETERINAR

SURGEON ..

MllSIC

'n:,\CIH:n,

1l1..,,\CI(Sr.tlTII,

Fnr m lnutnn, N. Y.

Furmiurrtun, N. Y.

D. A. KI\TI
EDWARD C. BETZ,

JlIlUU�1 ;\L\NUFACTUHEH,

PAINTlm AND PAPER IIANGEH,

rllrmln�lon, N. Y.

Farmington, N. Y.

(Onleo hfO doorl _oull! of OM

FARMINGTON, N

STONE SHOPS The long, 2 story building that once stood on Church Avenue near the present site of the Lutheran Church was built around 1810. Lewis Lombard was proprietor and master mechanic. The shop was divided into four sections; the first apartment (south) was used as a dwelling. It was occupied by Orrin Fry, next by Silas O'Dell, then by Joshua Clayton and his wife Margaret, again by the widow O'Dell. In 1871 a man and woman and two daughters by the name of Bell kept sort of a restaurant and Oyster Bar. They sold oysters, raw or cooked, pie, cake and sandwiches. It was thought that they meant well; but some of the "ruffs" from outside carried cider there and created a disturbance in the community. The "better element" complained and had the building vacated. It was next used by John Phalen for a blacksmith shop where he worked for many years. After his death he was succeed by John Doran, who married his widow, Bridget Phalen. The next apartment was occupied by Isaac S. Wilson as a wagon and repair shop for several years, who later sold to Edwin Coon and moved to Michigan. Coon used it for a stable, Edward L. Gardner owned it, and lastly, Volney Redington opened a blacksmith shop which he retained until his death. The next apartment was the wagon shop of George Hoag, and was later operated by Charles Jennings, who was succeeded by George H. Lombard. The latter worked at the same bench for 26 years, and in 1874 moved to Michigan. He at one time, along with Isaac Wilson, was an apprentice for Charles Jennings in the carriage shop. The shop was afterwards used as an evaporator or dry house for apples; first by Crocker and Burns, then by John Duffin, and later by Charles H. Gardner. The next apartment was the tool factory opened in 1825 by Lewis Lombard. He made axes, drawing knives, chisels of all kinds, and braces for auger bits. This area at that time was well timbered and required many choppers, and the Lombard axe was in great demand. He also ironed wagons and sleighs, and kept two blacksmiths in his employ busy. The tools were finished and ground in a stone 4 feet in diameter by six inches thick, and turned by a one-horse sweep power. This was kept at the back in a stone building called a wheel house. There was a paint shop on the second story; the wagons and carriages were drawn up an incline from the outside by a windlass constructed in the back side of the upper story. Lewis Lombard, Sr. had in his employ as blacksmiths Stephen Hatfield, and Lewis R. Lombard, Jr., whose wife was Jerusha Lake. Later Lewis Lombard Sr. sold out to John Eisentrager who was a blacksmith and wagon maker. William Duffin worked in the old shop "blacksmithing" and Volney Redington kept the shop last. The old building decayed with the years until the walls collapsed. The stone was used for highway use and there is nothing left to mark the place. It is presumed that it was the only cobblestone building in Ontario County that was used for business purposes.

28

TOWNSEND'S GROCERY Townsend's grocery on Hook Road, once known as the Grinnell store, was built in 1863 by Samuel Phetteplace who had formerly kept a store there that was destroyed by fire. Sherwood Snider was the boss carpenter. The new store was much larger and more convenient. At this time Samuel was thought to be quite wealthy. He and Thomas Terry were in partnership with this store and two other stores as well, one in Palmyra and one in Canandaigua. Samuel went to New York City to buy goods, taking $40,000 with him, which he deposited in a bank there. He had a certificate of deposit on his person. He visited the wholesale houses and ordered several carloads of the finest quality of silks, satins, Brussels and velvet carpets. When the wholesaler asked him what security he had, he showed them the bank certificate, and they felt secure. They shipped seven carloads to the Phetteplace address at Palmyra with the understanding that he would return to Palmyra with the shipment. As soon as the cars were on their way, and three of them had already reached their destination, Samuel slipped by them unobserved, went to the bank, drew the entire $40,000 out and took the train for home with the money in his pocket. In the meantime, Thomas Terry was at Palmyra with all the help he cold muster, unloading the cars and placing the goods in their store. The New Yorkers soon discovered Phetteplace's trickery and sped to Palmyra. Three cars were still on the track and were seized by them. It was said that the store was filled from cellar to attic; there was hardly standing room. Thomas had made arrangements with Spencer Lapham, a wealthy man in town, to buy them out as soon as papers could be made out, and when the New Yorkers arrived there was another man in the store doing business. He showed his papers and receipts that he had bought the goods from Terry, and they could make no claim to them. Phetteplace was in hiding, and Terry took the sixty thousand dollars he had received for the goods and skipped to Canada, leaving Samuel to fight a big lawsuit. Phetteplace deposited the money he had brought back in a bank; but the cost of trials and judgments cleaned him out of everything he had. He also got well-meaning farmers involved who believed he would come out all right. They, too, lost heavily in order to keep him out of prison, and thinking that they might recover their loss. The case was tried in Lyons, Wayne County, New York. Thomas Terry, having been informed of the time set for trial, donned woman's apparel and bonnet, put up at a fashionable hotel, and attended the proceeding every day. He was a small man of fine features and auburn hair, and his face, being hidden by a veil, which, at that time most women wore, his disguise was complete. No one suspected him as he sat with the ladies. He never came back here to live but sometimes returned secretly for a visit. The Phetteplace store had burned in 1858, being replaced in 1863. The living rooms were added on later, about 1872 by Edward Nichols who had purchased the store. This was a general store; groceries, dry goods, tobacco, cigars, candy, etc. Charles H. Jeffrey ran a grocery cart for them, contacting residents in outlying neighborhoods. This was a great convenience for the farmers and also provided an outlet for eggs, which he accepted in exchange for groceries, etc. Several years later when Jeffrey bought the store, he still ran the "cart". Mr. and Mrs. Sanger lived there a short time and operated the store. Harley Hill followed, and only remained but a short time. Charles H. Jeffrey then bought the property and lived there many years. The store was then owned by George and Alice Wehrlin Grinnell who were there many, many years. Bert and Adeline Guelph Baker bought the property next. In a few years they sold to Carl and Lottie Maier and in 1969 Mrs. Maier sold it to Melvin and Beverly Townsend and it is now known as Townsend's Grocery.

Baker's Store in 1940's.

29

HISTORICAL SITES There are many historical sites in Pumpkin Hook that have an interesting past. Some are noted because of their historical reputation, while others have gained recognition due to the unique stonework or architectural features. It is believed that Otis Hathaway built the house at 200 Hook Road owned by Helen Herendeen. Isaac Hathaway settled on lot 135 on the property now owned by Jim and Jody Davis at 5881 Allen-Padgham Road. It is believed that the Hathaways built both stone houses in the Hook and other buildings in the locality. The Popenhusen farm at 344 Sheldon Road was first settled by James Brooks, who built his first dwelling of logs. It was located about forty rods east of the line that divides the lot from the cemetery. He lived there but a short time when he erected the frame house where Popenhusens live. Slavery was then in force in this state, and Brooks brought two slaves with him when he came from Maryland. One of these slaves was a girl named Cassie Waters, who was arrested for the murder of her infant child. In 1809 her trial was held in Canandaigua, and she was sentenced to be hanged. Respites were given by the Governor but she died before the day set for execution. The Gardner Homestead at 106 Hook Rd. was built in 1900 by Charles H. Gardner. The barn was built in 1905.

The house owned by Sherwood Coon at 148 Hook Road in Pumpkin Hook was a depot of the underground railroad for transporting slaves from the south to Canada. They kept them in the cellar in daylight and travelled with them at night. The building east of the Betz store at 5652 Allen-Padgham Rd. was built prior to the Civil War and was occupied by Harmon Sheffer. It was next owned by Charles Stevens, a soldier in the Civil War who lost one leg; his wife was Sarah Ennis. But, in 1866 he sold the place to John W. Gardner, who dealt it to Christian Betz for a place one mile south of the Quaker churches. Across the road from the Lutheran Church on Church Ave. stands the colonial stone house, another landmark. This was also built by the Hathaways but an exact date is not known. It was occupied in the early 1850's by Frank Chilson and his father-in-law George Hoag, who by mistake took a dose of laudenum, which killed him. The place was once owned by Harmon Sheffer; his son Horace was born there. Sherwood Snider and family lived there: he was a carpenter and built the Phetteplace store (Townsend's Grocery) and remodelled the old hotel for a dwelling for Sam Phetteplace (Iris Farm). At last he fell from a scaffold and fractured his hip, from which he never recovered. His daughter, Julia married I.G. Chilson and they too owned the house. Smith Crocker, Jr. once lived there, as did Thomas P. Gardner and family. Mary Betz Redington once owned and remodeled the house and added to it. Ethel Redington Young and four children stayed there for a short time. The house was rented for a few years, one occupant being Mrs. Mary Wilson. Mrs. Robbins and her two small sons and her mother Mrs. Rogers bought the property and named it "Robbinstone". It then was purchased by Henri and Olive Rice Dettman. Mrs. Dettman still resides there.

Former Charles H. Wood residence at 334 Sheldon Road. 30

Residence of Henry and Cynthia Greene, around 1900 at 5749 Green Road.

Former E.J. Gardner Residence-238 Hook Road.

31

The first farm on the right going west from the church corners on Allen-Padgham Road was occupied by pioneer Benjamin Rickerson. He lived there quite a number of years, and later sold his stock and implements and donated his right of possesson to the Orthodox Friends, who sold it to Maryette Lapham, who was the wife of Hinckley Tay. Mrs. Tay died there, leaving one child, Elizabeth, who married John P. Burns and had one son, Spencer. The buildings were destroyed by fire. Later, Mr. Burns and his wife separated, and Elizabeth went west with her son and spent the remainder of her days there. John P. Burns died of pneumonia a few years later, here in Farmington. The farm, minus the buildings, was purchased by George E. Lapham, who farmed it for several years. It was then sold at referee sale to Fred Wehrlin who erected new buildings. Mr. Wehrlin was a successful farmer. He and his wife, Fannie, spent the remainder of their lives in this home. Their family consisted of two sons and three daughters, namely; Ida, Edith, Alice, Fred, Jr., and Edward J. Ida married Leonard Long. They had two sons, Arthur and Leslie. Edith married James Hosey. They had one son. Alice married George P. Grinnell, who was a merchant and kept a general store in the Town of Farmington. They had an adopted daughter, Ruth, who was a graduate of Macedon High School. Fred, Jr. and Edward J. also married, and both had small families. Fred, who was in business in Palmyra, married Velma Calhoun. They had two sons, Edward J., a painter and decorator, who married Sarah McLouth. They had one son, Gustavus, our present town councilman. After the death of Mr. and Mrs. Wehrlin, the farm was sold to Arthur Herendeen, a farmer and fur dealer. He married Leora Allen. The house is now occupied by their son & his wife, Allen and Nancy Herendeen at 5576 Allen-Padgham Road. Further west, on the left hand side of the highway is the site where once stood the first schoolhouse of district number #12. It was built about 1806. It was a cobblestone building of two rooms; the smaller one was used for wood and served as an entryway to the school room. This building was kept for a schoolhouse until about 1850 to 1852. It was in a bleak place, and the district rented one room of the Friend's schoolhouse in New Salem and about 1855 or 1856 purchased the latter from the Friends. After that the stone schoolhouse was occupied as a residence by Edward Carney and his three childen, Bridget, Mary Ann and Thomas. The latter died there in 1870; Carney sold it to John Nolan who had five daughters: Elizabeth, Charlotte, Harriet, Matilda, and Martha. After Mr. Nolan's death the widow and daughters, moved to Palmyra, and Albert Barnes came into possession of the place and the building was torn down. Mr. Carney had a cooper shop at the location of the school. The first house south of the Hook at 195 Hook Road was the Dr. Robinson homestead which was the first house built in the village. In the 1840's it was purchased by Albert Barnes. It was next purchased by Andrew Bowe. The present owners and occupants are the Bowe family. Across the road from the Bowe property was the home of the Hathaways, Otis and Isaac. Later Isaac moved some of the buildings from this farm, farther west, and lived there. They once owned about three hundred acres in this place. It is believed that this house at 200 Hook Rd. was built around 1810. Joseph Hathaway became the next owner and sold the farm to David W. Sheldon and his wife Ann Gue Sheldon who lived there until their death. Their only daughter, Mary, married Edwin M. Mott. The farm is now owned by Helen Herendeen.

House at 148 Church Avenue (1988 photo).

32

Former Mott House located at 200 Hook Road.

Former Scribner House at 564 County Road 8.

33

THE QUAKERS The Friends have always been against war and were classified as conscientious objectors; that is, a person who refuses to take part in warfare because his conscience prohibits his participation in killing. They resisted attempts to be drafted because of their beliefs. Often they would pay someone to take their place. Many times fines were levied against the Friends for refusing to enter the service and these they refused to pay. The collectors would come and take anything of value to satisfy the fine. The Friends have always helped others, however, and during the Civil War were active in efforts to free the slaves. At least two houses in Pumpkin Hook, those at 5881 Allen-Padgham Rd. & 148 Hook Rd., served as stations in the underground railroad.

SCHOOL The settlers of Farmington turned to the task of educating their children soon after settlement was established. Schools were built throughout the township, the earliest known being in 1796 in one room of the Friend's log church. Shortly afterward, around 1806, a stone school was built on a rise of land opposite Allen Herendeen's home at 5576 Allen­ Padgham Rd. which is now Bowe's field. A select school was built by the Friend's around 1812 at 162 Hook Rd. Its double doors faced the Grinnell Store, now Townsend's grocery. In 1857 the school was purchasd by District #12 and moved to its present location beside the Farmington Fire Station #1. In 1860 the upper story was removed. Seth Bosworth did the carpenter work and Edward Herendeen was the first teacher after the building was remodeled. It is now the oldest public building in Farmington.

Gravel Pit House at 320 County Road 8.

34

PEOPLE AND THEIR CONTRIBUTIONS Sanderland Pattison puchased lot number 134. He was a contractor, builder, carpenter, and millwright. He commenced clearing and built the house which is located at 6061 Allen-Padgham Rd. He also built barn buildings, cleared the land, and lived there many years. In 1813 he built a grist mill, which was known in later years as the Farmington Mills, Youngs Mills, and Newark Mills. He also built a saw mill and did his own custom sawing and grinding. The mills seemed to do a good business, as farmers came from far and near to obtain flour and feed. In 1817 the building of the Erie Canal commenced and was let by subcontracts. Sunderland Pattison contracted for a section to excavate and open in the neighborhood of Bushnell's Basin, on which he employed many teams of men. Sunderland P. Gardner was a young man and a nephew of Pattison, and he was employed to oversee some part of the work. In 1825 the Canal was completed. The following spring Mr. Pattison decided to build a canal boat and transport flour in barrels to supply the different towns and villages between here and Albany. Having previously sawed the lumber he required in the construction of the boat from timber on his own land, he commenced his building operations early in the season and had completed the boat by the time navigation opened in 1827. It was built in the clearing just north of his house and required forty yoke of oxen to remove the boat to the water's edge at Wayneport, N.Y. The Pattison mill was the principle market for wheat in this locality, and it was kept constantly busy making flour, which, with the exception of custom grinding was barreled and shipped by boat to different ports along the Erie Canal. Sunderland Pattison, Jr. was born in Armenia County, N.Y. in the year 1779, where he married Dorcas Gardner. Mr. and Mrs. Pattison had six children, namely; Elizabeth Pattison, b. 1801, d. 1870 (married a Wilbur); Merch G. Pattison, b. 1803, d. 1885 (married a Foster); Welcome H. Pattison, b. 1814, d. 1862; Sunderland G. Pattison, b. 1811 d. 1882 (married a Smith); and George W. Pattison, b. 1817, d. 1900. The original Isaac Hathaway settled on lot number 35 (now Hathaway's Corners). He had two sons, Otis and Isaac, Jr. The latter purchased lot number 135; his brother Otis drew lot number 136. Isaac settled back from the highway on the place located at 5881 Allen-Padgham Rd. His first dwelling was of logs. A few years later the log house was replaced by a sawed frame, neatly constructed building, sawed from his own wood lot. At this early date the settlers did not wait to get the land in tillable condition, but the first thought was to get a place ready in which to eat and sleep and be sheltered from the storm; so the first thing they did was to walk into the woods" pick out their location and commence felling trees; clear for their house and construct it of logs. The next thing was to sow some wheat; they had to have flour. They burned away the leaves and scattered wheat among the stumps and raked it in the dirt with a hand rake. In this way the pioneers raised wheat enough for their own bread. Mr. Hathaway was ambitious. He employed help, cleared his land, and was a successful farmer. Nancy, his wife, was a great help to him. They sometimes had from six to eight men to cook for in the haying and harvest season. The work was all done in the field by hand; a scythe to cut the hay, and a cradle to cut the grain. Thomas McKnab carried the water and ground the scythe and Israel F. Chilson led the workmen, for which he received two shillings per day extra. Isaac and Nancy had five sons and one daughter, named; 'Richard, Lorenzo, Joseph, Jared, John and Phoebe. Lorenzo married Margaret McCumber (who was an Orthodox preacher), Phoebe did not marry; John married Cassie Hamblin, who was a widow with two daughters, and taught a select school under the supervision of the Orthodox Friends.

House at 6061 Allen-Padgham Road (1976 photo).

35

Today, Pumpkin Hook's businesses include Townsend's Grocery, Bauer's Garage and the Country Pizza. The "Iris Farm" is being developed as a bed and breakfast. New housing developments are being built along Allen-Padgham Road, Bowerman Road and Pannell Road. Pumpkin Hook is no longer a bustling center of trade. It is rather a sprawling residential area surrounded by several working farms. Yet the Hook has maintained the charm of yesteryear as it progresses toward the 21 st century.

SOUTH FARMINGTON The area of South Farmington never attained the status of a village but much of the earliest settlement was done at what is today the intersection of County Rd. 28 & Shortsville Rd. The south-eastern portion of the Town of Farmington was the site of settlement of many of the early pioneers. It is said that they came by way of water up Paddleford Creek which crosses the Shortsville Road near the dairy barn of Louis Gerlock and Sons, at 4712 Shortsville Rd. We know they came to Canandaigua and that some followed the Canandaigua outlet to Swift's Landing in Manchester. Since this creek empties into the outlet near Shortsville, we can assume that this is possible and probably was more practical than making a roadway through the wilderness between Canandaigua and Farmington. Nathan Aldrich, who was one of the original purchasers, came by way of water to Geneva in 1789, bringing with him seed-wheat and provisions, which he packed to his purchase on Lot 23 near the present residence of Fred H. G�lock at 4712 Shortsville Rd. That summer he planted a few acres of wheat. He returned to his home in Massachusetts for the winter and then returned with his family in the spring of 1790 with Nathan Comstock and his party. His wheat was harvested that summer and he is credited with building the second cabin in the town, holding the first town meeting at his residence in 1797 and building the first framed house sometime before 1818 when he died. Nathan Herendeen was also one of the original purchasers. He and his son and sons-in-law followed the Comstock party one day behind, caught up with them at Geneva and came together the rest of the way. The journey is believed to have taken about 31 days. Nathan and his son, Welcome, had traded their property in Adams, Mass. for 1,000 acres in the purchase. Nathan settled on the farm owned by the late Edward Vale at 4998 Shortsville Road and is said to have built the third cabin and raised the first barn in the town. He was active in early town and church affairs. This is also the site of one of the cobblestone houses in the town, which was probably built between 1830 and 1860 for Welcome Herendeen. His son, Welcome Herendeen, settled the lot where Robert C. Gerlock resides at 1702 County Road 28. He escaped the fever and ague that afflicted most of the settlers the first year but was ill with that disorder for 6 months the following season. When he desired some seed-wheat to plant, he worked a total of 13 days to pay for 2112 bushels. Like his father, he was also active in town and church affairs. Joshua Herrington, a son-in-law of Nathan Herendeen, settled on the lot now the residence of Herbert Reed at 1481 County Road 28. In the early fall, having a hunger for some bread, he made the journey to Wilder's Mill in the Town of Bristol to have some wheat ground. Mrs. Wilder's religious convictions would not allow the mill to run on the Sabbath, so he returned empty-handed to find that an addition to his family had taken place in his absence. His son, Welcome, who was later known as Welcome Herendeen, was the first white child born in the town, September 17, 1790. Jonathan Reed, another son-in-law, was the pioneer blacksmith and settled on the corner of Routes 96 and 28, at 1380 Cou nty Road 28. Samuel Mason, also a son-in-law, apparently lived on Lot 21, also owned by Nathan Herendeen, now the site of the home of Louis L. Gerlock, 4941 Shortsville Road. In 1791 he moved from there to near the Robert Gerlock home at 1702 County Road 28. He later moved to Ohio and died there. Thomas Herendeen, a son of Nathan Herendeen, ran a tannery for about 15 years in the vicinity of the intersection of Route 96 and Sand Hill Road. This lot was the homestead of another 1790 pioneer, John Payne, whose son, Allen Payne, was born there and who was one of the largest land owners in Farmington when he died in 1875. The site is located at 4628, Rt. 96 and both Allen and John are buried on the land they nourished. Abraham Lapham was the pioneer owner of Lot 2 at 1673 Sand Hill Road; it was later deeded to Nathan Aldrich and his heirs and was the home of Howard Potter's "Clayloam Farm", now it is the residence of John L. Gerlock.

In 1790 Job Howland located at Black Brook in the eastern part of the town and built a saw-mill.

36

Jonathan Smith and his family came in 1790 and were identified with town growth and prosperity. Certainly they can be identified as having the most personal grief and sacrifice in the early years. After a meeting held at his home in 1814, a friendly wrestling match was held in which William Brown was thrown and his death resulted; in 1823 the Smith residence burned and a 12 year old son was lost in the fire. Jonathan Smith himself was killed by a falling timber while helping to raise the frame of a house of Jonathan Reed. The Smiths lived on Lot 31 which is on Shortsville Road near the intersection of County Road 8 and is now the farm of George and Wesley Payne, 5437 Shortsville Road. A tannery was built in 1800 by Thomas Herendeen. He conducted the business about fifteen years, and was succeeded by Peter C. Brown, and who continued until 1826. Its site was near the Allan Payne Farm, 4628, Route 96. It is the last place on Route 96 in the Town of Farmington. In 1823, the Society of Friends built a meeting house in this section of town, in which preparative meetings were for many years conducted. It stood on the corner of County Road 28 and Shortsville Road, its site now being marked by a stone marker. The property was deeded by Welcome Herendeen and was a part of the original Herendeen purchase. The building was torn down about 1910·1915 and the wood used to build a house on Route 21 toward Palmyra. Across the road was the Sexton's house, now the home of Ralph Whittaker, 1561 County Road 28. On the north end of his lawn, right next to the road, they built a hitching shed which faced the east sometime prior to 1846. It was torn down about 1930 when the owner of the Sexton's house was Sid Matthews. In 1802 James Hoag arrived from New Jersey and built a small shop and began a successful business as a shoe and harness maker.

Somewhere near the Friends South Meeting House, soon after 1790, Joseph Smith and James D. Fish began an ashery for the manufacture of pearlash. The building was frame and "the first of its class in the town". The lot occupied by the Sexton's house and the shed is the same lot the District School was located on, the school being southeast of the 4 corners at 1593 County Rd 28. This lot was originally owned by Benjamin Rickerson and from 1802 owned by Nathan Aldrich and his heirs. The school was built prior to 1806 and that year taught by Elam Crane, a practical, educated man who taught in many of the early schools of area towns.

The land of the South Farmington Friends Cemetery Association was first deeded in 1823 by Welcome Herendeen; later more parcels were added in 1895 from George P. Power and in 1917 from Charles J. Gerlock. By 1932, it had become known as the South Farmington Cemetery Association. The little chapel next to the cemetery had its beginnings in 1896 when Charles H. Herendeen deeded the land to the South Farmington Chapel Religious Society. It was later known as the Union Chapel or Union Free Chapel. In 1832, it was transferred by Florence Mason to the South Farmington Cemetery Association. Helen Gerlock

Built for Welcome Herendeen about 1832. 4998 Shortsville Road.

37

"MEETING HOUSE PARK" Located on the northwest corner of County Road #28 and Shortsville Rd. This small park was turned over to the town on July 4,1976 as a part of the 1976 National Bicentennial observation. The stone marker was originally located three miles north. It had been moved by early settlers using a stone boat and two yoke of oxen to a line fence. In 1928 it was moved to the present location by the Herendeen association and the plaque was added. The grove of evergreen trees was also set at that time.

The inscription on the marker reads: "In memory of the Friends Meeting House erected on this site in 1823. The land was given by Welcome Herendeen being on the original farm of his father who settled here in 1790." This memorial placed by the Herendeen Association. 1928.

HISTORY OF MERTENSIA 1791 - 1988

The area of Farmington known today as Mertensia is situated in the southwestern part of the township. It was originally known as West Farmington. Early history of Farmington refers to a number of early settlers who put down their roots in the west Farmington area. In 1790 Isaac Hathaway, from Adams, Massachusetts, located at what has since been known as Hathaway's Corners. His wife, Jemima, rode through the wilderness on horseback while the children travelled on an ox-sled. Hathaway's Corners is on the present Route 332, approximately three quarters of a mile south of the Routes 96 - 332 intersection.

Other early settlers include Jacob Smith, who built the first grist mill in 1793, and Joseph Smith, Jacob's brother, who erected the first saw mill on the bank of Mud Creek opposite his brother's grist mill. The residences of these three pioneers still stand today in the West Farmington area, a compliment to the quality of workmanship of these early settlers. The Jacob Smith property originally totaled "800 acres overflowing into the Town of Victor extending to Boughton Hill with Mud Creek cutting turbulently through the middle of the farm". To the grist mill on the Smith property in the late 1790's came the Indians to exchange their pelts for grain. A holding pond used in the grist mill operation is still visible on the property which is now owned by the John Hayward family. 38

The home is located on County Road 41 just west of the south end of Mertensia Road. The address is 6272 Boughton Hill Road. The house originally had eight rooms, each with a fireplace connected to two great chimneys. Two of the fireplaces and one of the chimneys remain today. While working on the walls of the large center hallway on the main floor, residents uncovered a handpainted mural. It depicts a scenic view of what is thought to be some of the nearby area and has been restored and framed. History of this property and the area would be remiss if it failed to mention the numerous records found in the attic of the Hayward home. Carefully preserved and encased are several promissory notes dated 1805 and 1813, signed by Jacob Smith. There is also a receipt for the sale of wheat in 1797 and of particular interest, an agreement with one Ephraim Little dated 1799, signed by a number of subscribers who employed Little to teach school in Farmington for the term of twelve weeks beginning December 24, 1799 for which the subscribers agreed to give fifteen dollars per month. The names of the "scholars" who were to receive instruction with the number of days for each are listed. So education, though it started well into the winter when farm labors were done, played a vital part in the life of the early settlers. Also built in the summer of 1793 was the Joseph Smith home. This home is located at the north end of Mertensia Road on the west side with an address of 1118 Mertensia Road. Joseph was one of the original pioneers in Farmington who purchased a full share of 640 acres from the Phelps and Gorham land office in Canandaigua. He contributed his goodly share in 1796 toward the construction of the Quaker church. Joseph and his wife brought four of their five children with them from New England. Their oldest son, David, took over the farm and it was probably he who built much of the present residence. The house, however, has been developed over the years, with each succeeding generation adding some feature. Just prior to 1969, plans to make an apartment house out of the dwelling were in the offing when the Mario Carruba family purchased it and once again it became a spacious one family home. Three years later a fire damaged a part of the home and remodeling that was underway became more extensive. At the time of the fire, the house had a front and back stairway which were not accessible to each other on the second floor. The Carrubas at this time opened up the partition forming a hallway down the center of the floor and made additional sleeping quarters. Surprisingly the fire which had eaten so rapidly through new 2x4's had not damaged the old solid oak support timbers, which had stayed the same as they were when they had been cut from logs on the land more than a century and a half before.

Former Jacob Smith Home built 1799. 6272 Cou nty Road #41 (photo taken 1988).

39

While the Smiths were operating their grist and saw mills, one of the original settlers, Isaac Hathaway, who was to become Farmington's first Town Clerk, was busy building his home at what now is referred to as Hathaway's Corners. Isaac Hathaway was a member of that sturdy band of Quakers who migrated westward from Adams, Mass. and laid the foundations for Farmington Township. He was then a man of 34, a soldier of the Revolution, who had been attracted by the low land rates which the Phelps and Gorham land office at Canandaigua was offering. The story is that his young wife, Jemima Comstock Hathaway rode horseback from Adams in the spring of 1790, and that enroute she cut a poplar sprig to use as a riding crop. When she arrived at the mile square plot which Isaac Hathaway had purchased, she picked out a spot which seemed well fitted for a home and planted the stripling. It grew into a lofty poplar which survived until 1920. In 1793, Jemima died, one of the first deaths in Farmington. Three years later Isaac married Elizabeth Richmond and it was to their son, Perez, that the family holding passed. Perez married Hannah Lapham, a member of one of the county's oldest families. She was a second cousin of Susan B. Anthony who was a guest at the Lapham home several times during her lifetime. The Hathaway home has not changed greatly with the years. The rear section of the residence stands sturdily. The simple woodwork is reminiscent of that earlier period. So is the fine cherry stairway leading from the hall to the second floor. The old cheese room which once adjoined the kitchen has been renovated. The large brick bake oven in the cellar can still be seen. The old well (a century old) is still in good condition. A history of Ontario County notes that a frame barn built by Annanias McMillan for Isaac Hathaway in 1793 was the first building of its kind. The highway (now County Road 41), which cuts close to the home and barns is now a key traffic artery. It was once a stage route and the coaches always halted at the "corners". When the 1800's rolled around, it was apparent that the West Farmington area was becoming dotted with family homes. The busy saw mill cut the timbers which Nathan Comstock drew in for the first frame house of worship for the Friends built in 1804. Many of the nails used on these timbers were also made by Jacob Smith and have appeared over the years in the oldest homes in the area.

The stage coach wended its way through West Farmington in an east-west direction, perhaps close to the path that one travels today on County Road 41. The stage coach stopped at the Wilmarth Inn atop Boughton Hill to change horses on its Buffalo to Albany run and also stopped at Hathaway's Corners.

In 1840, West Farmington became well known when one of its residents, John Lapham, was elected to the office of County Judge. Judge Lapham's home, at 6227 Boughton Hill Rd., is now owned by Scott Johnson. Like many others, it still includes the large fireplaces and large rooms. Business interests picked up in this area with the arrival of the Rochester and Auburn Railroad on September 10, 1840. Trains in the 1840's were scheduled to arrive and depart according to stage coach timetables, often waiting several hours for a tardy Wells-Fargo coach. Timber for the railroad ties and early wooden trestles came from the old Charles Fisher mill at Fishers, according to one historical report. The first engine was a cabless wood burner. The local line catered to local businesses and enjoyed heavy patronage until well into the present century. At its peak, twenty-two trains a day were routed over the Auburn Road. The old road had its great moments. Presidents and candidates for the presidency rode it, as did members of Congress and other VIP's. Through the years it carried judges and lawyers to court in Canandaigua as well as farm families off to the city for a day of shopping.

In 1891, owing to the confusion of the mail delivery, it was decided to change the name of West Farmington to "Mertensia" after a flower that grows and blooms freely in the locality. The mertensia, or blue bell, still is in evidence each spring in early May along the banks of Mud Creek south of County Road 41. For many years, the site of Jacob Smith's mill was known as the "Bluebell Island Farm" and schoolchildren were brought to view the lovely flowers. The Board of Trade in Mertensia at the turn of the century included a number of active businesses. Next to the New York Central train station was an active warehouse, produce and coal business as well as a cooper's shop, where barrels were made. Perhaps one of the most visited places in Mertensia was a variety store run by H.H. (Hack) Collins which stood on the south side of County Road 41 and just west of the Central tracks, where the Vanderwall residence now stands at 6169 Boughton Hill Rd. The variety store also housed the post office and like many such establishments of its time was a thriving hub where all could gather and exchange news. Area farmers often brought their milk to the Mertensia Railroad station and then met at Collins store to chat until the train arrived with the mail. Persons residing as many as three or four miles south of the store walked there to pick up their mail.

The railroad faced a creamery owned by David Smith. The creamery walls still remain today near the residence of Mrs. Clark Calhoun at 6158 Boughton Hill Rd. In a nearby residence lived Michael Cahill who was in charge of the railroad tracks. In addition, the railroad provided employment for a station agent, a dispatcher, a flagman and a night watchman.

40

Think of Mertensia and you might also think of the trolley -- the Rochester and Eastern Rapid Railway, to be exact, which was incorporated in New York on January 21,1901. The road began operating November 15,1903 and owned forty-three miles of track between Rochester and Geneva. The tracks of the trolley ran through Mertensia near the present Agnes and Fred Peck residence, at 1327 Mertensia Rd., a short distance from Route 96 on Mertensia Rd. The trolley was transportation for many Mertensia residents and for a number of Catholic children it was a means to get to catechism each Saturday afternoon at St. Patrick's church which was next to the Victor trolley stop. The trolley was also the chief route of passenger transportation between Rochester and two of the Finger Lakes. Picnic parties, summer residents, and college rooters used the trolley as their chief means of transportation. Double cars and additional service were used to carry the crowds of holiday revelers. University of Rochester alumni can recall days when the Rochester and Eastern carried hundreds of rooters from Rochester to Geneva or vice versa to attend the annual Hobart-Rochester football classics. Ticket agents were employed at the principal villages through which the road operated and scores of tickets were sold daily to the traveling public and commuters. The position of ticket agents was abolished after a time and the conductors collected cash fares on the cars. Suspension of traffic on the Rochester and Eastern trolley on August 1,1930 left this area without the network of trolleys which served it during the previous quarter of a century. It became the fifth trolley system to suspend operation within a few years time. It was on this date at 12:16 a.m. the last Rochester and Eastern car passed through Mertensia. The trolley had been losing business due to the popularity of automobile travel as early as 1920. A whole new mode of transportaton was carrying Mertensia residents to and from such places as Canandaigua and Rochester. The new Canandaigua to Rochester highway opened in the fall of 1930. Business slowed considerably in the 1930's. This was the end of the depression era and as one Mertensia resident at that time so aptly put it, "The living was slow and not so easy". The hamlet had lost its creamery, its train station, the trolley and to a certain extent much of the warehouse business. As late as the 1940's a few farmers were still loading their straw and hay on the siding of the New York Central in Mertensia. For a time prior to the cessation of passenger service on the Central in 1958, persons could still flag down certain trains at Mertensia tor-a ride. The war years came and went with some residents finding work in war plants and factories. Farmers continued to plow their fields, and plant and harvest their crops.

With the advent of sewers, water districts and gas lines, a large subdivision, Doe Haven, began to take shape in 1964 on the eastern side of Mertensia Road. The New York Central train tracks have been removed and the cinder railroad bed is used as atrail for joggers, snowmobilers and recreational vehicles. More homes have been built on County Road 41, just west of the Hathaway residence; there are now apartment houses and complexes. It is now 1988 and Mertensia, the land of the bluebells, continues to replace spaces of Mother Earth with homes, homes and more homes. With the increased population comes the need for services such as a post office, laundromats, car agencies, real estate agencies, home builders, restaurants, and entertainment. Churches and schools are feeling the rapid growth as well.

Where deer frolicked in pasture and woods, today homes stand in Mertensia. A look in any direction from Mertensia Road makes this evident to the viewer. As so well put by A.B. Katkamier in 1897, "The healthful climate, natural and picturesque scenery in and about this quiet hamlet makes it one of the most desirable places on this earth to live." NOTE: The above history of Mertensia was compiled from history books, newspaper clippings, and conversations with area residents. If there are contradictions, and there are sure to be, it can only be a subject for more conversation about history which in itself, can be nothing but healthy. My special thanks to the Ontario County Historical Society for their help and to such Farmington residents as Floyd Katkamier for the loan of a Farmington history dated 1897 and to Mrs. John Hayward who so graciously made available to me much of the history of the Jacob Smith home. Cherie B. Exton

41

V

Families

ALDRICH George Aldrich, the first Aldrich in America, was born in Derbyshire, England and came to Mendon, Massachusetts, U.S.A. on November 6, 1631, accompanied by his wife Catharine Seald. The descendents of George and Catharine were Jacob, 2nd generation, b. December 28, 1652, d. October 22, 1695, married to Hulda Thayer. Their son, Peter, 3rd generation, b. October 17, 1686, d. March 1748, married Hannah Hayward. Peter's son, Peter, 4th generation, b. November 19,1722, d. March 17, 1790, married Esther Comstock. Their son, Nathan, 5th generation, was the pioneer in Farmington. He was born August 13, 1762 and died November 5, 1818. He married Abagail Lapham. Nathan Aldrich, descendent of Peter Aldrich and Esther Comstock of Mendon, Massachusetts made his way to Farmington, New York in the spring of 1789. With the help of his man he cleared a small tract of land and was the first white man to sow wheat in this town. He returned to Massachusetts in the fall of 1789 and came back the following spring of 1790 with the colony that came to settle Farmington. This colony included Herendeens, Aldrichs, Comstocks, Browns, Laphams, Smiths, Russells and Hathaways. Nathan Aldrich settled on lot number 23. John Aldrich, 6th generation, b. October 30, 1790, d. December 15, 1860, married Sarah Dillon, his first wife. She died December 20, 1815. John as a young man was sent back to Massachusetts with a team to move Jason Aldrich, 6th generation, son of Silas, 5th generation, and his family to the town of Farmington. On seeing one of the young ladies, Leonora of the 7th generation, the oldest of Jason's family, he made the remark that if he could do so he should make her his wife, which he afterward did. So it must have been a clear case of love at first sight. So we now take the line of John the 6th generation, and Leonora the 7th generation, which we call 6th in line. Issue of John and Leonora Aldrich are as follows; Silas, b. July 13, 1820, d. May 12,1850, married Adelia Allen. Edward, b. November 22,1822, d. January 17, 1886, married Julia McComber. Nathan, b. May 25, 1824, d. April 10, 1888, married Lydia Herendeen. Sarah, b. July 28, 1826, d. October 14, 1847, married Edward Eldrich. Phebe, b. June 28, 1829, d. September 27,1897, married Garet Wagoner. Adelia, b. March 25, 1831, d. March 8, 1853, married Henry Allen. Nathan, 7th generation, was the grandson of the pioneer Nathan Aldrich. With the exception of two years when he resided at or near Port Gibson, he lived in his nativity until the day of his death. During his adult years a large portion of his life work was devoted to the advancement of Farmington's material interests and in the service of his fellow­ townsmen. He was a public spirited citizen, and his influence was invariably given in favor of any proposition which would reflect credit upon the town or enhance its prosperity. He also served the people of Ontario county two years as one of their Justices of Session, in such manner as to reflect credit upon himself and his constituency. During his whole life he was an intelligent and active tiller of the soil. He believed in agriculture. He loved his home and his farm. City or village life had no charms for him; knowing that all wealth and prosperity emanate, either directly or indirectly, from the land, he was not only content but was proud to be one of the original producers.

He was an earnest adherent to, and believer in, the doctrines of the Hicksite Friends, and furnished in his own daily life proof of the efficacy. At the time of his death he was a member of the Royal Templars of Temperance Society of Shortsville and was also a member of Farmington Grange. During his entire political life he was an earnest and unfaltering republican. His faith in the immortal prlnctples upon which that party was founded never waivered. During the trying period of the war he was active and instrumental in causing his town to respond promptly to each new call for troops, and in disseminating the principles of loyalty and teaching love of freedom and hatred of slavery and treason. We now go on to the issue of Nathan and Lydia Aldrich as follows: Helen, b. November 9,1847, d. April 24, 1854; Charles, b. June 15, 1849, d., September 13, 1928, married Charlotte Cobb; Harriet, b. June 14, 1851, d. July 26, 1929, married Samual Young; Julius, b. January 2, 1854, d. January 16, 1947, married Abbie Smith first, Eva King second; Clarance, b. May 31, 1856, d. May 26, 1864; Mary b. August 20, 1858, d. March 3, 1929, married Carlton Davis. Julius Aldrich was the great grandson of Nathan Aldrich. He was born on Collett Road, Farmington, New York. After marriage he moved to Manchester, New York and operated a carriage and blacksmith shop. In the year 1888 he moved to a home on Sheldon Road, previously owned by his father, Nathan Aldrich. Here he continued to operate his business of repairing wagons, sleighs, cutters, etc. He then went on to saw filing, furniture repairs, and fine woodwork. He also operated the farm with the help of a hired man. In the year 1892 he was Commissioner of Highways. He was also the Town Assessor for a number of years.

He was on the committee of the "Quaker Club" who promoted the platform or pavillion ball on the premises and near the residence of N.L. Aldrich. Pleasantly situated and appropriately located, while the accommodations were unique; to be more specific, in the orchard of N.L. Aldrich. Entertainments were held every two weeks. Generally on Friday evening. It was the wish of Julius Aldrich that the home at 716 Sheldon Road be handed down to a son of each descendant, which is now occupied by Verne, the 10th generation of Aldrichs in America. We now go the the issue of Julius and Eva Aldrich as follows: Clarence, b. January 14,1890, d. May 29,1973, married Bertha Nichols; Floyd, b. May 16,1892, d. April 7, 1968, married Edith Gascoign; Nathan, b. April 7, 1894, d. November 16, 1986, married Mildred Fox.

42

Nathan Leland Aldrich, born on Sheldon Road, Farmington, New York, is a life long resident. He received his first eight years of education at District #8, Farmington. He completed his four years of high school in Oakwood Seminary, Quaker Boarding School, Union Springs, New York. Upon completion of schooling he was working toward being a pharmacist, when he was drafted into the army. He went into service on September 8,1917, his training being such as it was at Fort Dix, New Jersey. He was one of the first occupants of Fort Dix, New Jersey. He helped to build the camp consisting of cornfields, rail fences, and a few incomplete buildings at the time of his arrival. This camp was completed at the time of departure, which was April 18, 1918. From Fort Dix to Liverpool, across the Channel to Lahaurve, France. He served in the Headquarters Company, 309th Field Artillery, 78th Division, American Expeditionary Forces. He received the "Silver Star" for gallantry in action in the Bois des Loges, France, November 1, 1918. While acting as active scout for the artillery during an attack, he made his way forward in the face of intense enemy fire and obtained valuable information which enabled the artillery to successfully carry out its mission. Later as a member of the Artillery liaison detail, Aldrich, while engaged in a reconnaissance in the forward area, assisted, under heavy enemy fire, in removing a seriously wounded man to safety. Upon the completion of his service in 1919, Nathan was a Corporal. He then returned to the town of Farmington to resume the life of a farmer. In the year of 1920 he married Mildred Fox, also of Farmington. Nathan held the office of Tax Collector in Farmington from 1927 to 1928, and again from 1932 to 1936. He acted as Town Justice and Town Councilman from the years of 1950 to 1970. In the year of 1970, he was awarded the "Citizen of the Year". He has also been a member of the Farmington Grange #431 for fifty years. He served as Secretary and Treasurer of the South Farmington Cemetery Association. Nathan passed away on November 16,1986. His wife Mildred still resides on Herendeen Road, in Farmington, New York. The issue of Nathan and Mildred Aldrich are as follows: Nathan, b. July 31,1921, married Elma Baker; Robert, b. March 6,1923, married Mary Lou Hester; Harley, b. April 3, 1924, married Betty Bavis who died March 6, 1984; then married Joyce Simpson; Verne, b. April 16, 1926, married Lorraine Joyce, first, Edna Vanderwall, second; Claire, b. February 20, 1929, married Joan Yancy Johnson; Laura, b. March 5, 1932, d. June 9 1975, married Edward DeJaeger. Nathan Aldrich, the 10th generation, great, great, great grandson of the first Nathan, is also a lifelong resident of the Town of Farmington. Nathan Aldrich and Elma Baker were joined in wedlock on the 5th day of April, 1946. Nathan's first eight years of education was at District #9, in Farmington. He completed his four years of high school at Manchester High School, Manchester, New York, in 1938. In the year of 1943 , he was drafted in the 13th Division Airborn. he served as a paratrooper until 1946, at which time he returned to Farmington. Nathan, also a man interested in agriculture, followed his father's footsteps as a farmer on the Aldrich farm on Sheldon Road. In the year 1949, he and his family moved to the Aldrich home on Herendeen Road, where he now resides and continues the business of dairy farming. Nathan was a member of Red Jacket Central School Board for eight years. In 1971 he became a Councilman of the Town of Farmington. He is the fourth generation of Aldrich's active in the political structure of the Town of Farmington and served until 1983. Nathan assisted in the unveiling of the boulder tablet and marking of the approximate spot on which was erected the first Friends meeting house in Western New York in 1796. "The curtain which concealed the bronze tablet was lifted by 5-year old Jessie Eldridge, a descendant of Benjamin Hance, the first recorded elder of the Friends Society here, and Nathan Aldrich, who is the fifth generation from Nathan Aldrich, the early pioneer in Farmington." Nathan, has been a life member of the Farmington Friends Church. Issue of Nathan and Elma Aldrich follows: Stanley, b. December 5,1948, married Candace Cornish; Diane, b. August 2, 1951; and Karen, b. September, 5, 1953, married, Michael Butler.

Lee, Mildred, Verne & Edna Aldrich

GARDNER

The Gardner family originated in France. After the conquest of Normandy, they went to the County of Kent, England. From England they emigrated to America. Some early settlers settled in Gardner's Island, New York, near Long Island. Curtiss C. Gardner, our ancestor, settled in Newport, Rhode Island, prior to 1620. Curtiss C. Gardner'S son, George, married Herodeous Long Hicks, ancestor of Elias Hicks, a renowned Quaker Minister. Both Sunderland P. Gardner and Elias Hicks were "two of the most famous Quaker Ministers this country produced."

Mercy Gardner, daughter of Herodeous L. Gardner and George Gardner, married Welcome Herendeen in 1806. He was the first white child born in the town of Farmington, N.Y. They moved to Michigan with their children Elizabeth, Welcome, and Nathan Gardner Herendeen. Mercy Gardner'S brother, Elisha Watson Gardner, came to Farmington in 1814 with five children from Albany County, New York (Rensselaerville). Their journey took 9 days through the wilderness. Their son, Sunderland P. Gardner led the head ox. They settled on the farm now owned by Mrs. Ruth Wolf. They later built the home now owned by John and Janet Reese. Sunderland P. Gardner, was the father of Oscar B. Gardner, former Town of Farmington Supervisor. "He labored for the truth in preaching the Gospel as taught by Jesus Christ, and was a leader in the Society of Friends throughout the U.S. and Canada." Other descendants of the Elisha Watson Gardner children married into the Cottons, Sheldons and other Farmington families. 43

Six more children were born to Elisha Watson Gardner and his wife Sarah Pattison Gardner in the Town of Farmington; one was John W. Gardner, father of Charles H. Gardner. "Charlie H." was a birthright Quaker and was well known throughout the Pumpkin Hook area for his knowledge of history. He compiled several books on the history of the Town of Farmington and the Society of Friends. He was a carpenter-contractor and built many homes around the Farmington and Macedon area. He built the former lutheran parsonage on Church Avenue and the Gardner Homestead. The masonry work around the Friends Cemetery, Friends Church and the home of Mr. & Mrs. David Ferris, located at 5716 Allen-Padgham Rd., where Charlie H. and his wife, Clara lombard, lived for many years was all done by him. The quotation from Rev. Kent Larabee on the memorial written at the time of his death reads, "Jesus Christ was Divine. He was the very Son of God. These words were often and firmly spoken by one who was close to the heart of all who knew him."

Charlie H. and Clara L. Gardner had two children: Grace L. and Charles R. Grace L. married Joseph Greene. The "Green" Road is named after the Greene family. They had 5 children: Clara, Florence, Gladys, Charlotte and George. The youngest relative of the Greene family residing in the Town of Farmington would be Robert DeBrock, grandson of Eddie and Gladys (Greene) De Brock. "Charlie R" son of Charlie H. Gardner was born in 1887. He also was a birthright Quaker, a farmer by trade and was active in the Farmington Grange No. 431. He married Ethel Stearman, who was the first Welfare Officer in the Town of Farmington. They had three children: Walter, deceased in 1983; Grace Virginia and Harry. Virginia is married to Howard Delano. The youngest descendants of Charlie R. Gardner's family still residing in the Town would be loryn & Teryn Figler children of Tammy & Ron Figler. "Charlie R." would be their Great-Great Grandfather.

Compiled by Virginia Delano, Diana D. van der Velden and Harry W. Gardner.

Former C.H. Gardner Home - built 1900. Charles R. on horse - at 106 Hook Road.

44

Aldrich Homestead at 4713 Shortsville Road (1902-1903). Ed Petty (with horse), Ida Petty and Lena Romeiser in buggy.

Herendeen Homestead built 1832, at BOO County Road B.

45

HATHAWAY The Hathaway home at Hathaway's Corners is probably one of the oldest houses in the town of Farmington and in Ontario County. Isaac Hathaway, 34 years old and a veteran of the American Revolution was attracted by the low rates offered by the Phelps and Gorham land office in Canandaigua. He and his wife Jemima left Adams, Massachusetts in the spring of 1790, she riding horseback. Along the way she had cut a poplar sprig to use as a riding whip and when she arrived in Farmington, she chose the spot for the home, in the mile square lot Isaac had purchased, and planted the stripling, the resulting lofty poplar surviving until 1920. Hers was one of the first deaths in Farmington (in 1793) and about a year later Isaac married Elizabeth Richmond, and it was to their son that his homestead passed. Isaac was first town clerk, performed the first marriage, was a member of the constitution committee which drew up the first code of laws for Ontario County. He gave 53 hours of labor and a barrel of hand-wrought nails toward the Friends church. In 1816, Perez Hathaway came into full management of the estate. His wife was second cousin of Susan B. Anthony, the militant women's rights advocate; she being a guest in the Hathaway home several times during her lifetime. The house has not changed fundamentally during the occupancy of the succeeding generations of Hathaways living there. The rear section goes back to the pioneer era and still stands sturdily. A fine cherry stairway leads to the second floor. The old cheese room next to the kitchen has been renovated. The large brick bake oven in the cellar can still be seen. The modern highway passing by the house was once a stage route and the coaches always halted at Hathaway's Corners. Perez was born July 12, 1805 in Farmington, he died January 25, 1854. On March 7, 1827 he married Hannah Lapham, born February 20, 1799 and died in 1884. She was the youngest daughter of David Lapham of Farmington. Perez Hathaway's children were Elizabeth Canterbury, born July 14,1829, died July 17,1840; Joseph Perez, born August 31,1833; Ann Maria Victoria, born November 12,1838, died August 11,1914, married January 5,1860 George Collins, son of Guy and Marie (Ellis) Collins, born E. Bloomfield, N.Y., June 20,1833, died April 17, 1903; Rebecca J., born August 13, 1843, died September 8, 1873. Jared Perez Hathaway was the grandson of Joseph Perez Hathaway. He was born at Hathaway's Corners, Farmington, on December 19, 1897. He resided on the Canandaigua-Rochester Highway in the homestead and was a lovestock dealer. His grandchildren are the seventh generation to enjoy the homestead. He married Ethel Louise Sterling, daughter of Lyman Henry and Mary Amelia (Hutchinson) Sterling on November 11,1915. She was born August 15, 1895. They served as airplane spotters during World War II. Their daughter is Virginia Lee, born December 31,1917, married October 2,1941 to Wilfred Stanton Stewart, son of Dr. John Stewart. She was active in Republican affairs in East Aurora. Her second husband was George R. Lefler. Her son, Bruce Hathaway Stewart is a commercial airline pilot. He married Aileen Abe and has a daughter, Lisa. Gail Stewart married Charles Daugherty and they have a daughter, Tamara. Kathleen Stewart married Douglas Crank and is a teacher. The Stewart lineage is the last remaining direct line to Mary, Queen of Scots.

Virginia Lefler

"Gussie" Brundage 46

Ruth Clapper in front of Dr. Clapper's office sign.

47

HERENDEEN The following information is taken from papers done by Lewis and Marion Allen on the History of the Herendeen family. Much of their information came from a history written by Edward Herendeen, a grandson of Nathan Herendeen, the pioneer. Nathan Herendeen, born in 1741 in Cumberland, R.I., moved to Adams, Massachusetts in 1769 where he bought a small farm. In 1779 he lost his wife Huldah Dillingham, leaving a large family of seven children. In 1785 he married Sarah Pierce, a widow. They had a son, Thomas. He had tried to maintain his large family by carrying on a forge, which was not very profitable. He had an offer to swap his small farm with the Comstocks for 1000 acres in township no. 11, 3rd range in the Phelps and Gorham Purchase. This township was named Farmington. The town had not been visited by any of its owners. There were 144 parcels, being the number of lots in the town. Each lot contained 160 acres of land. Each of these lots were drawn for to ascertain ownership. In drawing for his 1000 acres, it took 6 lots to make up his 1000 acres. Therefore, his land was scattered allover town. On February 15,1790 the Herendeens left Adams, Massachusetts. The group consisted of Nathan and his wife, his son Welcome, his sons-in-law Joshua Herrington and John McCumber, with their wives and children, some quite small. The Herendeens left a day after the Comstocks so they were able to use the same places and fires as they journeyed on. They came in the winter months because there were no roads or bridges after they left Whitestown (Utica). After many hardships they arrived at Canandaigua in the forepart of March in pretty good health and spirits. The men very shortly went to look for their land. Lot 21 was the nearest to Canandaigua. This would be in the southeast corner of the town near County Road 28 and Shortsville Road. On the 15th day of March 1790 they arrived at their new home with their families where they built a cabin. The four families lived together for the first year when Joshua Herrington and John McCumber left to go onto their own farms. In these first years these families endured many hardships but with patience and faithfulness they soon prospered with a comfortable living. In 1807 Nathan died after a short sickness. His wife continued to reside with his son Welcome until 1822 when she departed this life. Welcome married Elizabeth Durfee in 1794. It is interesting to note that Welcome worked 13 days for Nathan Aldrich for 2% bushels of wheat to sow. Nathan sowed some the previous fall. Welcome sowed his wheat that fall and never had to work again to have wheat to sow to feed his family. Welcome Herendeen was the first white child born in Farmington on September 17,1790. He was son of Pennsylvania Herendeen and Joshua Herrington, cousins, whose children later took the "Herendeen" spelling of their name.

The direct descendants of Nathan Herendeen are Elwyn, our former supervisor, and his brothers Donald, Clarence and Kenneth. The Arthur and Francis Herendeen families are cousins, dating back to James who built the cobblestone house on County Road #8 in 1832. This house, at 880 County Road #8 is located on one of Nathan Herendeen's original lots. It is presently occupied by Harold and Carolyn Herendeen; Harold is the son of Francis. James Herendeen was another son of Pennsylvania and Joshua Herrington. He would be a great, great grandfather of Harold. James was a year and a half old when the long trip was made in February and March of 1790.

There are many descendants of these early families, some still living in Farmington and the surrounding area. To my knowledge there are only two existing family names left in town of the original nine who arrived in March 1790. These would be the Aldriches and Herendeens. Allen Herendeen

48

LAPHAM Abraham Lapham was one of twelve men from Adams, Massachusetts who purchased land in 1789 from Phelps and Gorham. He came to the property in 1790 and in 1791 brought his wife (Esther Aldrich Lapham) and family to settle among the Friends in Farmington, New York. In 1795 they moved and built a new home about one mile southwest of Macedon where he planted the first orchard and before 1800, it is said that he built the first frame house (two story) in the township. This house was moved in later years and stood on the south side of Route 31 about one mile west of the village of Macedon until it was burned in the early nineteen seventies.

The Lapham family was known for their hospitality. Visitors were always welcome. The home of Esther and Abraham Lapham was known as a meeting place for the Friends Society before the first log cabin Meeting House was built in 1796. There were ten children in the Lapham family of whom Esther was the youngest daughter. She was born February 24, 1794 and died June 26,1862. Abraham Lapham died at Collins, New York on July 3,1836. His remains are interred in the North Farmington Friends Cemetery. The family of Benjamin and Sara (Dare) Hance freed their slaves and in 1804 moved from Calvert County, Maryland to the southern part of Farmington. The Hance family ancestors came from England and settled on a large farm in Calvert County, Maryland in 1659. This was soon after Lord Baltimore established the colony of Maryland. Thomas Claire Hance, their son, was born September 27, 1782. As a young man, he lived in Baltimore, Maryland from 1799 to 1802 or 1803. It was here that he joined the Society of Friends. He came with his parents in 1804 to property in the town of Farmington about where County Road #28 and Herendeen Road meet. In 1806, he brought from the old home in Maryland roots of carnation and rose and scions of apple, pear, and cherry for his father's orchard from which in later years many of the best orchards in Farmington, Palmyra and Macedon were supplied. He lived on the farm and taught school for several years. A short part of the teaching time was in the Friends' school. On December 4,1817, Thomas Claire Hance and Esther Lapham were the first couple to marry in the newly completed Farmington Meeting House which in later years became the Hicksite Meeting House. Today it is a storage barn situated a bit farther north on County Road #8 (Canandaigua Road) having been sold and moved from its original site in 1927. Thomas C. Hance established the first nursery in Macedon and engaged in the first mercantile business there. In June 1820, he received the first patent of its kind for a horse rake on wheels. The rake was tested on the John Lapham property on Mud Creek Flats. From the spring of 1825 to the fall of 1828, he and his family lived in Marion County, Ohio. In 1828, he returned to Macedon Center. He lived at this home until his death on April 18, 1888 at the age of 105 years, 6 months. Esther and Thomas Hance brought up a family of seven children. The names of Benjamin and Thomas Claire have been carried down to the 8th generation of the Hance family.

The 221 descendants of Abraham Hance, second son of Esther Lapham Hance and Thomas Claire Hance are scattered across the United States. However, the majority of them are living in New York State within a radius of about 25 miles from the site of the old Meeting House. In 1988 of the 7th, 8th, and 9th generation of descendants of Esther Aldrich Lapham and Abraham Lapham are members of the Farmington Friends Church congregation and reside within 2% miles fo the Meeting House. They are: Leola Popenhusen, Jean Popenhusen Parker, Glenn Popenhusen, Scott Parker, Jeffrey Parker, and Laurel Popenhusen.

Note: This account of the Lapham history in Farmington takes into account only one family line.

Leola Popenhusen

SMITH Jonathan Smith came to Farmington and settled here at the stock farm in 1790. The current address is 5437 Shortsville Road.

Porter Daniel Smith was born March 20,1851 in Farmington. He was the son of Daniel Porter and Lydia Brown Smith. He lived in Farmington until 1920 when he moved to Canandaigua. His wife, 3 daughters, and one son were killed when their carriage was struck by a Lehigh Valley railroad train at a crossing in Farmington on February 25, 1900. He married Elizabeth Rushmore Briggs in July 1910, who died May 12, 1924. they had two sons; Gardner Smith and Daniel Smith of Redland, California. There were six grandchildren. Mrs. Betty Blazey was related to and members of the Herendeen family are related to the Smith family. Mrs. Melvin Pierce

49

VI

Military Servicemen

Throughout its history, residents of the Town of Farmington have served their country during times of war and peace alike. Their service includes conflicts from the Revolutionary War to the present. Attempts have been made by our town historian and others to compile a complete roster of those residents Farmington who have served this country in World War I, World War II, the Korean Conflict and the Vietnam Era. virtue of the fact that persons registered for the draft by post office addresses rather than by the town resided in, it is impossibility to give a completely accurate listing of Farmington residents who have served their country. It Significant to note that whenever the nation has been involved in a major conflict, the young men and women Farmington have volunteered to serve and a grateful country has bestowed its accolades on those who served.

of By an is of

The lists that follow have been obtained from various historical records and from gravestones. It is regrettable that they cannot be complete but it is hoped that they might serve as a tribute to the memory of all of those who have served. It is planned that a veterans' memorial will be placed at the Farmington Town Park sometime during the Bicentennial Observance. In addition, veterans are being encouraged to voluntarily sign a Roll of Honor at the Town Hall this Bicentennial year. Their doing so will give a more complete picture of those who have served from Farmington. REVOLUTIONARY WAR VETERANS OF FARMINGTON

Isaac Hathaway, Private, Massachusetts; Died March 3, 1823. Buried in the Hathaway family cemetery.

Stephen Hayward, Sergeant, Massachusetts; Died September 19, 1839. Buried in Hathaway cemetery. Stephen Brayton, Public Service, Rhode Island; Died in Farmington. Buried in Cooper family cemetery now abandoned.

John Payne, Public Service, New York; Died August 3, 1815. Buried in Payne cemetery.

Oliver Powers, Private, Massachusetts; Died September 6, 1808 in Farmington. Joshua Stafford, Public Service, Rhode Island; Died October 3, 1809 in Farmington.

Asa Wilmarth, Lieutenant, Massachusetts; Died February 8, 1830 in Farmington. Ichabod Brown, Ensign, Rhode Island; Died 1829 in Farmington. Benjamin Nichols, Private, New York; Died October 10, 1849 in Farmington. Lawrence McLouth, Sergeant, Massachusetts.

Percy Antisdale WAR OF 1812

David Smith, Militia Captain. (Later first constable in town, lived on lot 60). CIVIL WAR

Infantry 126th Regiment, Company H. "" Orin J. Herendeen, Captain, Enlisted August 1862; taken prisoner at Harper's Ferry in 1862; exchanged, killed at battle of Gettysburg. Simon Anthony, Private, Enlisted August, 1862. Francis M. Aldrich, Enlisted August, 1862; deserted at Harper's Ferry. John L. Bullis, Enlisted August, 1862; taken commissioned captain of a colored company.

prisoner at Gettysburg; wounded; exchanged;

50

re-enlisted

1864;

James M. Carpenter, Corporal, Enlisted August, 1862; discharged with regiment. Morris Cahill, Enlisted August, 1862; deserted at Chicago. William H. Chilson, Sergeant, Enlisted August, 1862; wounded in battle of Wilderness; served in the Invalid Corps to close of war.

George Deets, Enlisted August, 1862; killed at Petersburg, Va., June 16, 1864. Hubbard S. Dickson, Enlisted August, 1862; lost a leg in the battle of Gettysburg; discharged 1865. John Gorman, Enlisted August, 1862; taken prisoner at the battle of Reams' Station; died at Andersonville, Ga.

Peter G. Hopkins, Enlisted August, 1862. Patrick Kanaly, Enlisted August, 1862. Smith B. Ketchum, Enlisted August, 1862; taken prisoner at Harper's Ferry; discharged at Chicago for disability. Thomas W. Lathrop, Enlisted August, 1862. John McCray, Enlisted August 1862; discharged at close of war. Sanford B. Mead, Enlisted August, 1862; discharged with regiment. George Nicholson, Enlisted August, 1862; killed in the battle of Gettysburg. Stephen H. Osburn, Enlisted August, 1862; killed in entrenchments near Petersburg in the fall of 1864, age 26. M.A. Payne, Enlisted August, 1862; deserted and went to Canada. David Phipps, Enlisted August, 1862; lost an arm in the battle of Gettysburg; discharged. Charles L. Shepard, Enlisted August, 1862; discharged at close of war.

David A. Turner, Enlisted August, 1862; served through the war; discharged. James A. Young, Enlisted August, 1862; discharged with regiment. Charles D. Stephens, Enlisted August, 1862; wounded in the battle of the Wilderness; lost a leg; discharged. James Graham, Enlisted January 29, 1864. 28th Regiment, Company E ..

James McMynn, Enlisted April 1861; re-enlisted August, 1863; in 1st N.Y. Calvalry; died in service. Charles F. Beddlecome, Enlisted April, 1861; discharged on account of sickness; drafted in 1863.

James Taylor, Enlisted April, 1861; killed in battle in Virginia. Edward Payne, Enlisted 1861; discharged at expiration of term. Isaac S. Wilson, Enlisted April, 1861; served under General Patterson in Virginia; accidentally wounded; discharged. 18th Regiment, Companies Hand G .. Charles Bryant, Enlisted April, 1861; in Co. H; served his time in the Potomac army; discharged. George Redfield, Enlisted April 16, 1861; in Co. G; discharged at expiration of term. Willis E. Putnam, Enlisted April 18, 1861; in Co. G; served his time; discharged.

51

23rd Regiment ..

Thomas Bond, Enlisted April, 1861; discharged on account of sickness, February 1863; drafted August, 1863; served till war closed.

John Cramer, Enlisted April, 1861; served his term; discharged. Michael J. Ebert, Enlisted August, 1862; wounded in the battle of Chancellorsville; taken prisoner; paroled; discharged with the regiment. Millard J. Ransom, Enlisted August, 1862. George Johnson, Enlisted August, 1862. 146th Regiment ..

Cassius Chilson, Enlisted January 5, 1864; served to end of war; discharged. George W. Crocker, Enlisted January 5, 1864; taken prisoner at battle of Wilderness; died at Andersonville, Ga. 148th Regiment ..

Lyman Aldrich, Enlisted January 27, 1864; did not enter service. Orlin C. Power, Enlisted January 23, 1864; discharged at close of war. 198th Regiment .. David H. Myers, Enlisted September 21, 1864. William Lent, Enlisted September 21, 1864. 85th Regiment .. William H. Dillon, Enlisted January, 1862; wounded in battle of Williamsburg; discharged; re-enlisted February 10, 1864, at Canandaigua, in 146th Regiment; taken prisoner at battle of Wilderness; died at Andersonville, Ga. 160th Regiment .. D. Megham, Enlisted in August, 1862. 111 th Regiment ..

George P. McCumber, Enlisted August, 1864; served till close of war, and was discharged with the regiment. The following are known to have enlisted in this regiment, in the year 1864, but full roster cannot be given:

William Aldrich, Ambrose Young, Jacob Swartz, Asa Mason, James Evans, Samuel Lumbard, and Charles H. William 50th Engineers .. John Whalon, Enlisted January 19, 1864.

O.C. Millett, Enlisted January 13, 1864; served to close of war; discharged.

Joseph Anderson, Enlisted January 5, 1864; discharged. CAVALRY

8th Regiment .. Henry Jeffrey, Enlisted November 1861; died in Columbia Hospital, D.C., March, 1862, of typhoid fever. Patrick Hayes, Enlisted November, 1861; wounded in battle of Gettysburg; promoted to sergeant; taken prisoner to Richmond, September 16, 1864; paroled; discharged December 1864; re-enlisted March, 1865.

52

Oscar B. Mitchell, Enlisted November, 1861; died in service. John Gallagher, Enlisted November, 1861. ARTILLERY 16th Regiment ..

Edward J. Cotton, Enlisted January 5, 1864; discharged at close of war. James B. Estes, Enlisted January 5, 1864; died at Williamsburg, Va. George W. Gardner, Enlisted January 5, 1864; deserted at Elmira. Alonzo Johnson, Enlisted January 5, 1864; deserted at Elmira; was re-taken, 1865; served to close of war. Abbott Master, Enlisted January 5, 1864. John Neustaumer, Enlisted January 5, 1864. Lyman Odell, Enlisted January 5, 1864. Henry C. Stephens, Enlisted January 5, 1864; died at Elmira, in service. Alvire Speaker, Enlisted January 5, 1864. William Stevenson, Enlisted January 5, 1864. Harris Shaffer, Enlisted January 5, 1864. Charles Williams, Enlisted January 5, 1864; deserted at Elmire, and went to Canada.

Henry Whipple, Enlisted January 5, 1864; served through the war. George Walker, Enlisted January 19, 1864; discharged with regiment. Frederick Gearing, Enlisted December 11, 1863. David H. Bliss, Enlisted December 11, 1863. 9th Regiment ..

Cornelius Scott, Enlisted December 16, 1864; died in the service. Sylvester B. Forbes, served in Co. E between 1828-1888.

4th Regiment .. T.G. Heton, Enlisted February 26, 1864; at Canandaigua. David Lake, Enlisted December, 1861; discharged for disability at Fort Carroll, in spring of 1862; drafted in Wayne 1865. County, in 1863; discharged from hospital July, Bemis Battery .• Wm. Gorman, Enlisted September, 1862; discharged at end of war. went home on furlough from New Orleans and forgot to return. Raynolds Knowles, Enlisted September, 1862, sergeant; account of sickness, in July, 1863, at New Orleans; re-enlisted William Ramish, Enlisted September, 1862; discharged on of war. close at January 26, 1864, in 9th Heavy Artillery; discharged went on Red River expedition under General Banks, and has not been heard Harry Ensign, Enlisted September, 1862; from since .:

53

16th Rifles --

Alexander M. Hudson, Enlisted August, 1862. There were thirty-three (33) enlisted from various places, mostly Pennsylvania, for one year, September, 1864, who received one thousand dollars bounty. The record shows fifteen substitutes, who enlisted October, 1864, mostly for three years, who also received from the county one thousand dollars bounty. There were also twenty-four (24) enlisted April 3, 1864, for six hundred dollars bounty, paid by the county. James S. Carson, Co. B; 85th NY Infantry Volunteers; captured at Plymouth, N.C., April 20, 1864; escaped from Florence Prison, February 5, 1865. John R. Crandall, Union Soldier; 1862-1865. Harvey Padelford, Capt. Co. E; 28th Regiment; N.Y. Infantry Volunteers. Adelbert L. Jackson, Co. D; 151 Regiment; N.Y. Infantry Volunteers; 1862-1865. SPANISH AMERICAN WAR

Charles Francis Walker, 1875-1961; Ohio Cavalry Troop A, Pvt. Charles Ebert, 1870-1959; N.Y. Co. E, 10th Regiment, Infantry, Corporal. WORLD WAR I

Roy C. Chappell, 1897-1966; NY, Pvt., Btry. D. 11 Field Artillery Otis Colledge, 1893-1960; NY, Pfc. 502 SVC BN ENGR Corps. William F. Frank, 1896-1962; NY, Corporal, Provost Guard Co. Lewis E. Holtz, 1890-1962; NY, Pfc. Base Hospital. George F. Holtz, 1893-1939; NY, Pvt., 6 Regiment Marines HEF. Lester J. McMillan, 1892-1949; NY, Pfc. 310CD & Fire Co. QMC. Harvey McMillan, 1888-1955; NY, Sergeant, Co. L 348 Infantry 87th Division. Herman Edward Betz, entered service June 2, 1917; MM 2/c USNRF U.S. Naval Air Station, Hampton Rds., Va. Edward R. Cushing, entered service September 27, 1917; Sergeant, U.S. Army, Field Artillery Battery E-307 F.A. Nathan L. Aldrich, entered service September 8,1917; Corporal, U.S. Army, Field Artillery Hgqrs. Co., 309 T.A., Awarded the citation of Silver Star for gallantry in action in France. Herman J. Romeiser, entered service August 26, 1918; Pvt., U.S. Army, Infantry, Co. G 329th Infantry, 83rd Division Leslie D. Long, entered service July 5, 1917; Coxswain U.S. Navy, 5 round trips from U.S. to France with munitions and supplies.

54

OTHERS WHO HAVE SERVED Militia Enlistment List - New York State Adjutant General's Office Enrollment of persons liable to service in the Militia -1917

Leo James Brophy, U.S. Marine Corps, January 18th, 1912 - January 7, 1916; Pvt. Walter Thomas Exton, Boys Life Brigade, Pvt. - no known dates.

James Leander Ellis, Navy, Seaman, served 1914-1915 Clarence Chester Hill, 28th Infantry Regiment of Minnesota, Pvt., December 12, 1908 - December 11, 1911 Edward McCafferty, U.S. Infantry, Pvt., May 17, 1898 - July 29, 1898 William Francis Prendza, 88 Co. Artillery, August 5, 1905 - September 6, 1906 George Edward Pappert, St. George's Cadet Call, 1st. Sergeant, served 1894 - 1899 John William Smith, Battery F 3rd Free Artillery, July 10, 1907 - June 10, 1910 John A. Van Vliet, Infantry, Pvt., July 1898 - December 1898 George S. Allen, M.D., Captain MC 329 Infantry, USA, 1873 - 1957

Nathan Leland Aldrich - Corporal U.S. Army.

55

VII

History of the Town of Farmington by School District

The following section was taken from the Ontario County History of 1876. Many references will be given to that date. DISTRICT #1 District #1 was in the southeast area of the town. The building was located at the intersection of County Road #28 and Shortsville Road. It is now a private residence

Nathan Herendeen and others built their cabins and settled on lot 21 of what is now District #1. To him is ascribed the raising of the first barn in the town. The period is placed at 1794. Seventeen years passed away, and in 1807 Herendeen died and was buried upon the land his labor cleared and rendered of service to his family. (The remains of Herendeen and his wife were later interred at South Farmington.) Joshua Herrington was a dweller upon the farm on lot 27, now owned by N. Redfield (1876). Here he lived 60 years, and in 1851, like a shock of corn fully ripe, was cut down at the age of 90 years, leaving behind a name for sobriety and honesty. Welcome Herendeen and his father, Nathan, occupied the homestead on lot 21 until the death of the latter on September 17, 1807. The mother continued to reside with Welcome until her decease in 1822. Welcome married Elizabeth Durfee of Palmyra in 1794. Of five children, Edward, the oldest, was born on February 10, 1795, grew up, married Harriet Cudworth of Bristol and raised a family of 11 children.

Abraham Lapham was an occupant of land in District #1 as early as 1790; his descendants are still found as residents of the town. In the spring of 1790, John Payne transferred himself from Massachusetts to Farmington and located on lot 46. A large family was raised, one of whom, at the age of 72, is a present citizen of Manchester (1876). The death of Mr. Payne occurred at the farm in February, 1821. Schools, once large, have become reduced to a small group; lands once tilled by the children of the settler and trades once practiced by them, are gradually passing to alien hands, who, growing up, infuse new elements into our heterogeneous society. The subject is one of more than ordinary interest and presents a new phase of our still primitive and growing condition. It suggests the gradual extinction, not by war nor pestilence, of families whose influence in the past has been productive of great benefit to the community wherever they were found. Local attraction gave way at times to necessity, and we find the pioneers, having dwelt a few years in one place, shifting to another, or merging with the stream of western migration, sweeping out to the Holland purchase and beyond. John McCumber moved in 1791 from lot 21 to near the present residence of W.W. Herendeen (1876) and later, moved to Ohio, where he died. Jonathan Reed, son-in-law of Nathan Herendeen, moved upon the farm at present (1876) owned by P. Trenfield soon after the commencement of settlement, and was the pioneer blacksmith. Many the needed repair; many the tool set right; many the gathered group at his shop during stormy days; and much the work done during that period when the hammer and anvil were the chief agencies in a manufacture of sickle and pruning-hook, hoe and plow. He ceased to be known as a resident after 1816. Another son-in-law, Samuel Mason, settled upon and cleared up land where Charles Jeffrey now lives (1876). His trade was that of a cabinet maker; for several years he engaged in the construction of the ample and durable furniture in vogue at that time. John Dillon, making a choice of location in this neighborhood, obtained Lot No.1 for his home. He had previously been engaged in farming in Dutchess County, and, with the experience there gained, applied himself to his occupation successfully. To the west of him, on Lot 2, was his neighbor, Adam Nichols. Here, in a period not remote when compared with European civilization, but old when traced back in changes of customs and society gone forevermore, these farmers carried on their farm work and, knowing no better way, dropped their corn by hand and covered with the hoe; sowed their wheat and harrowed it in; mowed the regular swath and hand-raked the windrow; gathered the brown grain with the sickle, and kept time to the rapid flail-stroke on the threshing floor. As the Indian was distinctive in his life and pursuits, so was the early farmer. Time and patience accomplished in those days what the improved machinery of the present has made a pastime (1876). On Lot 30, the primitive settler was Joseph Wells, who prior to 1795 had marked the locality for his own, and where the toil of years and the enjoyments of rest and observation made up the round of life. Here for a long period lived his son Joseph, and just east of the tract dwells his grandson Joseph Wells (1876). Joseph Smith and James D. Fish soon after 1790 started an ashery near the Friends' south meeting-house, and therein manufactured pearlash, an article prominent at the time as finding ready sale and returned somewhat of profit to those engaged. The building was a frame structure, and, as such, was known as the first of its class in the town. It was taken in charge by Ahab Harrington in 1800, and was carried on by him for a number of years. A tannery was built in 1800 by Thomas Herendeen, a son of Nathan Herendeen. He conducted the business about 15 years, was succeeded by Peter C. Brown, and by him the interest was continued until about 1826. Its site was near the late residence of Allen Payne. The history of the district would be incomplete without a reference to its early school. Who were the teachers had - none passed to oblivion living know. Little they reckoned then of the future, and as little the present has cared for them. The house is known to have stood on lot 21, on the southwest corner of the roads. The instructions of the well­ known Elam Crane were made available to the residents of this neighborhood during 1806, a year made remarkable in many localities from the occurrence of the "dark day" or great eclipse -- an event fraught with terror, wonder,

56

superstition, and gloom. Fortunately, the children of this district had in the person of their instructor a practical, educated man, as is evidenced - aside from other sources of knowledge - by his taking the entire school out to the road, and, as the singular and deepening gloom spread, and the forest in utter quiet put on a weird, unearthly aspect, directed their attention to the dark body stealing slowly across the disk of the sun, and taught a lesson so impressive that it never became effaced. Of all that school, master and pupils at the writing of this history in 1876, were gone except Daniel Arnold, who, then a lad of five years, and an aged resident of the District #9 in 1876, recalled this event from early childhood. DISTRICT #2 District No.2 was located at the intersection old Route 96 and County Road #8. Adam Nichols, Joseph Smith and Jacob Smith were among the early settlers. There is still a school house located here which is now a private residence. DISTRICT #3 District No.3 building was on Farmington-Canandaigua Townline Road and just east of State Route 332. This was a [oint district with Canandaigua Township. Arthur Power was one of the early residents of this district. DISTRICT #4

District #4 was in the hamlet of Mertensia on Boughton Hill Road at New Michigan Road. The school building is located at 6195 County Rd. #41 and is now a private residence. District #4 is a long strip of land bordering upon Victor, and traversed along its lower west boundary by Mud Creek. Upon this stream, in this locality, Ananias McMillan erected the first mill in the town. It was built for Jacob Smith in 1793, and was a small framed concern used for custom grinding. It stood just below the road, east of Jared Smith's residence (1876). The settlers came hither from considerable distances to obtain a pulverization of their grain better than their home mills could accomplish. Two years after the mill was in operation, a saw-mill was put up on the opposite side of the creek (1795). The grist-mill was run until 1839, and the saw-mill until 1841. It was often seen that the location of a mill was the origin of a village. A well-chosen mill site was a promising place for settlement. The mills ground slowly, and time hung upon the farmer's hands. Could repairs be made or a social glass be enjoyed it was found less irksome, and hence the blacksmith shop and the distillery were not infrequently found in close proximity to the mills. It sometimes transpired that the miller, having set the grist to running, could adjourn to the blacksmith shop and shoe the customers' horses. This was done by Mr. Smith, who was thus enabled to do two things of profit at one and the same time. Jared Smith said that the boards of the house of which he was a resident, and which was built in 1799, were nailed on with wrought nails of his father's manufacture. Upon the lot Mr; and Mrs. Smith lived many years, he dying in 1836, aged eighty-four years, and she some years later, having reached the same age. Joseph Smith, brother of Jacob, and partner in ownership of the mill, came in from Massachusetts about 1791, and located on the east side of the creek, where R.P. Smith lived in 1876. He was an early surveyor, and found much to do in the exercise of his calling. New roads were being laid out, and lines had to be run between the lands of settlers, older lines found and later ones established. Jephtha Dillingham was the predecessor of G. Adams upon lot 12. He raised a large family, and died upon the farm he had won by labor from the forest. Richard Thomas came in on the day of the "great eclipse", in 1806, and settled upon No. 12. David Smith, who is remembered as Farmington's first constable, lived several years upon lot 60. He became a militia captain during the War of 1812, and later held office as Justice of the Peace for several terms. On August 1,1842, while engaged in showing a hired hand how to mow, he stepped unguardedly within reach of the swing of the scythe. The arteries of his leg were severed, and within a short time he bled to death. NORTH OF DISTRICTS #4 AND #6

North of Districts #4 and #6, upon lot 62, lived Jeremiah Brown, son of one of the original proprieters of the town. His father was located on the ridge in Wayne County, and was remembered as one of the prominent members of the Masonic order of that day. Gideon Grinnell was a pioneer of lot 84, where he reared a family and passed his days. Peter, son of Stephen Smith, an original purchaser, lived on No. 86, where Germond Ketcham lived in 1876. Mr. Smith finally moved to Michigan, where he died. A man named Pratt seems to have come in early, built himself a cabin upon the lot held at one time by G. Loomis and afterward gone west. On the farm west of the school-house lived one Harris, of whom nothing is known. "It is constantly brought to mind, in locating and naming these original settlers of Farmington, what little there Is of variety attached to their existence. Were we back to the days when De Liancourt traversed these then wilds and noted the surroundings and life-labors, we could see the arrival of the pioneer parties, and observe the crashing down of the old trees under the vigorous axe-strokes and the logs rolled up in position to form the cabins; then the underbursh being cut out, the trees girdled, and the wheat scattered in the rich soil, we follow them on their return to their homes. Entered upon their routine of farm-work, we see new fields added to the older, additions made to house and barn, families 57

District #5 - Florence Bowerman, Teacher.

District #12 - Mark Mathewson, Teacher.

58

increasing in numbers, and gradually a look of old and established occupation taking place of former newness. The minutiae, the society, the customs of the time, were changed as wealth and improvements advanced. The children were rude of dress and robust in health; the fare was simple, and as a result, we find the lives of these pioneer children prolonged beyond the average of the race. Uneventful, but not less valuable, has been the life of the working class of early settler." DISTRICT #5 District #5 school was located on Loomis Road at its former intersection with Weigert Road. Early settlers were Gideon Grinnell, Germond Ketcham, and a Mr. Pratt. None of these names seem to have endured there.

JOINT DISTRICT #6 The Brownsville district owes its name to Dr. David Brown, an original purchaser and pioneer settler upon Lot 109. David Brown and his son Stephen built a log distillery at an early day, and connected it with an ashery. These were continued for quite a number of years. Stephen Brown and Elias Dennis erected a building, put into it a carding machine, and after a time became proprieters of a woolen-mill, which was a business. Smith was succeeded by Paul S. Richardson, who in time was followed by Albert Nye, during whose career as a storekeeper the building was destroyed by fire. Abner and Stephen Brown were early storekeepers, and the latter was also connected with the erection and conduct of a saw-mill. The history of tanning, as known to the pioneers, was full of novelty, and the skins of deer, bear, and wolf were often found with those of sheep and cattle. A tannery was built about 1820 by Peter Clyne, and for thirty years he was known as its manager, and did a good and paying business. Otis Brown was the pioneer blacksmith. Beginning in 1814, he continued his labors at the forge for twenty-two years, and truly he may have been noted as the village blacksmith, if time of service was the gauge of merit. The manufacture of hats in various parts of Ontario seems from the earliest date, to have been a feature of the situation, and in Brownsville this industry was inaugurated by Joseph Jones, who in time was succeeded by Nathaniel Lampson. This hatter, entering upon the business of making and selling these goods in 1824, continued at it for ten to twelve years. No business of note, aside from the saw-mill and cider-mill of John Grinnell was carried on at the place in 1876. Trade centers at common points, and the once promising hamlet becomes the temporary resort, while facilities of travel and demands of business call all classes to the villages. The perusal of town history exhibits the mill, the shop, the still, and the tannery, erected at convenient and scattered points, and tradesmen practicing their calling within their homes; but these rude structures fall into disuse and decay. The streams fail from evaporation of their sources, and the various trades, moving to the villages, erect their shops and stores, their mills and manufactories, and dividing labor, approach perfection in their several callings. Otis Comstock was a pioneer on the farm now owned by Brice Bowerman, Sr., once owned by John A. Gillis. Otis was the son of Nathan, of whom we have spoken, and accompanied his father from the east in 1789, and remaining during the winter, was the first actual resident of the town. There is no mention of the greeting with the relatives as they arrived in the spring; but we may imagine the pleasure with which this temporary hermit saw their approach. He was long a resident of the town; its first road commissioner, held various offices, and had a family of seven children, of whom Augustus was the oldest, born March 25, 1793, and Zeno, the next oldest, born in 1794. William Smith, son of Stephen Smith, an original purchaser, was the builder and occupant of the stone house which was once the property of J.G. Robbins. David Gillis was a pioneer in the Brownsville neighborhood. Zurial Brown, a carpenter by trade, and a son of Jeremiah Brown, one of the town proprietors, owned a farm in this district. On the occasion of building the house of Peter Smith (owned by Germond Ketcham in 1876), Mr. Brown was enjoined to be very particular in the performance of his work, and as an inducement was offered a bonus of five dollars if, in driving his nails, he would not split any clapboards. He was Justice of the Peace for many years, and died upon the farm. Mechanics, not able to find sufficient employment in the east, emigrated to Ontario in hopes of bettering their condition, and united with their trade employment on a farm. Not infrequently the carpenter, the mason, the tailor, and others, entirely ignored their trade, excepting so far as related to their own farm and household, and gave their attention during life to agriculture. Such was the case with many in Farmington, and among them was Nicholas Brown, a carpenter, who located on the north part of lot 131. Hezekiah Lippett, an early teacher, was a settler on the same lot. Mr. Lippett opened a school in the house of David Brown, carried it on for several years during the winter seasons, and is remembered as a good teacher. Of his former pupils few survived in 1876; among them was Lorenzo Hathaway, a resident in Farmington, who in 1876 was sixty-eight years of age. The rude building, the plan teacher, the elementary studies are described in later years, but the scholarship of that period had many excellencies. Surveys were accurate, handwriting was often superior in legibility to that of the present, and it is questionable whether the instruction in many districts of Ontario today is even equal to that of the early time.

59

DISTRICT #6 The school was located at 1236 Hook Road just north of Route 96. There is still a school building here, which is now a private residence.

District #6 lies west of #13, and contains the hamlet of West Farmington (Hathaway's Corners). Hither came Isaac Hathaway, from Adams, Massachusetts, and located at what has since been known as Hathaway's Corners. He was a companion to Comstock on the journey west in 1790, and conveyed his family, consisting of a wife and two children, through the wilderness upon an ox-sled. "Think of this, you who ride in the palace-car luxuriously and swiftly over the New York Central, and bestow a grateful thought upon the memories of those whose labors laid the foundation for present conveniences." (1876 History of Ontario County). It is said that the framed barn built by Ananias McMillan for Mr. Hathaway in 1793 was the first structure of the kind in Farmington. Otis Comstock and Huldah Freeman were joined in the holy bands of wedlock in 1792, by Dr. Atwater of Canandaigua, at the dwelling of Isaac Hathaway. This wedding was the first in the town. As evidence of dernier resorts of the pioneer, it is stated that Mr. Hathaway carried potatoes on his back from Whitestown, and planted them. Impelled by hunger, he dug them up, cut out and planted the eyes and ate the remai nder. Asa Wilmarth lived near the "Corners", and was one of the early justices. He built an ashery and ran it for several years, and so utilized the ashes from the log heaps burned by the settlers in their work of clearing up their lands. Levi Smith, one of the pioneers of the town, purchased a farm of about two hundred acres from Nathan Aldrich, and made payment by giving the labor of a day for an acre of land, as had been mutually agreed. The farm thus won by days' labor became the heritage of his son, PA Smith. The farm now owned by John Berry (1876), and formerly designated as the "Melvin Power Farm", and located near Farmington Station, was originally the location of Arthur Power, by whom its fields were cleared and fitted for cultivation. Moses Power, Sr., settled in 1798 upon a farm of two hundred and fifty acres owned by E. Rushmore in 1876. Abiather Power made a temporary settlement upon the farm of Charles Goodrich (1876), but later located at Hathaway's Corners, on the farm later the property of his son, Waterman Power. Robert Power settled near the Corners; he was reputed to have been an excellent carpenter and joiner, and the workman employed upon the woodwork of Yale College buildings. Essick Jesse, and Willis Aldrich were former farmers in this district, being located near the school-house. Uriah, son of Willis is on the old homestead, and Clarkson, a son of Essick, is yet a resident of the town (1876). Far back, and close upon the primitive settlement of the town, a log school-house had an existence in this district, and Lydia Smith was of those who taught in it. The fields upon the farm of Frederick Woodworth were cleared, as early as 1804, by Samuel Cooper, and the large framed house where N.C. Herendeen lived in 1876 was built and for many years occupied by Gideon Payne. DISTRICT #7 The school was located on Martz Road near County Road #8, now the residence of Franklin & Dorothy Down (1988).

District #7 had for its pioneer settler one of the best men known to the early settlement of this region - Dr. Stephen Aldrich. He was the first physician in town, and settled on the farm at present the property of Robert Payne. It was owned in 1876 by W.P. Markham. As the missionaries in the cause of religion, so the doctor, as a good Samaritan, made many a long and tedious journey to bring hope and comfort to the sick settler or the fever-stricken family. No night so cold, dark, and stormy but that Dr. Aldrich would respond to the call of distress, and travel miles through the woods in snow or mud to the log cabin. He knew no difference in circumstances, and was alike the friend of both rich and poor. At the bedside his duties did not end with the prescription, but his welcome presence was given till danger was past or all was over, and kindly cheering word gave needed encouragement. Generous and active, he made but little money in his practice, yet acquired considerable property and at his death was missed and mourned by many. His farm was subsequently owned by Joseph Sheldon. The name of Gideon Herendeen is associated with large land ownership and former residence in this district, where he passed his life. His son, G.F. Herendeen, then owned and resided on the old place. Elisha Gardner was early on the farm owned by hs son, S.P. Gardner in 1876, who was then far advanced in years. Turner Aldrich was a pioneer on lot 114, and as early as 1797 was elected to hold one of the town offices. In 1795, Ebenezer Horton settled on lot 89, and attracted attention by claiming control of the weather. He was accustomed to dress in costume, part of which consisted of a scarlet coat. He claimed that he could, by his incantation, "make weather" of any kind desired. The older settlers told of his driving furiously to get ahead of some passing storm.

60

This district was not without its manufacturers in the early day. Talcott and Batty built an ashery near the site of the school house in the year 1817, but the supply of ashes failed after a few years and the business was discontinued. In 1815, Reuben Hayt put up a small tannery, worked at the business of tanning about four years, and did not make it a success. A tavern was kept at the corners on lot 113 in the early days of John Sheffield. This building is now located on the Pauly property at 382 County Rd. #8 (1988). Isaac and Aldrich Calvin were engaged in the manufacture of hats in this locality. Save a cobbler's shop in 1876, the place had known very little business for many years. Not far from school­ house #7 a blacksmith named Augustus Bingham had a shop many years since, but finally removed to New Salem. The district is now strictly agricultural, and from the convenience of roads was favorable to attendance at the school. The crossroads was once known as Poverty Huddle. DISTRICT #8 The school was located on Sheldon Road near Wiborn Road.

The settlement of District #8 was deferred until the mid 1800's, the lands being to a great extent low and swampy. Roads from the east intersect a single road (Sheldon Road) running from New Salem mainly southward, and, branching on Lot 78, eastward and to the south. Upon this road is located the school-house (Orbaker's residence), and at the forks was a black-smith shop. The widow Eads was an inhabitant upon the land of A. Aldrich (now V. Aldrich, 1988). Upon the same lot lived Stephen Ackley, who had a wagon shop afterwards upon No. 102. The enterprise of James Hoag, a settler from New Jersey, in about 1802, near the forks of the road, on No. 78, deserves mention. At the east his business had been that of shoe and harness-making, and, arriving here, a small shop was built, and the trade continued with success. The brief chain of occupation upon No. 69 gives Calvin Whipple as the pioneer. He died, and his son became the owner, and A.G. Markham was the owner in 1876. JOINT DISTRICT #8 South of #6 is joint district #8, whose former residents are numbered in the names of Levi Smith, Arthur Power, and Wlliam Daily. An early marriage in the town was that of Mr. Smith to a daughter of Stephen Hayward, who was his neighbor over the way. The school was on the town line.

DISTRICT #9 The school building was on County Road #28 at Kyte Road.

District #9 is traversed by Black Brook and its tributaries, suggesting pioneer efforts in the line of saw and grist-mills. Nor are we mistaken, for Job Howland, locating in 1790 on lot 50, built upon the stream a saw-mill at a very early period. Howland lived upon this place, which he partially cleared up, for twenty-two years, and dying, the land was divided so that one son, Benjamin, took the homestead, and another son, George, received the east half, which was still occupied by his widow in 1876.

61

District #18 - Hattie Fish Teacher Back Row:

Hattie Fish (1), Nellie Howland, Margaret Mahoney, Morris Mahoney, John Hosey, Patsy Corran, George Eisenberg (or Chilson), Will Hosey.

Middle:

Libbie Herendeen, Evelyn Sheldon, __ , Jimmie Howland, __ Curan, __ Powers, Allie Sheldon, __ Chilson, Mabel Herendeen. __ Powers, Mamie Howland, __ Chilson, Alice Sheldon, Clarence Aldrich, __ , __.

Front Row:

� '. ., \...,�.� District #18 Back Row: Middle: Front Row:

Will Hosey, George Eisenberg or Chilson, Patsy Curran, John Hosey, Morris Mahaney ' Margaret Mahaney, Nelie Howland, Hattie Fish Stevenson (1). Ray Chilson, Allie Sheldon, Mabel Herendeen, John Curran, Jimmie Howland, Maggie Powers, Libble Herendeen, Evelyn Sheldon. Alice Sheldon, Mamie Howland, Eddie Powers, Corporal Chilson, Clarence Aldrich, __

62

, __.

The presence of apple trees of large size, in numbers, and bearing abundantly, was a stimulus to the setting out of trees. The providence of some pioneers was manifest in their bringing with them from their distant homes appleseeds, and planting them as their first investment in the soil. The labor was well rewarded, and later settlers, and those not so enterprising, were glad to obtain fruit, and in time became the owners of orchards themselves. Where Joseph M. Browning lived in 1876, the first white settler was Major Smith, who had a good orchard in 1800, and furnished apples to newcomers. In 1803 he sold to Benjamin Hance, from Maryland. Hance brought with him four negro slaves, and afterwards purchased another. The laws of the State allowed slavery, and the slaves were held as such for a number of years. A.C. Brown was living on the farm in 1876 whose original proprietor was William Dillon, of Dutchess County. Dillon made a sale, in 1808, to March Aldrich, and moved to Chapinville. Pardon Arnold came out from Massachusetts in 1800, during the winter, and took up his abode in a log house in the same place where Martin Aldrich lived in 1876. Daniel, son of Pardon Arnold was still a resident of the district in 1876 at the age of 75. In connection with Pardon Arnold is told the story of the last wolf-hunt in town. It is well known that these animals were very troublesome to the settlers, and a fierce war was waged upon them by Indian and white, and their numbers reduced to occasional stragglers. About the year 1813 one of these committed many depredations among the sheep in the eastern part of the town. A party set out during a winter's day, and tracked the wolf to a swamp, where he was surrounded. Pardon Arnold fired the shot which killed him, and the head being taken to Nathan Pierce, Sr., the town supervisior, a bounty of ten dollars was -- that received, being the sum then offered by the town as an inducement to hunt the "varmints". In the year 1801 Jonathan Archer bought fifty acres of lot No. 69, and moved upon it. Eight years later he sold to a Jerseyman, named John Webster. The land occcupied by Stephen J. Smith in 1876 was settled by his grandfather, George Smith, in 1802; and were W.H. Gatchel lived in 1876, Abez Aldrich was an inhabitant about 1801. DISTRICT #10 District #10 was on the east side of the town. Present day residents locate the building at the intersection of Yellow Mills Road and Stafford Street. The record of early settlers in District No. 10 is brief as its area is limited. Peter Pratt was on lot 95 (the property of John Cover in 1876). In the north part of the same lot was Lawrence McLouth, who was known as a pedagogue of the olden time for many years; not was his information confined to a pouring in and drawing out of mental pabulum, but the physical was duly considered, and order was his first law. He had served in the war of the Revolution and held the rank of sergeant. The old soldier and school-master passed away upon the farm which had received the labor of many a day, and the place descended to his grandson, A. McLouth. Perez Antisdale was also a soldier of the War for Independence, and came west with those feelings of patriotism and courage which have been handed down to the citizens of this day, and won undying fame on the battle-field, and preserved what he labored to win. Antisdale lived on lot 74, the possession of D. Rush in 1876, and died there. On no. 97 an early resident was Samuel Rush. Benjamin Peters lived upon no. 72, where T.J. McLouth resided in 1876, as early as 1790 or 1791, and as road master, was one of the first officers in Farmington. Peter McLouth located in 1800 on no. 49, where Mrs. Ostrander occupied in 1876. His sons, Lonson and Marshall were yet residents of the town in 1876; the age of the older was seventy-six years.

DISTRICT #11 District #11 building was on County Road #28 north of its intersection with Fox Road. District #11 was settled by Moses Power, in 1798. HeIlved on lot 100, and died at the advanced age of ninety-five years. About 1805, Issac Price lived upon no. 117. Simpson Harvey and his brother Benjamin settled on no. 122 at an early day. This district, in comparison with others of the town, was late in settlement. DISTRICT #12 Was located in the hamlet of the "Hook" on Hook Road.

District #12, likewise known as New Salem (Pumpkin Hook), is notable as the place of Farmington's primary settlement, by Nathan Comstock and his sons Otis and Darius, in 1789. His was the first white man's cabin in the town. Besides those mentioned, four other sons came west with Mr. Comstock; namely, Nathan, Jr., Jared, Joseph, and John. Jared settled back in the field, and built the house owned in 1876 by A. Barnes on lot 128. He moved to Lockport about 1825, and afterwards to Michigan, where he died in 1844. Joseph lived at the homestead till the death of his father, In 1816, and likewise moved to Lockport, where he died, in 1821. In 1804 Nathan Comstock drew timber to Smith's mill (in Mertensia) for the construction of the Friend's meeting-house which burned in 1875. His son Nathan was a pioneer at Lockport, where, after a residence of many years, he died in 1830. Darius went first to Lockport, and then to Michigan, where he became the owner of land upon which a part of Adrian City was laid off. His death occurred there in 1845. Otis, spoken of in the history of Brownsville, died in this town. Isaac Hathaway, Jr., the son of the pioneer Isaac, located on lot 135, where his son Lorenzo still lived in 1876 at the age of sixty-eight, in good health, sound memory, and well versed in the events of the former days. It was remembered that his father was engaged in cutting and piling brush upon lot 135 at the date of the great eclipse, which supplies us with the year 1806. Work had begun upon lot 136 in 1808 by Otis Hathaway, brother of Isaac, Jr. Otis Hathaway was the founder of New Salem village, and erected therein the first store buildings. Hugh Pound was a former owner of lots 129 and 130. S. Pattison was the first proprietor of lot 134. He built a saw mill and a grist-mill upon the creek in 1813. Both are gone now. Lot 138 was first settled in its northern portion by a surveyor from Adams, Massachusetts, by the name of Isaac Lapham. A Marylander named James Brooks came to 63

Farmington, and settled on lot 127, where William Wood lived in 1876. Leola Popenhusen and her son Glen and his wife Barbara now reside on the property at 344 Sheldon Road. Slavery was then in force in this state, and Mr. Brooks brought two chattels west with him. One of these slaves was a girl called Gassie Waters, who was arrested and tried for the murder of her infant child in the year 1809. The trial was held in Canandaigua, and she was sentenced to be hanged. Respites were given by the governor, and her death took place before the final time set for the execution. A successor to Mr. Brooks was William P. Smith, who purchased the farm and became a large land proprietor and farmer. Benjamin Rickerson, one of the original proprietors of the town, donated a lot in this district to the Friends, but did not himself become a settler. Upon lot 136 has grown up a flourishing little village known as New Salem. It was founded and named by Otis Hathaway. This was quite a business place prior to the construction of the Erie Canal, and in those days rejoiced in the appellation of Pumpkin Hook. "The name originated with a man whose delight was to give names of this character, and was suggested by the circumstance that several families had made it a pastime to steal, or "Hook", pumpkins."

A store was opened about 1810 in one of the buildings put up by Hathaway at 5662 Allen-Padgham Road and Jonathan Batty was the keeper for about ten years. Daniel Talcott engaged in the same business during a like period. Dr. Smith and Lucius Dean carried on a drug and grocery store here till 1820, when they discontinued it. Berrick Beckwith engaged in keeping a store for the sale of drugs in 1819, but closed up soon after. Lewis Lombard established an axe-factory in 1825, and continued his manufacture until 1859. His business was extensive, and the Lombard axes were widely known through this part of the country. The long stone building, still in use as a blacksmith shop in 1876, was the site of the business. This building is no longer in existence. About 1850, Mr. Lombard associated with him Josiah Holdridge, and the firm continued till the date above given. George Hoag established a wagon shop here about 1823, and continued the business nearly twenty years, and was the pioneer wagon-maker. At an early date John Gillem came in, and built a log house and shop. This primitive shop stood but a few years, and fell prey to flames. It seems that the blacksmith had company, and for lack of other accomodations put the horses in the shop, and placed hay for them to eat upon the forge. The hay caught fire from the unextinguished cinders, and shop, its contents, and the horses were all consumed together. Gillem, soon after this misfortune, removed to Canada, and was succeeded by Augustus Bingham. Walter Whipple established an iron-foundry in 1834 or 1835, and, after two years' experience, sold out to Randall Phetteplace and Charles Jennings, who continued it for three years, and then closed up. Matthew Windsor was the pioneer shoemaker, and dates his arrival at 1817. He remained about five years. Prior to his coming intinerant shoemakers went around among the families, boarding with them, and making up their shoes. This custom was in vogue with tailors as well. Windsor was succeeded, in 1822, by Randall Phetteplace, who carried on shoemaking until 1838. Randall Phetteplace came to Farmington in 1819 and died January 1,1888. He was a much respected citizen of the community. Waters and Cook were the pioneer hatters, and did a good business for many years. To judge of profitable business by the number engaged in it, there was no more lucrative occupation than keeping a tavern.

The first inn-keeper of the place was Daniel Allen, who, in 1816, opened a house of entertainment in a building which was the property of Margaret Clinton in 1876. A man named Brown kept about the same a tavern where Elwood Smith lived in 1876. A tavern stand was opened by Noah Smith, in 1818 or 1819. The old building was still standing in 1876 and was the residence of Mr. Crandall. The residence of Thomas E Smith in 1876, was used as a tavern by William Van Duzen, about the year 1821, and a number of years thereafter. Aden Armstrong was one of others who were engaged in the business. "At this date (1876) there is no tavern in the town, and it is a gratifying fact that there is no place in Farmington where intoxicating liquors can be had". There is no tavern in the village of Pumkin Hook. The last hotel was purchased and closed by the Society of Friends at an early date, believed to be about 1838. At an early day some enterprising person, to us unknown, built and ran a tannery, which stood south of the intersection of the Hook and Allen-Padgham Roads, at the forks of the road. When the road (Hook Road) was laid through there the pits where the vats were situated were covered, and the middle of the road passed directly over the site of the old tannery. DISTRICT #13 District #13 had for one of its first settlers Jacob Smith, who located in 1791 upon lot 41. He came from Adams, Massachusetts, with his family to Farmington, and experienced difficulties well calculated to daunt their courage. At Schenectady the family and furniture were placed on board a boat, and the stock driven through the woods along the water-courses till Swift's landing in Manchester was reached; thence he had to make his own road to his purchase, which he reached in 31 days from the time of departure. What mattered the log cabin and dark woods now? The journey was accomplished, and a life-time before him to improve his condition, --- and well had his persistence been rewarded. In the log cabin a daughter, Zimroda Lapham, was born in 1793 and in 1876 was still living at the age of 83. Here, too, was born Jared Smith, a resident of lot 36, district no. 4, in 1876. To him we are indebted for much of the information herein given, and the history of that district will be found their history.

64

Jonathan Smith was one of those who came on in 1790, and his location was upon lot 31. Smith afterwards erected a frame house, in which town meetings were held on several occasions.

Icabod Brown was known as an early settler of this district. The settlers were accustomed to calion Brown to aid in butchering, and he was an expert in the business. Ebenezer Wells was an early resident of the district. Abiather Power settled on the lot owned by Charles W. Goodrich, on lot 57. He afterwards removed to No.6, south of Hathaway's Corners. Among others of the olden-time settlers in the neighborhood were George Jenks, prior to 1800, on lot 56, Shotwell on 65, and John Young, a member of the old family of that name in Phelps. District # was in the central part of the Town, according to an 1850 map. Present day residents do not recall a District #. It may have been absorbed by District #2 and District #7. Early residents in this area were Dr. Stephen Aldrich, who was the first physician in the Town, Turner Aldrich, Gideon Herendeen, and John S. Sheffield who ran a tavern at Stevensons Corner. There are no doubt some errors and discrepancies that seem to occur between my source books and present day minds. The source books are many years old and we can expect that changes have been made during that expanse of time.

District #12 - Mark Matthewson, Teacher. First Row:

Second Row:

Third Row:

Belle Carpenter, Ethel Redington, Cecelia Dillon, Satie Reynolds, Edna Baker, Vevia Smith, Willie Duffin, Frank Early, Lindley Gardner, John Coleman. Cora White, Eliza Coniff, Satie Duffin, May Gardner, Dora Carpenter, Grace Wood, Mabel Baker, Carrie Carpenter, Gertie Howe, Bertie Padgham, Joe Green, Ed Early, Martin Dillon, Ernest Coleman, George Wood. Ida Redington, Maggie Early, Carrie Allen, Bee Early, Bertha Coleman, Verna Cotton, Nellie Coniff, Mamie Reynolds, Mark Matthewson (T), Ernest Crocker, George Curran, Eddie Carpenter, John Coniff, Willie Gouldrick, Willard Allen, Leslie Lapham, Will Wood. Taken in front of District #12.

65

Lowest Row: Second Row: Third Row: Forth Row: Fifth Row: Sixth Row:

Grace Wood, Emma Coleman, Carrie Carpenter, Isabel Carpenter, Estella Padgham, Ethel Redington, Frank Early, Willie Duffin, Lindley Gardner. Gertie Howe, May Gardner, Eliza Coniff, Agnes Dillon, Dora Carpenter, Satie Duffin John Coleman, Ernest Colman. Eddie Carpenter, George Wood, Joe Greene, Bert Padgham, Tommy Dillon, Ed Early, Martin Dillon, George Curran. Rosa Brown, Mamie Reyonlds, Maggie Early, Carrie Allen, Ida Redington, Cora White. Verna Cotton, Hattie Chilson, Nellie Coniff, Leslie Lapham, Will Wood. Mark Matthewson (T), Bertha Coleman, Willie Gouldrick, John Howe, Ernie Crocker, John Coniff, Lloyd Smith, Eddie Gouldrick. Taken on old porch of Grange Hall #43.

District #12 66

District #13 School - Scribner District Mae Gardner, Teacher

Macedon Academy where many Farmington Students went after Grade School

67

Carrie Allen Mae Gardner Macedon Academy Graduates - 1899

68

SCHOOL TAXES The following is taken from a newspaper article published on September 9,1977 in The Daily Messenger. It was written by the late Clyde Redfield (who passed away in March 1988 at the age of 97). He compiled the information from papers and effects that belonged to his grandfather, Ezra L. Redfield, who it is believed was the school tax collector for the No. 2 school district in 1845-1846. Mr. C. Redfield donated these papers to the Ontario County Historical Museum. In those days each taxpayer paid quarterly, according to the number of days their children attended school. The highest tax paid in any quarter was by Orin Smith. It totaled $2.26 plus 10 cents collector's fees. The lowest tax was 20 cents with a one-cent fee and one bill was 10 cents and no fee charged.

Up to 1846 each taxpayer furnished wood at certain intervals for the purpose of heating the school house. Evidently this did not work out well and in 1846 a bill for wood was paid by each taxpayer. The wood bill ran from three cents to 28 cents a quarter for each taxpayer. The highest was paid by Orin Smith (28 cents) and the lowest by Isaac Germond (one cent). 10 Cent Maximum The collector's fees ran from one cent to 10 cents per taxpayer and the total collector's fees were $1. When a taxpayer defaulted in payment of taxes the collector was empowered to seize a hog, cow or whatever was necessary and sell the same to cover the tax.

In some cases the schoolmaster collected some taxes, thus excusing the collector from making the collection.

Descendants Abound

Many of the taxpayers names are to be found in the early days of Farmington and there are many descendants of these early residents in the county today. The taxpayer list includes such names as James Herendeen, Wilmarth Smith, Thomas Gardner, Townsand Williams, Jacob Smith, Orin Smith, Hugh Callihan, and others. Ezra L. Redfield, great-grandfather of this writer, was born in the Ontario County town of Hopewell on Feb. 12, 1812, making his age around 34 when he was school tax collector. He was married in 1833 and was the father of four sons; Nathan, born June 1, 1834; William, born Aug. 16, 1836; Henry J., born Oct. 1, 1838; and George, born Oct. 1, 1841. George Redfield, the youngest, was a Civil War veteran and is mentioned in one of the old county history books. William Redfield had a very early threshing rig and, when passing over an old wooden creek bridge in East Victor, his engine crashed to the creek. He was injured so badly that he died shortly afterwards on Feb. 18, 1884. The creek was forded while a new bridge was being built.

VIII

History of Educational Opportunities

In this record of educational opportunities in the Town of Farmington, I will divide the development into six phases or eras. There will be considerable overlapping of phases, as all grew up and matured in competition with at least one other phase influencing the scene. PHASE I . PARENTAL TEACHING

In a democracy parents have always had a major degree of responsibility for the education of their children. As in all pioneer movements, the early education of the young in our town was done at the mother's knee -- and perhaps under the influence of the father's willow switch. Parental instruction in the home is Phase I of our treatise. It was natural for parents to follow this course during the earliest and most rugged period of our town history.

Members of the Society of Friends started the settling of the town in 1789 on the first section off from the Phelps and Gorham Purchase. In 1796 The Society of Friends, or Quakers as they are commonly called, secured land and erected the first meetinghouse for worship west of Utica on the site of the present Friends Meetinghouse.

69

PHASE II • PAROCHIAL SCHOOL OPPORTUNITIES

The house of worship mentioned above was a one-story, two-room log building. One room was used for religious purposes. The other room was apparently used for both Sunday School and week day instruction. This room would thus have been the pioneer school in the Town of Farmington. This school commences Phase II of our essay. History relates that this building burned in 1803. The original church building was replaced in 1804 by a frame building which was also used for a time for school purposes. Records indicate that in addition to supporting the public schools, the Quakers also maintained some semblance of parochial school education for nearly the first 100 years of the Town's existence. PHASE III . PRIVATE (SELECn SCHOOLS

These educational opportunities were soon augmented by a period when the Private or Select Schools were available in competition to the Parochial and the Public schools. Soon after 1790 the growth of the Town of Farmington was very rapid. By 1840 there were over 2000 residents in the Town. From 1800 to 1840 records are rather obscure. However, it is certain that the Society of Friends had a Select School on Eric and Joanne Moon's property at 162 Hook Road. This building was erected around 1812. Sunderlin P. Gardner moved here with his family in 1814. He attended the above mentioned school. In 1816 a tavern was opened next door to the Friends Select School. Apparently the early Quakers were concerned as to what the students might "select," as we note that the Friends purchased the tavern and closed the doors. However the liquor interests were not crushed as another tavern soon opened next door on property now owned by David Ferris at 5716 Allen-Padgham Road. Records indicate that around 1840 a private school was opened near the north end of Hook Road. These buildings were of Gothic architecture and rather ornate. They were framed in Rochester and shipped on the Erie Canal to Macedon. They were erected for Mrs. Cassie Hamblin who was sole owner and teacher. This school was known as the "Birds Nest SchooL" One version as to the origin of this appellation is that robins built their nests beneath the eaves of this ornate structure. Another explanation is that Mrs. Hamblin was a beautiful widow with two beautiful daughters. Young men especially might have called it the "Birds Nest". Both versions must have some truth. In a few years Mrs. Hamblin married John Hathaway. They closed the school and moved to Michigan. Another private school was opened by Miss Carrie Comstock in 1847 in a room in her father's house. We are not sure of the date this school closed. Miss Comstock later taught in the previously mentioned school in the "Hook." In 1876 she, with others, established the Granger Place School in Canandaigua. Between 1858 and 1879, the Quakers maintained a private school on property now owned by the Bowe Brothers near the Macedon town line on Hook Road. For a few years after this school closed, the Friends maintained a day school in the basement of the present meetinghouse. This brings us to the end of the private (or Select) Schools and the Parochial Schools in the area and covers a full hundred years of the Town history. PHASE IV . THE DISTRICT SCHOOL Second only to religion, and intimately associated with it, was education. No sooner had a few settlers found themselves sufficiently numerous and some young New Englander or old-time teacher made his appearance that a settler's cabin was used and a school started. In the log house age of country schools, the buildings erected primarily for education were generally occupied also for religious purposes, and on occasion may have been held as common property. In 1795 a State law was enacted providing for the establishment of a school system which applied only to cities and villages. This law was amended in 1812 to include a complete system of rural public schools. Thus the familiar rural district school came into being. It appears that the rural district school boundaries in the town were established in 1813 or 1814. Actual boundaries were arbitrary as walking distance for the children was a vital factor. The first public school was built in 1806-7 on property now owned by the Bowe heirs. It was located across from 5576 Allen-Padgham Road. This was a one-story, one room stone building. Presumedly this building was erected for school purposes by the local #12 school district. It was used as a district school until 1858 and then used as a dwelling by Edward Carney who had a cooper shop there. No remains of this school exist today.

Ellery G. Allen stated that the stone building was used until 1855 when the condition of the building needed a change necessary. After 1855 public school sessions were for a time held in what is now the Grange. About 1857 the familiar District#12 building, now located on property owned by our Volunteer Fire Association, was purchased by School District #12 building from the Society of Friends for $1000 including the land. This building has previously been moved from its original location on the northwest corner of Hook & Allen-Padgham Roads. For a few years this building had been used as a manual labor school where students could earn some of the cost of education by manual labor. Among other things, agriculture was taught and some home keeping. This manual labor school was soon closed, and the building sold to District# 12.

70

Another interesting bit of school trivia is as follows: The number of children between the ages of eight and fourteen, residents of the town, on September 30, 1875, was two hundred and forty of whom two hundred and four respectively attended district school at least fourteen weeks of the year. This was noted in the History of Ontario County, New York dated 1876. Records of early education in other areas of the town do not seem to be available. It must be assumed that there was less emphasis on Parochial and Private Schools and that the rural district school system became dominant at an earlier date than in the "Hook" area. Charles Milliken in his "History of Ontario County" of 1911 indicates that many rural schools were in operation soon after, or before, the establishment of school district boundaries in 1813 or 1814. The rural District School System was born and matured in the horse and buggy days and remained the dominant type of basic education for about 130 years. All of the children walked to and from school each day. The coming of the automobile, and especially the school bus, brought us naturally to the Central School System which is now prevalent. The following is a list of teachers as remembered by the students of District #12. It is not a completely accurate list, nor is the list given in the exact order of the teachers' service, as memory must span a period of about 78 years, from 1857 to 1954, at which time the school building was closed.

Edward Herendeen William Bosworth Nathan Comstock Amasa Chase Myron Colwell Morris Bullis Charles Hatfield G.S. Freeman Harace Van Winkle George E. Lapham Frank Brown Sarah Peckham Henry S. Johnson Sarah P. Johnson Eugenia Payne Mary J. Smith Charles H. Wood Marjorie Dillon Hansen Stella Whittaker

Nettie Maxon Sarah Cline Matilda McLouth Cora Marquis Lizzie Wood Nettie Peckham

David H. Baker Helen Lane Carry Davis Lottie Bowers Charlotte Selleck M. Louise Brown Susan Howland Susan Vorce Francis McAuley George Newman Jennie Harse Viola Crandall Albert Johnson Lanie Yorton Ella Daylor Bayard Biddlecome Emma Biddlecome Jennie Padgham Bowerman Pearl Wilkinson

Eugene Hyde Nettie Allyn May Henry Nettie Young Lula Craft William H. Vandevort Emma Scholls Carrie Covi lie Jennie Corrigan Mark Mathewson W.H. Thacher Florence Tuttle Laura Coomber

Jennie M. Allen Lillian Katkamier Clara Sawyer Ida Lincoln Alberta Arnold Gilbert H. Padgham Edith Clapper Hannah Smith Mable Padgham May Gardner Helen Thayer Edith Gascoigne Nellie S. Padgham Lewis F. Allen Elizabeth Katkamier Beatrice Early Rev. E. Partington Leonora DeLeeuw Maine

Several of the old school buildings are still visible as parts of shops, homes and utility buildings. Others are gone or just decaying. There were some joint districts with the neighboring towns. These will not be considered in this article. PHASE V . CENTRAL SCHOOL SYSTEM

Once again we see the overlapping of the old and the new. District #12 was one of the last district schools to be used in the town. It became a part of Victor Central School District on August 18,1943. From 1943 until its closing in 1954, the District #12 school was operated by Victor Central. Midway in the 20th century this same fate befell all of the rural districts in the town. All have now been absorbed by one or another of the adjacent Central School Districts.

It might be of interest to review some of the changes within the school system since early pioneer days. Children from the Town of Farmington now attend four central school systems. The largest share attend Victor Central School. and comprise nearly one half of that school's population. Below is a chart comparing current data on each of the districts, as of the 1987-1988 school year.

71

DISTRICT Victor

FARMINGTON STUDENTS

Canandaigua Manchester Shortsvi lie Palmyra Macedon

1,298 841 133 49

% TOTAL ENROLLMENT 48% 21.8% 14%

$13,784,766 $17,531,572 $ 5,424,521

2%

$12,291,985

ANNUAL BUDGET

NO. OF TEACHERS 193 258* 81 125* 178 *

NO. OF BUSES 43 40 13 36

Instructional Staff

From these statistics we can estimate that about $7,000,000 is spent annually on the education of Farmington youth. PHASE VI· THE FUTURE

One can but ponder what change will augment or supplement the Central School System. It has already been superseded in some areas of educational endeavor by the Board of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES). Most counties now also have a Community College. This has been accomplished under the State Department of Education's attempt to offer education opportunity from the "cradle to the grave". What next? Who knows? There will be change --some good, some bad. Much of this information has been taken from an extensive article written in 1937 on this subject by Lewis F. Allen. Historical facts of an early date are from early Histories of Ontario County. Facts of the recent past are from present day residents. Herbert Allen, the son of the original author prepared the 1976 update. The 1988 update was done by the Historical Book Committee.

OTHER SCHOOLS IN FARMINGTON THE MANUAL LABOR SCHOOL A general movement for the establishment of schools for instruction, in its influence, was felt by the Friends, who concluded that it would be advantageous to found and maintain a school where manual labor would go as payment for tuition and other expenses, and so enable indigent young men to obtain an education. Accordingly, March 19, 1938, the movement was set on foot by a conveyance to the society by Daniel A. Robinson, Isaac Hathaway, and Asa B. Smith of 12.14 acres of land for that purpose. Gideon Herendeen, Asa B. Smith, and Jonathan Ramsdell were appointed trustees, and a school was opened in a building which stood on the premises. It was designed that both instructors and scholars should take part in the work. The property thus bequeathed to the society was conditioned to remain common possession in the event of a division. "If a split should occur in the society, the property was to be held by those who adhere to our ancient doctrine as found in "Barclay's Apology", and in the "Testimony of the Society of Friends" issued in Philadelphia in the year (1829) eighteen hundred and twenty nine. Should a deficiency of means occur, it was to be supplied by voluntary contributions." The school was subject to the immediate control of the Farmington Monthly Meeting. Its existence was brief, and we have no knowledge of teachers or attendance, course of study, or duration and number of terms. Its creation is of value here as showing an educational and benevolent spirit on the part of the prominent citizens of the town. The school was located at the corner of Allen-Padgham Road and Hook Road on the site of the Iris Farm.

ST. JOHN'S CHRISTIAN PRE·SCHOOL St. John's Christian Pre-School was organized in 1969 and opened its doors to the community in September, 1969. The school originally had 9 students in a two-day program. Today, there are 80 students in 5 classes. There are 3 two-day classes for 4-year-olds, 1 one-day class for 3-year-olds, and 1 two-day class for 3-year-olds. The school concerns itself with spiritual, physical, emotional, social and skill development. A planned religious curriculum is followed plus all the secular activities for the total growth for each child. The Church's Board of Christian Education oversees the pre-school which is directed by the Pre-School Committee whose members are: LuAnn Holtz, Sue Caruso, Chris Russell and Erna O'Brien.

72

IX

Churches

HISTORY OF THE FARMINGTON FRIENDS CHURCH Many of the pioneers of the Town of Farmington were members of the Society of Friends, or Quakers. One of these members was Nathan Comstock. He deeded the property where the church now stands to the Society of Friends on the third day of the eighth month 1796. In 1796 a double log house was erected, part of which was used as a school house and part for religious meeting. This log meeting house was destroyed by fire in 1803 and all records of the meetings in the log meeting house were burned. A new meeting house was built in 1804. It was a very plain frame building and boards were used in the place of seats. Caleb McCumber was the first Public Friend, or minister. In 1816 the building seemed too small and a larger building was erected on the side of the road opposite the old one. It was called the Hicksite Meeting because soon Elias Hicks presented his views which caused a split in the congregation. The other branch, the Orthodox, met in the building on the east side of the road for many years. The Orthodox building burned and the present church building was built and dedicated on June 11, 1876. Several additions * were made to the 1876 structure. *

In 1918 the wooden porch across the entire front of the church gave way to the present small cement one with the walks to the drives. An organ was used in the meetings for worship in the early 1900's. In about 1920 the meeting purchased a piano. In 1958 the present organ was installed. We have grown under the influence of two active choirs and many young folks who take a turn at the organ. The sanctuary was redecorated and present carpeting and light fixtures were installed in 1968-69.

In 1954 the present kitchen and two Sunday School rooms above it were added to the building. In 1964 the Educational wing was added. This consists of six permanent classrooms and an assembly room, which can be divided into six additional classrooms by the use of folding partitions. The Hicksite building was used for worship until 1926 when it was sold and moved a short distance north on the same side of the road where it now stands, and is used for farm storage on the Van Lare farm. A section of this meeting house is now used as a house on the corner of County Road 8 and Allen-Padgham Road. There is some very interesting early history of the development of other meetings in this area. Between 1803 and 1828 there were not less than 25 meetings set up. All were set off from Farmington, or from Monthly Meetings set up by Farmington. These include South Farmington, Macedon, Palmyra, Williamson, Junius, Galen, Rochester, Wheatland, Henrietta, Orangeville, Hartland, Elba, Lockport, Royalton, Shelby, Somerset, E. Hamburg, E. Eden, Holland, Collins, N. Quaker St., Ellery, Elk, Evans, and possibly a few more. We find an interesting mention of Farmington Meeting ln Rufus Jones' book "The Later Periods of Quakerism". "By the end of the first quarter of the nineteenth century there was a very large and flourishing group of meetings in the western counties of New York State, especially in Ontario, Genesee, and " Cayuga Counties ... Somewhere between 1876 and 1893, a select school was held in the church basement for the benefit of the children of Friends but was soon discontinued because of lack of support. There was also a Friends boarding school in th village of Pumpkin Hook at an early date. In the early history of our church many names of ministers are noted. They were unpaid and often traveled from meeting to meeting with their messages.

Through the years the people of our church have fostered many projects. Graded Sunday school Is held regularly and Vacation Bible Schools have been held for many years. Junior and senior choirs are a real part of our Sunday services which also include a short silent period of worship. Summer musicals and Christmas and Easter cantatas are popular. The annual Turkey Suppers have been held each fall for many years. Ice cream socials, class picnics, church picnics, Young Friends' conferences, week-end retreats, etc. have been held here many times. Our church has sponsored many mission projects both in the United States and in foreign countries. The United Society of Friends Women was started In the late 1960's and continues to carry on a very interesting and helpful program. The ladles are visiting nursing homes and others who are ill in the hospitals plus sewing for Friends relief in many countries. Currently we are Joining In support of the project which is starting a meeting for worship in the Auburn Prison. The 100th anniversary of the present building was celebrated on June 13, 1976 with a morning and an afternoon gathering. Authentic Quaker dress was worn by the choir and George Badgley was the main speaker. His topic was "Quakers, Past, Present and Future". A history of the church was prepared and given by Margaret A. Baker. A plaque was placed in the vestibule showing a "Friends Build in Farmington" listing.

73

The Farmington Senior Citizens group was started in 1976 and has met twice a month since 1977 in our Educational Wing for a shared lunch, business meeting and social time. There were 18 charter members and 11 are still alive. There is currently an average attendance of 40 at their meetings. "The Farmington Friend" has been printed since 1945. This is a monthly newsletter for Friends and interested friends. It was originally designed to bring the news from home to our men and women in the military service. It is an excellent way to increase interest in this Friends Meeting.

Physically our house and grounds have been improved by a black top driveway and lower level parking lot, thanks to the generous donation of a member family.

"Tops" (weight-loss group) members meet weekly in our Education Wing facility. The facilities are used for family reunions, weddings, funerals, called Friends' group meetings, special events, and our growing Sunday School. Our mission outreach has been increased through our "last Sunday of the month loose collection" effort for named special projects. The interest income from the Warner Legacy has given more money to designate for mission outreach. A video cassette recorder and a copier have been purchased and make for improvement and interest in our program activities. Special programs are shown and enjoyed.

Farmington Friends Church is a pastoral meeting and has continually grown through the leadership of our dedicated pastors. Our standing committees meet regularly and add to the interest and promotion of the growth of the spirit of love within us. Margaret A. Baker

Friends Church - 1988

74

The following list of ministers of the Friends church as taken from "The History of New Salem", written by Carrie Padgham in 1966 and has been updated to the present time. ORTHODOX FRIENDS MINISTERS SINCE 1828

Caleb McCumber Thomas Ellison Beersheba Herendeen Ira Lapham William Clark

Arthur Santmier Lizzie M. Leggett Eliezer Partington Arthur Hammond (1929-Nov. 1937) Parker Barroughs (Nov. 1937-June 1938) Charles Lampman (1938-1941) Leonard Hall (1941-1945) Dr. Isaacs and Thomas Williams

Edward Dorland Lydia McCumber Margaret Hathaway

(1945-46) Robert Rumsy (1946-June 1949) Wilbur Kamp (June 1949-Sept. 1950) Kent Larabee (Nov. 1950-1952) Herbert Kimball (1952-1954) Donald Deer (1954) Richard Faux (1954-1962 Adolph Baker and Graham Wilkens (Sept. 1962-Jan 1966) Paul Walaskay (Feb. 1966-August

Jarius M. Rider Alexander M. Purdy Robert Knight Mary Knowles Adelaide H. Wood Edwin P. Wood (1902) Thomas Williams (1900, 1902) George Evans (1904, 1907)

1966) Mr. Rosecrans, Adolph Baker and other substitutes Richard Hartman (June 1967-June

James Renfrew (April 1908, 1913) Leverite Rugg and wife (1907)

1973) Herbert Kimball (August 1973-1981) John Fitzgerald (1981-1986) Dale Dorrell (1986-present)

Reuben J. Payne (1913) Roy D. Marsh

Farmington Friends Church-1901. Sarah Peckham Adelaide Wood

75

Unveiling of Monument marking site of first Friend's Meeting House erected west of Utica, New York.

Hicksite Friends meeting house.

76

The following is taken verbatim from A.B. Katkamier's History of Farmington 1897:

GERMAN FAMILIES About twenty years ago (1877) several German families came to reside in Farmington. From that time other families have continued to arrive until now we have quite a German population. The older persons find it somewhat difficult to master the English language, but a few years contact with English speaking neighbors and the constant effort to learn and to make themselves understood gives them a working knowledge of the language. The younger members of the family do not find it a hard matter to learn both German and English and for the most part they speak both languages with equal facility. Four years ago (1893) the German society determined to erect a house of worship and have it under their control. A piece of ground was purchased adjacent to the old stone shops in the village of Farmington. A building contract was given to S. G. Dillingham and he proceeded to erect a commodious church edifice. It stands today an ornament and an honor to the German society and the town. The total cost exceeded $2,000. The first pastor was Rev. H. Liebich, who came direct from Germany to take charge of the pastorate. Although Mr. Liebich was young in years and fresh from college, he took hold of the church work here in a very enthusiastic and satisfactory manner. As a pulpit speaker he was eloquent and impressive, not confined to his notes but preaching almost entirely extemporaneously. He served the church for two years and then went to the western part of the state where he has charge of important religious interests. Rev. H. Liebich was succeeded by Rev. Ernest Reissig. Mr. Reissig has the confidence of his parishioners and is doing a splendid Christian work in the community. Most of the German families in the town emigrated from Mecklenburg, Germany. They left a country where wages were extremely low and the opportunities for advancement hedged in by caste and competition. They entered a land where equality of rights in business and law is the accepted principle of operation. That they made a wise change by identifying themselves with America and her progressive institutions is evidenced by the material success each family has achieved almost without an exception. They own some very fine farms. Their horses can hardly be equalled in the town. They are liberal buyers and are beginning to enjoy the proceeds of honest persistent labor. Among the more prominent families may be mentioned Joseph Popenhusen, Christ Wiegert, Henry Holtz, Theodore Bastian, Fred Mamero, Fred Harloff and John Proeber. In politics they are Republican, seldom failing to vote a straight ticket. It may be safely predicted that much of the future history of Farmington will be connected with the descendants of these families. THE HISTORY OF ST. JOHN'S LUTHERAN CHURCH

St. John's Lutheran Church entered the history of the Town of Farmington in the afterglow of our nation's Centennial celebration. However late St. John's may have been in establishing itself, we are indeed happy to have been a part of the history and life of the Town of Farmington and of our country. St. John's started in 1879 as a mission post in the District #5 School House in the Town of Macedon, located at the Victor-Canandaigua Road intersection, also known as Chimney Corners. A Lutheran pastor, The Rev. G. Seel of Newark, N.Y. served the infant parish. In 1886 the congregation was formally organized, and its constitution was adopted in January, 1887. Sixteen men signed the original document. In 1888, the parish moved to Farmington (New Salem), using the abandoned Wesleyan Methodist church building, now the Farmington Grange. Here St. John's members, who were mostly German immigrants, worshipped until August 27, 1894, when part of the present church structure was dedicated. The church, measuring 30 feet by 40 feet, was built for $1000, with an additional $240 for the steeple structure. The parsonage, which was located next to the church, was erected in 1905 for $900 and was torn down in 1987. In 1953·54 an additional 35 feet was added to the back of the 1894 church structure for approximately $20,000. This doubled its size, which is the building as it now appears. A 4000 square foot educational building, costing $36,000, was dedicated in the spring of 1963.

In January, 1911, another Lutheran Church was opened in Macedon Center. As time passed, the two churches were served by one pastor. In 1936, it was found to the best interest of all concerned to amalgamate the two churches. The Macedon Center property was sold, and its members joined in fellowship with the Farmington congregation. During the years of existence, the parish has been served by 17 pastors: G. Seel; J. Holstein, 1885,-89; G. Doering, (the fi rst resident pastor), 1889-91; A. Krause, 1891-92; H. Liebrich, 1893-95; F. E. ReiSSig, Sr., 1895-1902; E. Sau I, 1903-1906; W. Seidel, 1907-1909; J. Flierl, 1910-14; Wm. Mueller, 1915-17; H. Fichenscher, 1918-22; E. Miller, 1923-35; M. Mueller, 1936; L.G. Leonard, 1936-41; A. Kreutz, 1942-50; E. Kuehnert, 1950-1977; and C. Prostka, 1977-present.

77

In 1958, Mrs. Lucy (nee Reissig) Schenk, daughter of a former pastor, published a book about life in the parsonage when the ten member Reissig family lived in the cobblestone house across the street from the church (the Olive Dettman property). The book, entitled Seven, Eight, Shut the Gate, Greenwich Book Publishers, New York, gives a humorous and nostalgic look at turn-of-the-century life in Pumpkin Hook. In 1986, St. John's celebrated its centennial with commemorative activities throughout the year. There are plans to enlarge the church building in order to provide for the growth in membership. Lutheran Church Committee

Laying of corner stone of Lutheran Church.

St. John's Lutheran Church Farmington, New York 78

Methodist Church in Pumpkin Hook now Grange Hall.

79

FARMINGTON WESLEYAN METHODIST CHURCH The Farmington Wesleyan Methodist Church was legally organized January 12,1846. The first board of trustees elected was composed of Lewis Lombard, William Pound, Benjamin L. Haight, William Plum, and Rufus F. Holbrook. The records show annual elections and a full board to January 1, 1876, when Gifford Bowerman, George Holdridge, David Padgham, Joseph Padgham, and John McCrae were trustees. The first pastor was Rev. Thomas Burrows, who served the church acceptably for two years. The roll of pastors is not at hand, but of those who once served this church here were Revs. Owen, Payne, and Randolph. Former pastors were Rev. Edwin Burnettson, who moved to Prattsville; Rev. John L. Bush, who moved to White Hall, Michigan; Rev. P.S. Slauson, moved to Westfield, Pennsylvania; Rev. Sylvester Adams, deceased, (1876); Rev. George Pegler, who became a minister in the west; Rev. J.W. Fancher, who was with the church three years; then Rev. W.G. Woodruff, one year; and Marshall Frink. Other pastors thought to have been there were Randolph Barnetson and Rev. Fausea. The meeting thrived until 1876, when the parishioners met to appoint delegates to attend a conference to engage a new minister in the place of Elder Frink. Th Frinkites wished to retain his services for another year, but the other portion desired a change and attended a conference and procured a Mr. Slauson. Both ministers met in church and differences arose which broke up the meeting. The "Slausonites" retired to the Joseph Moore house (now owned and occupied by Sherwood Coon at 148 Hook Road) and the "Frinkites" held possession of the church. Slauson was arrested and the matter was taken before the Grand Jury who ignored it and threw it out of court. From this time on the meeting was of little account; the building was mortgaged to keep up repairs, and finally sold at auction from the courthouse steps at Canandaigua, by a referee and was bid off by Mary (Mrs. Joseph) Padgham, the 6th day of September, 1890 who later sold it to Farmington Grange No. 431 P. of H. This change of ownership occurred in 1891. The Grange has made many alterations and improvements. At one time the basement of the church was used by Charles Jennings for a carpenter shop. He manufactured most of the coffins used in this vicinity in this shop. Later, a family by the name of Bortle lived in there. The site of the building (current Grange Hall) was deeded by Joseph C. Hathaway, and Esther, his wife, to the trustees of the SOCiety in the year 1842. The consideration for the forty-five rods of ground was one hundred and fifty dollars. A building was commenced, but ere its completion was sold to William Pound, who, united with his wife Mary, deeded the property to the SOCiety for two hundred dollars. The article bears date March 9,1848. A lot and parsonage were given to the church by Fannie Robeson, a member of the society. The price paid for the acre of consecrated ground was one hundred and seventy dollars, and it was made a burial-place for "all person, of whatever condition, color, clime, sect, or creed." This is the Salem Cemetery on Farmington Road. The membership of the society on February 10, 1865 was seventy-six. Some died, others removed, and a few withdrew and so reduced membership to twenty-three in 1876. A Sabbath-school was connected with the church, and a children's aid association existed in the school, along with a small library.

80

PRESBYTERIAN A church of the Presbyterian denomination was formed in the town as early as 1817. It was received under the care of the presbytery of Geneva on August 13 of the year given. It was reported to consist of eighteen members in 1825, and annually thereafter, until 1831, its name was found on the reports. Later it was lost and forgotten. THE BAHA'I FAITH IN FARMINGTON

The first Local Spiritual Assembly of the Baha'is of Farmington was formed on April 21, 1971 by members who had come here from such diverse places as Israel, Canada, Jordan, Maine and Farmington. They held regular meetings for prayer, consultation and study as well as providing a means through which the spiritual aims and principles of Baha'u'liah are brought to the attention of those who have not heard of the Baha'i Faith. There is now an active group in Farmington and the children of this group attend the John S. Woolston Baha'i School in Victor. Although there is no paid clergy, the Baha'i Faith, founded in Persia in the mid-19th century, is world wide and teaches such principles as independent investigation of truth, the oneness of mankind, the equality of men and women, universal education, the importance of a common universal language and freedom from prejudice of all kinds - national, political, racial, religious and class.

Ortha Wright FAITH BAPTIST CHURCH OF FARMINGTON In 1974, Ron and Marion Bantle, Missionaries with the Fellowship of Baptists for Home Missions (now Baptist Mission of North America), settled in Farmington to begin a new church in what was projected to be a growing community. There was not a fundamental church of any denomination within 10 miles. The closest fellowship church was nearly 20 miles away. After several months of having Bible Studies in their new home on Hook Road, the Farmington Grange building in Pumpkin Hook was rented and the first Sunday Services of the Faith Baptist Fellowship were held on May 4, 1975. It really was a rousing start with 25 in Sunday School, 39 in the Worship Service and 12 in the evening Gospel Hour. Joy Clubs and Mid-week meetings were still held in the Bantle home as the work grew.

By the fall of 1976, the group had grown sufficiently to consider formulating themselves into a recognized church body. The Faith Baptist Church was officially organized on December 8, 1976, incorporated on January 26, 1977, and publicly recognized as a duly constituted Baptist church on May 23, 1977. That same year, they were officially received into the fellowship of sister Baptist churches in the General Association of Regular Baptist Churches and the Empire State Fellowship of Regular Baptist Churches. During this same year, the property that had been purchased at 860 Hook Road was paid for and a building committee was formulated in January of 1977. Construction began in August of that same year. A bond program had been sold to raise the initial $100,000.00. An additional $50,000.00 was obtained in 1978 which allowed them to finish the facility sufficiently to use. Some 12,000 sq. ft. of floor space is now in use though there are still some areas unfinished. The church body was able to move into the facility in April, 1978. Attendance was up to 125. Immediate growth and prosperity was noted through the spring of 1979. They achieved a Third Place award in their division of a National Sunday School Contest in that spring. The high attendance was 225. However, they leveled off that fall to about 133 and for some reason began a very slow but steady decline. Some of the decline was readily attributed to several families being relocated away from the area. Several went off to Bible School at the call of God. Replacements did not come as quickly as in the early stages. In the spring of 1981, Pastor Bantle resigned after six years of fruitful ministry at Farmington. A search was begun for his successor. During the summer, however, it was suggested that an interim pastor might be appropriate. Pastor Elmer Francisco consented to come that fall and served the church in that capacity until June 1982. The Church will be forever indebted to these two men for the foundation they established.

In March of 1982, the Pulpit Committee contacted Pastor Gary Briggs. They had investigated him and his ministry for several months and felt that he was God's Man for their first Pastor. The Call was extended to him in April of 1982. The call was accepted and he began his ministry in their midst on June 20th. of that year.

The church had hoped that they could bring their first pastor on the field without Missionary affiliation but that was not deemed possible. Pastor Briggs was willing to affiliate with the Fellowship of Baptists for Home Missions and was accepted in their new Pastor Missionary program provisionally in May and fully in September of 1982. His support was raised by the Lord from local, Independent Regular Baptist Churches within 125 miles of Farmington. $1,100.00 a month was raised. The Briggs family was able to be on the field in June through the kindness of one of the families of the church who moved out of their home so the Briggs would be able to be on the field. The first of October they moved into their own home and work was really begun.

81

Some reorganizaton was necessary and the budget was trimmed considerably to gain an ability to meet all the financial obligations of the church. Some of their Missions budget was realigned to underwrite their own pastor-missionary. The church presently supports one missionary family at $85.00 a month, four missionary families at $50.00 a month, another family at $20.00 and several agencies and schools. Their missions commitment is a top priority item.

In January, 1986, the Church became a fully indigenous Church and has since met all the commitments including the full salary of its pastor. Its building will be paid for in 1991 after just fifteen years of existence. The Membership now stands at 56. The Sunday School is presently averaging 70, Morning Worship, 75, Evening Service, 50, and the Mid-week multiple Program, 40. It is the vision of this body of believers to not only be a vital, growing testimony in the Town of Farmington but to be part of a program to establish new 'Like Testimonies' in the communities around us. By God's Grace, we will seek to be faithful to this goal until Jesus comes.

Pastor Gary L. Briggs

Faith Baptist Church of Farmington at 860 Hook Road (1988)

HISTORICAL NOTE: A Baptist Church was established in the early years of Farmington's history. However, the First Baptist Church of Farmington, as it was then called, became the First Baptist Church of Manchester when Farmington and Manchester were separated in 1821.

82

MARANATHA FELLOWSHIP Maranatha Fellowship was incorporated as a church in 1978. The Fellowship started in January of that year with about 8 born-again Christians meeting in a home Bible study in Farmington at the home of Mr. & Mrs. Ray Tomkins on Dalton Drive in Farmbrook. The Bible Study began to grow and steadily increased until we were then forced to look for other facilities. We rented the Grc.nge Hall in Pumpkin Hook for Sunday morning services and continued holding home Bible studies in the evenings. At one polnt the Bible studies were held five different nights a week in five different homes. The ministry continued growing and by 1979 had grown to about 200 people, at which time the Railroad Depot in Victor was purchased to meet the need of the growing numbers. Five years later, after going to 3 services on Sunday morning to handle the crowds, it was necessary again to move to a larger facility. In 1984, a Skating Rink on Rochester Road (Rt. 332) in Farmington was purchased, where 3 Sunday morning worship services and evening Bible studies are currently being held. 1987 was another landmark year for us as our Christian School began with 44 students attending grades K-3. The purpose of Maranatha Fellowship is to preach the Gospel of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, and to strengthen His believers to live their lives to glorify Him. It has been thrilling to watch God work in this area of New York. We have experienced His life-changing power not only in our own lives, but also in the lives of those that have yielded their hearts and lives to Him. All praise and glory for the birth and life of Maranatha Fellowship goes to our precious Lord Jesus. Mrs. William Gallatin

Maranatha Fellowship on Rt. 332 (1988)

83

ABUNDANT LIFE ASSEMBLY OF GOD

Abundant Life Assembly of God was formed in 1981 with a neculeus of nine individuals who had a vision for a "full gospel" church in the township of Farmington. They began by securing the South Farmington Chapel and bringing about the necessary repairs and rennovations for their meetings. Shortly thereafter Rev. Dwight O. Craver, Jr. answered the call to pastor the church and is currently serving the congregation. Over the past 6 years the congregation has grown from the original nine to 80 individuals in fellowship. The future holds a new multi-faceted worship facility for the Church's growing ministries and congregation with a view and desire to serve the people of the Town of Farmington. FARMINGTON ALLIANCE CHURCH The Farmington Alliance Church was started in September of 1984 by three families with Christian and Missionary Alliance Church background. Reverend Lynn Wheeler, the first pastor, left in the spring of 1988. Reverend Rene Vallieres, who is a member of one of the three original families who founded the church, is now the minister. The church has three weekly services, two on Sunday and one on Wednesday evening. There are Sunday School classes for the youth of the church on Sunday mornings. Average church attendance has been about 45, with membership increasing. The Christian and Missionary Alliance Church denomination began one hundred years ago as an evangelical denomination whose main purpose was to support foreign missionaries throughout the world. The main interest of the church is to spread the gospel and takes special interest in the Rev. Andrew Kerr family who are missionaries in Aman, Jordan. A new church building is planned for the fall of 1988 on seven acres on Route 96. The parsonage has been built and the church presently meets in the Grange Hall while waiting for the new building to be built.

FARMINGTON UNITED METHODIST CHURCH The Farmington United Methodist Church is the most recently formed church in the town. When interest was first expressed in establishng a Methodist church in Farmington, the Conference boundaries were indefinite whether Farmington was in the Western New York Conference or the Northcentral Conference.

The new church began meeting for Sunday worship services at the Sunrise Hill Inn on the corner of Route 332 and Loomis Road on September 13, 1987. Currently, the church is yoked with the Manchester United Methodist Church. Sharing the two pulpits are the Pastor, Reverend William Vallet and Assistant-Pastor, Stephen Shay. At this writing, the congregation attendance is between 40 and 50 each Sunday and expanding. In May of 1988 the church officially became a United Methodist Church. Land is being purchased and it is expected that a building will be erected within the town in the near future.

Mary Hillerman

\ "

\\\,' -, -,

-,

South Farmington Chapel - 1988

84

X

Community Service Organizations

THE GOOD TEMPLARS (A.B. KATKAMIER, 1897) Farmington Lodge No. 983, 1.0. of G.T. was organized March 2nd, 1894 by S.H. Davis, a young man who became a powerful public speaker and an eloquent pulpit orator. Little did Mr. Davis think when he organized the lodge with a few charter members that it would reach its present large membership (1897), and exert so much influence throughout the community. For a time the little lodge struggled along, scarcely able to hold its charter. After a time circumstances grew brighter; the more self-sacrificing services of a few devoted members began to bear fruit. More interest was taken in the proceedings of the lodge sessions and the community was canvassed for new members. A series of entertainments were planned which proved very popular and successful. In the summer of 1896 it was decided to hold a band concert and the celebrated Manchester Cornet Band was engaged at considerable expense. The concert was held on the evening of the 2nd of September, and was attended by over one thousand people. The membership of the lodge was made up from the first families in the neighborhood. So skillful were the members to become in parliamentary practice and in the transaction of society business that two-thirds of the members could act efficiently as chairman of public meetings.

The officers in 1897 were: A.B. Katkamier, Chief Templar; Edith M. Clapper, Vice Templar; Charles E. Allen, Secretary; Oscar B. Gardner, Treasurer; Charles A. Green, Financial Secretary; Mrs. Sarah Peckham, Chaplain; Fred Popenhusen, Marshall; Edward Early, Dep't. Marshall; Willie Cotton, Guard; Robert Bowerman, Sentinel; Percy Baker, Past Chief Templar; Lewis F. Allen, Lodge Deputy; Lilian Katkamier, organist. CREATIVE HOMEMAKERS The women's group known as Creative Homemakers was a unit organized through the Cooperative Extension in Ontario County. It has been determined that the first meeting was held in 1921 with Mrs. Gilbert Padgham as the Farmington Home Demonstration Unit and eventually, sometime in the late 60's the name was changed to Creative Homemakers of Farmington. The main objective of this group from its inception was to educate themselves and to share with one another and the community skills or knowledge pertaining to any facet of homemaking and motherhood. Each generation dedicated themselves to making their vocation as homemakers as interesting and informed as possible. There were other groups on the town; Mertensia and Farmington Chapel, organized around the same time with generally the same objectives. The group ceased to exist sometime in the 1970's.

HISTORY OF FARMINGTON GRANGE #431 A little band of local townsmen met in Nichols' Hall (this was located in the present day Townsend's Grocery) and after preliminary organization plans, signed the application for a charter and took the necessary steps toward the formation of this Subordinate Grange March 8, 1880. The First Master was Ellery G. Allen, Overseer L.L. Morse, Lecturer Nathan L. Aldrich, Steward E.M. Mott, Assistant Steward George E. Lapham, Chaplain T.E. Smith, Treasurer George Loomis, Secretary John Van den Berg, Gate Keeper Norman Gourlay, Ceres Mrs. H. Tay, Pomona Mrs. G.E. Lapham, Flora Mrs. L.L. Morse, Lady Assistant Steward Mrs. S.G. Bowerman. There were 27 charter members who joined this organization which had as its purpose the betterment of agricultural pursuits by banding together. For the first ten years the meetings were held in Nichols' Hall, with a social hour being made enjoyable by frequent Grange suppers. Soon Grange socials were held in the homes of the members. A New England supper is recorded with about 200 in attendance at the home of the first master. A husking bee was held at the barn of S.G. Bowerman. Those were the days of homemade entertainment, and the socials and the programs were the product of the imagination of the lecturer and his or her assistants. The Grange Quarterly was much enjoyed during its life span. At least three Grange Fairs were held. Grange picnics were a favorite feature and are still held annually.

About 1890 the property now owned by the Grange was offered for sale and a committee soon reported the purchase for $400. The meetings and social get-togethers were mostly held in the Grange Hall after that. Many have been the topics for discussion over the years that have been held in Grange meetings. The Farm Bureau was discussed in Grange circles, tax laws were often a chief concern, development of fertilizers and weed killers and changes in farm machinery from the horse drawn period to the present big machines and combines. Rural mall delivery came about in part through the efforts of some of the local Grange members. Dairymen and poultrymen have been helped by the efforts of the Grange. The Grange included women in its organization and many local projects have benefited from their interest in the community. Many Grange suppers were held and made profitable by the efforts of the ladies, the most famous was the ham dinner served on Election Day for many years when the Grange was a polling place. An annual Chicken Barbeque was also held.

85

The Juvenile Grange was started in the early 1930's as a plan to make Grange attendance a family affair. The Juveniles made many contributions to the Subordinate grange as they grew older. The Loan Closet was established in 1962 through the efforts of the ladies and is a boon to those needing sick room aid beds, crutches, wheel chairs, etc. are available.

Neighbor's Night has been a Grange feature for many years. Other Granges join together with the host Grange for an evening of enlightenment and sociability. Many members are members of the Pomona and State and National Grange. Grangers have long been interested in educational opportunities for their children and many local boys and girls have attended Cornell University, or other agricultural schools in the state. The Grange building was originally a Methodist church. Once again, it has been rented as a starting place for three different church organizations. In 1976-78, the Faith Baptists, now located on Hook Road used the Grange; from 1978-79the Marantha Fellowship, now on Route 332, used the building. The Missionary Alliance began to use the building in 1984 and is still meeting in the Grange Hall.

In May of 1978, with the closing of the Palmyra Grange Hall, the Palmyra Grange merged with the Farmington Branch, thus increasing the Town's Grange membership. In the summer of 1986 the building took on a new look with the installation of vinyl siding and trim. This was an improvemeht that should preserve the building for many years to come. The churches that used the building make this preservation possible. The Grange insurance program is of real interest and benefit to many people. This started as a Fire Insurance program but has expanded to include other insurance coverages.

A good Granger places faith in God, nurtures hope, dispenses charity and is noted for fidelity. MARGARET A. BAKER

Farmington Grange located on Hook Road.

86

First Award - Grange Exhibit 1909 Lewis Allen A.B. Katkamier

AMERICAN LEGION The American Legion was established on May 15, 1919 by a group of veterans while they were still in Paris, France. James Cooke, Post 931 in Victor, was chartered by fifteen World War I veterans one year later on June 29,1920. Only one of our World War I members, Roger C. Johnson, is still living today. The Post was named after a local veteran, James Cooke, who was killed in World War I.

Membership still requires that a veteran of any service must have served during a prescribed wartime period and be honorably discharged. The American Legion serves to perpetuate Americanism, fulfill obligations to the community, state and nation, promote peace and good will and sanctify our comradeship by our devotion to mutual helpfulness. Our Post home was started around 1947 on land purchased from the Victor School District, with only a covered basement to use for several years. The upper building was built around 1955, enabling larger size meetings, dances and other social events to take place at the Post. Due to critical space shortage at Victor Central Schools and because of decreased full use of our building, our membership voted to lease it in January, 1987 to the Victor Central School District. We now lease a small meeting room in Victor for our reduced needs.

We continue to sponsor and promote functions such as the Memorial Day Parade and celebration, donations to a number of school enrichment programs, children and youth programs, veterans' activities and welfare, veterans' grave markers and flag display.

87

THE FARMINGTON VOLUNTEER FIRE COMPANY The Farmington Volunteer Fire Company was formed in the fall of 1947 and chartered in 1948 with 31 members and at this writing, there are fourteen charter members of the company; the rest have answered the final summons. The first officers were: President-Kenneth Bowe, Vice President-Louis Pegelow, Treasurer-Gardner Sheldon, Recording Secretary-Edward Wehrlin, Financial Secretary-Walter Gardner and Sergeant at Arms-James Padgham. The company has two stations located on Hook Road. Station 1 is at Pumpkin Hook and was built in 1949 and enlarged in 1980. Station 2 operation was moved in 1976 from the Finger Lakes Race Track site to a new station at 1225 Hook Rd., that was built at a cost in excess of $100,000.

The Town of Farmington is organized as the Farmington Fire Protection District and the town contracts with Farmington, Manchester and Shortsville Fire Departments. The town residents also have the ambulance and emergency services of the Victor-Farmington Ambulance Corps, the Shortsville FD Ambulance, the Macedon FD Ambulance and the Palmyra Oxygen Service. The actual costs to the residents is minimal in view of the fact that all of these units are served by volunteers and the major part of the monies received by these units goes towards the cost of new equipment or the maintenance and upkeep on present equipment along with the buildings that house the units.

For nearly twenty years (since 1969), the firemen have sponsored a youth band called the Pumpkin Hook "Firebirds." The youngsters accompany the fire company at local parades. At present there are 60-70 band members. Scott Parker is their director.

Fire Station #1

I.

Fire Station #2

88

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE: The Farmington Chamber of Commerce was established July 15,1963. With thirty dues-paying members the Chamber's objective was to bring new industry and commercial venturs into the town. Some recent accomplishments are as follows: - the erection of a "Farmington" sign on the New York State Thruway, which was realized in 1982.

- a Farmington Post Office while it is not what the Chamber proposed, a Farmington branch of the Canandaigua Post Office serving a portion of the Town opened in 1986. -

placing of Farmington on road maps and state and county tourism maps accomplished in 1985.

There are currently ninety-eight members. VICTOR FARMINGTON ROTARY CLUB The Victor-Farmington Rotary Club was chartered in August, 1967. The original meeting place was Gilbert's Restaurant (now Park Place), located on Rt. 96 across from Raceway Lanes. The present meeting place is DiPacific's Restaurant, located at the corner of Rt. 96 and Rt. 332 in Farmington. The Club meets each Wednesday at 6:15 p.m. The major activities of the Rotary Club are: -

sponsoring handicapped children at Camp On-Se-Ya-Wa near Willard, New York.

-

participated in the Blood Mobile until 1986.

-

contributing to Rotary Foundation Camp in the Phillippines.

-

helping with the Polio Plus Program, which is a massive program to eliminate polio in the world by the year 2001.

VICTOR·FARMINGTON VOLUNTEER AMBULANCE CORPS The Victor-Farmington Volunteer Ambulance Corps was formed in 1970 to serve the communities of Victor and Farmington. It has been located at 1321 East Victor Road in the Town of Victor since 1971. Presently, there are seventy active volunteer members, who provide 24-hour ambulance service free of charge to the communities through the operation of two ambulances. As well, they offer a variety of first aid classes to the public and manage a loan closet of medical items which are loaned at no cost to town residents.

VFA Corps members: Linda Seifert Dorothy Wager Brad MacMonagle

89

.... .;�bLt:U AMERICAN VETERANS

The Disabled American Veterans organization is a non profit association of wartime disabled veterans with service connected disabilities of any type or degree. Founded in 1920 and recognized by Congress, this national organization strives to assist veterans and their families with claims and benefits related to VA programs. DAV Chapter 4 in Canandaigua is the local representative of this organization. Founded in 1937, Chapter 4 is active in assisting veterans in this area as well as supporting several other community related activities including scholarships for local schools, scouting, handicapped youth activities, volunteer work and work at the VA hospital. Chapter 4 consists of members from Ontario and Wayne counties.

James S. Robinson Commander, DAV Chapter 4 FARMINGTON SENIOR CITIZENS The Farmington Senior Citizens group, which is sponsored by the town, held its first meeting on October 4, 1976 at the Town Offices in the highway garage. There were 18 charter members. They continued meeting there until early 1977, at which time the meetings were moved to the Farmington Friends Church. Meetings are still held there on the first and third Mondays of each month. The first Monday a carry-in luncheon is held while the third Monday sandwiches and desserts are served. The membership is open to anyone 60 years of age or over. Throughout the years 226 members have been included in the rolls, though the average meeting attendance is about 50. As word of the groups' activities has spread, people from many of the surrounding towns have become part of Farmington's group.

At the meeting, fellowship is shared through games and card playing. As well, each meeting includes some form of entertainment: slide shows, lectures, music, dancing and similar activities. In addition, the group has done craft work for different charitable organizations over the years and also sponsors trips and tours each year. VICTOR·FARMINGTON ITALlAN·AMERICAN CIVIC ORGANIZATION The Victor-Farmington Italian-American Civic Organization was founded January 27, 1980. First meetings were held at the Black Diamond Hotel in Victor and Gullace's Restaurant. The original fifteen charter members were from the Victor­ Farmington area and membership has since expanded throughout the Tri-County area. It is a service organization actively sponsoring the following: • • • • • • •

Farmington Little League Baseball Victor/Farmington Ambulance Corp. Annual Senior Citizen's Dinner Italian/American scholarship fund Victor Central School Annual Victor Central Christmas Baskets Co-Sponsor with the American Legion for Boys State Program Individual assistance provided to the residents of the Victor/Farmington area at times of need

As of today the membership Is approximately 50 active and 20 social members. The club facility is at 9 East Main St. in Victor and meetings are conducted bi-monthly. THE FARMINGTON HISTORICAL SOCIETY The Farmington Historical Society began early in 1983 when several concerned residents of the town were interested in preserving the Former District #12 School known as the "Little Red School House" in Pumpkin Hook. It was realized that an organization was needed to begin preserving historic manuscripts, artifacts, photographs and historic sites and structures. Judge Joseph W. Cribb is our legal advisor and helped us obtain our provisional charter in 1984. This charter was signed by several in the town and is on display at the Town Hall. We meet now the 3rd Thursday of each month 7:30 at the Town Hall during September through June unless specified to the contrary. We have a business meeting followed by a program open to the public. We now have over 50 paid members. October, 1987, under the fine leadership of Elaine Czymmek we held our first Arts & Crafts show at the Town Hall as a fund raiser. Funds will be used to purchase 150 commemorative bicentennial plates. In June we hold a tour of historic buildings in the town and as well as taking other field trips during the year. We are currently involved in various programs for our Bicentennial as well as applying for our permanent charter. 90

THE VICTOR·FARMINGTON VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS The Victor-Farmington Veterans of Foreign Wars Memorial Post #7649 was mustered in as a Chartered VFW Post in April 1985 with a total membership of 51, including a former army nurse who served in Viet Nam. Due to the deaths of some members and others moving out of the area, the current membership is 36. During our short tenure as a VFW Post, we have conducted a "Lite-A-Bike" for safety campaign, presided over a flag raising ceremony at the Victor-Farmington Ambulance Corps, participated in the Memorial Day Parade in Victor, donated a cassette on drugs to the Victor Central School, presented an American flag to the Farmington Fire Department and conducted "Poppy" sales to benefit our disabled and needy veterans.

FARMINGTON·VICTOR KIWANIS CLUB The Farmington-Victor Kiwanis Club was founded by charter on June 5, 1986 - a spin off of the Canandaigua Kiwanis Club. There were 44 charter members. The current membership is 33. Our motto: WE BUILD. Kiwanis is an international service organization made up of several thousand local clubs. Our club is in the New York District and the Finger Lakes Division. The focus of Kiwanis is on helping the disadvantaged. The first Kiwanis Club was chartered in Detroit, Michigan on January 21, 1915, and Kiwanis extended into Canada in 1916. Not until 1962 were Kiwanis Clubs organized outside the U.S and Canada. The 1988 international theme is "Our Quest Their Best". The 1988 Kiwanis International President is a New York State resident. The 1988 service projects of the Farmington-Victor Kiwanis Club are: - donation of gift certificates to Jamie Uhl, a local bone marrow transplant patient, who is 4 years old. The money was used to buy clothing. - 1st annual after-tax-poor man's pancake breakfast to raise funds for physically and mentally disadvantaged in our communty held on April 16, 1988. - 3rd annual Community Flea Market June - summer road rally and picnic August - 3rd annual children's Christmas - December party

YOUTH ORGANIZATIONS Several groups in town provide our youth with an opportunity to grow as they enjoy the fellowship of others. There are many active branches of the Girl Scouts of America. The youngest of these are the Daisy troops for kindergarteners. Daisy Troop 274 has six members and meets in Pumpkin Hook, in the leader's home. Troop 901 has five girls and 984 has nine. The Brownies are for first through third graders. Listed below are the Brownie Troops and the number of members they contain: 8 # 160 # 248 - 11 # 257 - 10

#444 -

7

# 557 -

8

#863 -

8

# 293 -

# 1026 -

9

#335 -10

9

# 1078 - 10

The Junior Girl Scouts are fourth through sixth graders. The troops and their current number of participants follows: # 148 - 4 # 318 - 8 #366 -7 # 431 - 6

# 525 #660 -

7

# 867 - 9

5 6 # 790 # 852 - 14

There is one Cadette troop for seventh through ninth graders in which Farmington girls participate. That is Troop # 443 with six members. There is also one Senior troop # 125 with seven members.

91

It should be noted that the troops are composed of girls from all of the neighboring towns and are not only made up of Farmington girls. In addition to the girls, there are 75 adults (men and women) active in Girl Scouting in the Victor­ Farmington area.

The Girl Scouts provide many community services. Several troops have cleaned up roadsides, visited nursing homes and donated goods and toys to needy families. The Boy Scouts of America are also very well represented in Farmington. The youngest members are the Cub Scouts -troops # 52, 61 and 67. Troop 52 is sponsored by the Knights of Columbus of Victor and after twenty years of existence has a membership of 52 boys. Troop 61 is sponsored by the Victor PTSA (Parent Teacher Student Association) and has 33 members and is 31 years old. Troop 67 is sponsored by the First Methodist Church of Victor, has 64 boys and has been in existence for twenty years. The next level is that of the Boy Scouts. Farmington boys are members of four troops - 50, 60, 61 and 86. Troop 50 is sponsored by St. John's Lutheran Church in Farmington. At present, there are 24 boys in the troop which was started eight years ago. Troop 60 is sponsored by the Victor Lions Club and is one of the older troops in the area, having been chartered 56 years ago. There are currently 33 members. Troop 61 is sponsored by the First Presbyterian Church of Victor. There are 33 boys and the troop has been active for twenty eight years. Troop 86 is sponsored by the Fishers Fire Department. It is a relatively new troop. It has been in existence just one year and a half and has 14 members. There are two Explorer posts which Farmington young men belong to: # 1234 sponsored by North Coast Productions and has existed for a year. Seven of its twenty members participate in a trick bicycle riding and skating team. Post # 2400 is sponsored by the Victor Farmington Volunteer Ambulance Corps and is a cooed group with 15 members. It has existed for two years.

The Boy Scouts also are active in community service and give freely of their time and energies when called upon to aid various charitable organizations. In years past, there were several 4-H groups but there are

presently no active chapters.

Farmington does have a very active Little League baseball program and also a very popular youth soccer league.

The Pumpkin Hook Firebirds - 1988

92

XI

Businesses and Services

UTILITIES Rural electrification may have been established as early as 1889. In 1907, a strip of land seventy-five feet wide was purchased by the Niagara, Lockport and Ontario Power Company to erect a transmission line. This strip cuts across the entire town. There was a utility pole on Allen-Padgham Road in 1924. Rochester Gas and Electric had a franchise in 1925.

Telephones were in Farmington as early as the 1890's. A fiber optic telephone line is being planned by the MCI Telecommunications Corp. along the aforementioned right-of-way. Other utilities and services were installed with the advent of the Finger Lakes Race Track. The gas lines, sewer system, and the Town of Farmington water mains and the water department came into existence in 1961. The sewage disposal plant was built in 1967.

THE RAILROADS The original company to purchase the land in 1890 was the Buffalo and Geneva Railway Company. Later this became the Lehigh Valley. The Lehigh Valley and the New York Central Roads served this area well for three quarters of a century. The baggage station and the depot on the Central were at West Farmington, or Mertensia and H.H. Collins was one of the last agents at that stop.

The original name of the Lehigh station was Farmton and it was located where the railroad crossed County Road 8. This station served the town for about fifty years. It was the site of a prosperous coal, fertilizer and produce business, operated by Joe Tuttle, Mr. & Mrs. Dillman, and later by Lewis Peglow, who added a propane gas business. The rail siding at this location was used for many years by local farmers who loaded cars with hay, straw, grain and wool. They also purchased fertilizer and coal. More recently Finger Lakes Race Track loaded horse manure for shipment to Pennsylvania where it was used in the cultivation of mushrooms. Many older residents of the town remember "The Black Diamond", a noted passenger train, which passed through Farmington at noon. It's whistle at Farmington Station was the signal for the local farmers to hurry home for lunch. Today the station and various sections of track have been removed. The road between Victor and Shortsville is now owned by Ontario County and is leased to an independent company that hauls freight to shippers along the road. FINGER LAKES RACE TRACK

Plans for the Finger Lakes Race Track in Farmington first began in 1954 by Karl Schlegel, Jr. and were abandoned June 17,1955. The option for land was kept open and two groups of promoters worked at getting state approval for a running track at this site. The Finger Lakes Haclnq Association, Inc. headed by J.P. Maguire, Jr. received approval April 9,1959 and hoped to have the track set up for 1960 racing. The race track finally opened May 23, 1962. The local people and surrounding towns gave much disapproval, this being a Quaker settlement. With the finacial help of the FLRA, it was possible for the town to initiate the construction of water and sewer lines. The school tax paid by the association is a considerable amount. The jobs provided for local people have been many. Restaurants and motels, as well as individual rooms rented, have brought money into our town. In fact, the fast growth of the town began with the Race Track. Farmington has been the site of three horse race tracks. There is no question but what the present Finger Lakes Race Track is the best and widest known of the tracks. This is the only fast track of the three with the others being known as harness racing tracks. One of these tracks was located on the "Stockfarm" near the intersection of the Shortsville Road and County Road 8 and the other was located on the south east quadrant of the intersection of the Allen-Padgham Road and the Hook Road. The former of these properties is presently the site of Payne Farms while the latter was on the present Bowe Farms.

GUSTAVUS WEHRLlN

93

FURROWS TO FURLONGS On Wednesday, May 23, 1962, an estimated 9000 fans watched Pure Village win the first race ever run at Finger Lakes Race Track. The late, Red Smith, sports columnist for the NEW YORK TIMES wrote that Pure Village's performance was "excellent for a mule and phenomenal for a fat man." Kenneth E. Bowe - Town Supervisor in 1960 - was an early and active supporter of the race track. When ground was broken for the one mile oval racing strip, Ken predicted "far flung economic ramifications." He later became Track Superintendent and then served as Placing Judge until his death in 1973.

As Ken predicted, the track has been the keystone of economic activity in Town. It all began with 10 miles of sewer line and a new water district along Rt. 96 to service the track.

The track has survived bankruptcy, strikes, scandal and a fire on October 10, 1964 in which a groom and 22 horses perished. Pretty blue eyed blonde, Mary Bacon, was the first winning Jockette, (as female jockeys were called in the 1960's) when she won aboard a horse named Charalon on June 5, 1969. Mary went on to compete at major tracks and to pose for PLAYBOY.

The first black Jockette, Cheryl White, rode at Finger Lakes in 1972. The first $100,000 New York Breeder's Futurity was won by the 18 year old teenage sensation, Steve Cauthen, aboard Dedicated Rullah on September 23, 1978.

The first track in the state to offer Sunday racinq was Finger Lakes on July 29, 1973. Sunday remains the most popular day of the track's racing week. Twilight racing has been tried but is now on hold.

Slightly more than half of all betting on thoroughbred racing in NY State is at off-track betting parlors. On track wagering has decreased accordingly. Along with off track betting, automation has replaced many pari-mutuel clerks. While the thoroughbred racing season extends from late April to late November each year, simulcasting is a successful winter venture at the Thumb. (A term coined by George Beahon - past sports writer for the DEMOCRAT & CHRONICLE) Wagering is conducted on races televised from other tracks.

The thoroughbred race track, located on the wheat fields of the Everett Blazey's 400 acre farm, is now the major employer in Farmington and the major purchaser of supplies and services. The first 25 years of operation of The Finger Lakes Race Track can aptly be described by Red Smith's description of the winner of the first race in 1962, "Excellent for a mule." Bette Earl Ranney - 1988

94

SMALL BUSINESSES

INDUSTRIES

A.B. Products Machine Shop & Metalizing AJ's Car Wash All Star Properties

Babcock Lumber Griffin Technologies Gypsum Systems Interiors, Ltd. Hansen Steel Company Ingleside Machine Company Inter-Vac J.C.R. Enterprtses (A.S.I. of New York) K.J. Transportation, Inc. Ultra Fab., Inc. Victor Lumber Mfg. Division - Ryan Homes Videk

Apple-A-Daycare Atwal Mini Warehouse Auto Repair The Bag Lady Bauer's Garage Beal's Auto Service Beehive Laundromat, Dry Cleaning & Car Wash Dale Brake Machine Shop Castle Cleaners Catering Concepts (Breaktime) C & 0 Crate Company Chardez Hair Parlor Clean Your Carpets Cook Brothers Truck Parts, Co., Inc. Covington Commons Shopping Park Paul V. Crandall, Professional Land Surveyor Ewing Lettering & Striping The Farm Market Farmington Construction Company Farmington Country Plaza Farmington Farm & Garden

RESTAURANTS Bill Gray's Restaurants Charlie Taylor's Dari-An Del 40's Denny's Restaurant Di Pacific's Farmington Country Pizza Kentucky Fried Chicken McDonald's of Farmington Mister K's Family Restaurant Park Place Restaurant Sunrise Hill Inn Tony's Deli & Pizza Twentyfives's Restaurant

Farmington Liquor Farmington Sales Farmington Tru-Value Hardware Flora & Benson Construction Hairtique Salon, Incorporated Herendeen Paint and Restoration Heritage Motors Horncastle Upholstering Jantzen Roofing & Siding

LEISURE ACTIVITIES AND RELATED BUSINESSES

A-Train Video Avanti Travel Service Entertainment Services Jim's Pro Shop Raceway Lanes Urzetta's Golf Range Video Classics Winged Pheasant Gold Course

Jeffrey Fuels, Incorporated John's Service Station L.A. Johnson Company, Incorporated G.L. Keyes, Incorporated Thrift Shop (Millbrook Bread) Mini Warehouses Murphy Carwash Northern Nurseries of New York, Inc. Northrup Concrete Northrup Homes Nu-Way Auto Parts Larry Pau Iy Pri nt Shop Pal-Mac Overhead Door, Inc. Plants-n-Th i ngs Post Time Liquor Larry Potter, Builder

MOTELS & CAMPGROUNDS Crawshaw's Motel KOA Campground Sunrise Hill Inn Trav-L-Rest Inn

GROCERY STORES

Progressive Printing H. David Ranney Realtors Reno Associates, Inc. Rochester Welding Supply Sackett's Automotive Service, Inc. S.D.B. Machine Company Town Crier Ltd. East, Realtors Tri-County Builders Van Norman's Pool Supplies Walsh & Co. Certified Public Accountants Jack Weber Insurance Edward R. Weigert, Inc. Plumbing & Heating Xerxes Uti I ity Contractor, Inc.

Sugarcreek Townsend's Grocery Wade's Market BANK Canandaigua National Bank Farmington Office

PHYSICIANS & DENTISTS

Leon Muscarella, D.D.S. Woodworth Medical Building

95

ACTIVE FARMING OPERATIONS GENERAL FARMS:

HORSE FARMS:

Bowe Farms, I nco Sheldon Farms Ralph Bowerman Farms Ronnie Cramer Dallas Dickinson Farms Sadler Farms Cooley Farms Gerlock Farms Joe Maslyn Herendeen Farms Black Brook Farms Herb Reed Farms

John Sebastian Dave Ranney Raymond LeCesse David Markcraft A. & L. Muchard A. Tantalo R & R Farms Murphy Farms There are probably other small operating farms in the town as well.

Harvey English Payne or Hickory Lane Farms Harold Weigert Bob Weigert Merkley Tony Mandrino L. & O. Young Marvin Farms Padbrook Farms - Richard Padgham

"Charlie's Dry House" - South of Hook.

96

Bert Stevenson's "Plowing Bee".

Ed Stevenson's Barn Raising.

97

Cornfield in Farmington around 1900.

Gravel Pit field south of Gravel Pit House.

98

Vet Buckley - first orchard spraying in locality - driver - Fritz Schroth.

Little Mike Crowley - Brownsville.

99

James Neary and his threshing outfit (circa 1900).

t t

A Corn Combine 1987.

100

POST OFFICE Prior to the advent of rural delivery (about 1917) the residents of the Town of Farmington were served by four local post offices with "window mail", the location of which were the village of New Salem (Pumpkin Hook), Brownsville, Mertensia and Tuttles Station (near the intersection of County Road 8 and the former Lehigh Valley Railroad.) For some time after the closing of these offices, the residents were served by the offices of Victor, Canandaigua, Shortsville, Palmyra and Macedon. This service continued until 1985 when the Farmington Branch of the Canandaigua Post Office was established on the west side of Route 332 south of Route 96. This office serves the residents of the south part of the town while the other residents still receive their mail through the offices of Shortsville, Palmyra and Macedon.

u.S. Post Office - Farmington Branch (1987 photo).

TROOPERS' BARRACKS· TROOP E The New York State Troopers' Barracks was established September 6, 1967. Troop E covers a ten county area and employs both troopers and civilian personnel.

About forty-five troopers are stationed at the barracks. Their territory covers a ten county area. Included are the Special Investigators, who handle major crimes, narcotics and hazardous materials cases. Another group, including nine civilians, works in communications, public information and crime prevention. Troop E station includes fifteen road troopers, six investigation experts and four troopers who weigh and inspect tractor trailer trucks. There are three helicopter pilots, who work out of the Monroe County Airport, and a dog handler. Fourteen civilians work in clerical positions and nine in the garage and maintenance areas.

101

NYS Troop E Barracks (1987 photo).

102

XII

Town Government

TOWN RECORDS No town history is more interesting than that which treats the formation of the machinery of local government. It is the pride of the citizen, a system of pure democracy, and lies at the threshold of republican power and performance. THE TOWN The district of Farmington, as it was termed, was named after Farmington, Connecticut and originally included both Farmington and Manchester within its boundaries. The later was taken off March 31, 1821, and was named Burt, in honor of a member of the Assembly by that name. The citizens of Farmington also turned to the task of establishing a town government. The earliest town meeting of record was in 1797 when Jared Comstock was voted Supervisor. One of the earliest laws enacted was one forbidding owners to allow their horses to run free on the Commons. It is said that the Commons was near the original site of the District #12 school. A town well was also on this lot, probably on the corner (of Hook and Allen-Padgham Roads).

EXCERPTS FROM TOWN RECORDS "At a town meeting held at the house of Nathan Aldrich, in and for the Town of Farmington, on the 4th of April, 1797, agreeable to an act of the Court of Sessions for the County of Ontario, a meeting was opened and superintended by Phineas Bates, Esq .. when the following officers were chosen: Jared Comstock

Supervisor

Isaac Hathaway

Town Clerk

Jonathan Smith Nathan Pierce Otis Comstock

Commissioners of Roads

Gilbert Bush Benjamin Peters Job Howland Welcome Herendeen Turner Aldrich Gideon Payne

Asa Wilmarth John McLouth Isaac Hathaway

Nathan Herendeen Joab Gillett

Pou nd-M asters

Assessors

Nathan Herendeen Joseph Smith

Poor-Masters

Joseph Smith

Sealer of Weights and Measures

Abiathar Powers Sharon Booth

Collectors

Jacob Smith Jared Comstock Joshua Van Fleet

David Smith

Constable

Path-Masters & Fence-Viewers

Committee on Schools

The following include some of what the officers voted on:

"Voted, ten dollars for every wolf's head that is catched and killed within the bounds of said district." "Whereas David Smith is voted in constable, the town has reconsidered his standing as constable for the present year. Sharon Booth is made constable."

"Voted, one hundred and fifty dollars to be raised to defray town charges." "It was agreed that the town meeting should for the future be held at the house of Nathan Herendeen in said town." On April 25, 1797, the town called a special meeting and elected John McLouth assessor, and Joseph Smith poor­ master and sealer of weights and measures, to fill vacancy, the others not serving.

On May 15th another meeting was held, and the people finding their self-imposed tribute too high, concluded to take off one hundred dollars from the amount voted to defray expenses.

103

THE LAST WOLF HUNT In the year 1813 a wolf killed and wounded many sheep in the eastern part of the town. A party set out during a winter's day and tracked the wolf to a swamp, where he was surrounded. Pardon Arnold fired the shot which killed him, and the head being taken to Nathan Pierce, Sr., the Supervisor, a bounty of ten dollars was received, that being the sum then offered by the town as an inducement to hunt the "varmints". This was the last wolf hunt in the town. In this connection we quote the following from an old record: "David Gold produced me a wolf-scalp, which he caught in this town, with the ears thereon, which were cropped agreeable to law, January 25, 1798, which I gave him certificate for." Isaac Hathaway, Town Clerk (Wolves were not the only one of the local fauna to have a bounty put on them. Woodpeckers, too, suffered this fate. Each was worth 2 cents).

THE LIQUOR LICENSE In an old book called the "Book of Records of Excise for the Town of Farmington", we find that the sale of liquor was at one time "absolutely necessary", as the following will show: "At a meeting of the Commissioners of Excise for the Town of Farmington, in the County of Ontario, held at the house of Alfred Cooper, on the 19th day of May, 1847, Thomas J. McLouth, Supervisor; Nathan Aldrich and Lindley W. Smith, two of the Justices of the Peace of said town, being present, on application of Alfred Cooper, of the aforesaid town, to keep a tavern for the accomodation of travelers in his house, and also to sell strong and spirituous liquors, to be drunk in his house, and he having executed and delivered to the supervisor of said town, a bond to the people of the State of New York in the penal sum of $125.00, with sufficient security, and also having paid to the said supervisor the sum of $5.00 for a license; therefore, Resolved, License is hereby granted by us, the aforesaid Commissioners, to Alfred Cooper aforesaid, to keep a public house and to sell strong and spiritious liquors and wines, to be drunk in his house, we being satisfied that the said Alfred Cooper is of good moral character; that he is of sufficient ability to keep a tavern, and that he had the necessary accommodations to entertain travelers, at the place where the said Alfred Cooper proposes to keep the same. In witness thereof we have hereunto subscribed our names, the 19th day of May, 1847:

SIGNED: Thomas J. McLouth, Supervisor Justices Lindley W. Smith Nathan Aldrich For many years the sale of intoxicating beverages was illegal in the town of Farmington. The last license issued in the 1800's was issued the third day of May, 1852 and was to run one year. It read as follows:

"At an annual meeting of the Commissioners of Excise of the town of Farmington, held at the town house in said town on the third day of May, 1852, Present: Lindley W. Smith, Supervisor Robert B. Robinson Nathan Aldrich Justices Marshall McLouth The board being thus organized, Arthur Power appeared and applied for a license to keep an Inn, or Tavern, to sell strong and spirituous liquors and wines, to be drunk In his house where he now resides, during the ensuing year. On motion Is was unanimously resolved that License be granted to the said Arthur Power to keep an Inn or Tavern at his house In the town of Farmington for the ensuing year, to sell strong and spirituous liquors and wines to be drunk therein and that he pay the sum of five dollars for the same.

SIGNED: Lindley W. Smith, Supervisor Nathan Aldrich Marshall McLouth Justices Robert B. Robl nson Edward Herendeen, Town Clerk Flied on the 3rd day of May, 1852.

104

Assessors Levi A. Redfield.

Edwin J. Gardner

Julius F. Aldrich

Town Officials 1988 Front Row:

Jack McCabe, Ron Chapman, Rose Kleman, Larry Potter, Gus Wehrlin.

Back Row:

Wes Payne, Jim Crane, Gary Scribner, Leo Everdyke, Everett Blazey, Jr.

105

COUNTERFEIT RING The Town of Farmington was the scene of considerable excitement about 1824, in connection with the issue of a large quantity of counterfeit coin which flooded this section of the country. A counterfeiter was taken at Genesee, and informed upon the others. Acting on the information that the bogus coin was made in the cellar of a house occupied by a man named Butler near the west line of Farmington, the county sheriff and posse came first to Victor and were guided by Thomas Embry, a clerk for Bushnell and Jenks, of Victor, to the suspected house. Leaving their team at the corner by the orchard of David Smith, the "party proceeded on foot. Arriving at the house and demanding entrance, they were refused permission to come in by Mrs. Butler, who was alone. They took a plow standing near, and with it as a battering­ ram, broke open the door, but the visit was fruitless. A party was left to watch the house, and in a short time it was announced that Butler was about, yet he eluded them. A search was now made of the house from garret to cellar, and in the later place were found all the necessary material and implement for coininq money. These were seized and taken away. Butler was never caught, and shortly after the descent, Mrs. Butler was missing, and never afterwards seen. The counterfeiter's den was formerly the residence of Calvin Payne, who found moulds and other tools used in the nefarious business in the bottom of a well. It was then owned by George Loomis, and was occupied by him prior to building his new house.

THE CENSUS The first census taken in Farmington was in 1830, showing a population of 1,773. Other census figures are:

1840 1860 1870 1880 1890 1900 1910

1930 - 1,477 1940 - 1,453 1950 - 1,399 1960 - 2,114 1970 - 3,565 1980 - 8,933 1988 - (estimate) - 11,000

-2,122 -1,858 -1,896 -1,978 -1,703 -1,607 -1,568

TOWN HALL The first town meeting was held on April 4,1797 at the cabin of Nathan Aldrich. Thereafter town meetings were held at the home of Nathan Herendeen. Then in 1830, a committee of three persons, John Lapham, Welcome Smith, and Simpson Harvey, were appointed to locate a site for the Farmington Town House. Considerable difficulty was met with in an endeavor to accomplish the object. The members of the committee being from different parts of the town, each desired to locate it nearest his section. The geographical center was in the midst of a swamp, where it could not be built. While the matter was still in dispute, Mr. Harvey died, and A.M. Rush was appolnted in his place. It was finally agreed that it should be built upon site No. 65, in district No. 13. A town house was erected about 1833 by Theodore Hayward. This building presented a neat and attractive appearance. It had three rooms; the front room was a place of assembly, and connected by doors to the judge's room and the office of the Town Clerk. The Town Hall was located on County Road #8 and Collett Road (then Plastermlll Road) facing County Road #8. Town meetings were held in the old town hall until 1960 and then were held in the present town highway barns for awhile. A new town hall and road equipment storage barn was built on Collett Road behind the site of the first town hall in 1962 at a cost of $40,000.00. The old town hall was torn down in 1966. Some residents felt that the town hall obstructed their view when approaching the corner. Meetings in the old town hall were held around an old pot-bellied stove and many can remember the Town Meetings held there.

The present Town Hall, located at 1000 County Road #8, was constructed in 1978-79 at a cost of $350,000.00. The facilities were first occupied In June 1979. It should be noted that the structure was entirely paid for that same year, thus Incurring no debt. Most of the town officials have offices In the Town Hall. These Include the Town Clerk (prior to 1962, the clerk's business was conducted from his/her home), the Supervisor, the Zoning Officer/Building Inspector, the Parks Maintenance Superintendent, the Water and Sewer Superintendent and the Highway Superintendent. The construction of the present facility also allowed for adequate space for the Town Court proceedings. The justices had previously been holding court In their private residences. The Town Hall Is fully utilized. All Town Board meetings and committee meetings are held there. In addition, many non­ profit town organizations such as the Farmington Historical Society and Brownies make use of these facilities. At the current time, there Is not enough meeting space to appropriately serve the growing town's needs and the possibility of building a Community Center Is being considered. 106

1987 Z(

a
RR-40

RR-40

RMF��

NGMAP )F

OF

MACEDON

FARMINGTON COUNTY

co ('J

� 96

0 ... 0 a:

..

AOAO

IF

Former Town Hall (built 1852) and Town Barns circa 1962.

Town Hall (1987 photo).

107

TOWN OFFICIALS The following were town officers in 1897: William H. Edmonston A.H. Stevenson Charles G. McLouth James S. Carson Edwin J. Gardner A.B. Katkamier George Whittaker

Supervisor Town Clerk Justice of Peace Justice of Peace Justice of Peace Justice of Peace Collector and Constable

Marvin D. McLouth Julius F. Aldrich E.A. Adams E.J. Berry Milton A. Smith

Overseeer of the Poor Highway Commissioner

Charles Gardner Fred Robbins

Constable Constable

Ronald Chapman Jack McCabe Larry Potter Gustavus Wehrlin Rose M. Kleman Jennie Potter Evelyn Sadler Leo M. Everdyke Audrey F. Everdyke Everett Blazey, Ch.

Councilman Councilman Councilman Councilman Town Clerk Deputy Clerk Tax Collector

Robert Gerlock Vacant at present time Pat Sisson, Ch. David Lynch, Ch.

Assessor Assessor Recreation Commission Town Planning Board

Assessor Assessor Assessor

The following are town officers in 1988:

Wesley T. Payne Gustavus Wehrlin Richard Cooksey Larry Scott Everett Blazey Jim Potter Ron Thorpe, Ch. James Crane Margaret Hartsough L. Edward Monaghan Robert Kleman, Ch. Todd Gerlock Gordon Breese, Ch.

Supervisor Deputy Supervisor Town Justice Town Justice Zoning Enforcement Officer/Building Insp. Deputy Bldg. Insp. Zoning Bd. of Appeals Water & Sewer Super. Town Historian Town Attorney Board of Assessment Dog Control Officer Conservation Board

Highway Superintendent Deputy Highway Super. Assessor

SUPERVISOR The Town Supervisor is the chief administrative officer for the town. He has numerous duties. He presides at all meetings of the Town Board and is responsible for preparing and handling the annual town budget. While policy decisions are the domain of the Town Board, the Supervisor is responsible for executing the policies set forth by the Town Board. The first town meeting was held in the cabin of Nathan Aldrich on the 4th of April, 1797 and Jared Comstock was elected the first supervisor of the Town of Farmington. Elections of town officers were originally held in the spring of each year. This procedure continued until 1903, when election time was changed to November state-wide. Wesley T. Payne is the current supervisor. He was first elected in 1975 and took office in January 1976. He is serving his first four-year term as supervisor. Previous to a 1985 referendum passed by the townspeople, the supervisor's term was two years. He was Chairman of the Ontario County Board of Supervisors for 5 years and has served on several county committees as well as serving as the Chairman of the four-county Solid Waste Authority. The greatest change that he has seen in the Town of Farmington is the extensive growth in the areas of population, construction and business expansion. He cites such advancements as the development of a town-wide drainage district, the acquisition and developement of park lands, creation of an industrial park, and the construction of the present Town Hall (1978-79) as highlights that have occurred under his administration. In addition, there have been extensions to the water and sewer lines, the landfill has been closed and a computer system has been added to the Town Hall offices (April 1984) to issue water and sewer bills and catalog assessment information and store town financial records. More recent changes include: revamped zoning codes and the addition of a second code enforcement officer and the development of a communications center at the Town Hall with a receptionist. With the new growth, the supervisor's job has become more complex. Gone are the days when the Town Board could meet once every other month to handle town affairs. The office of supervisor, while still considered part-time, has become a full-time commitment. Likewise, the supervisor's staff has increased accordingly from one part-time secretary to two full-time ones. These positions are presently held by Pat Frederick and Charmaine Smith. The current town budget for 1988 is over 3% million dollars. It is certain that in the future the job of supervisor will continue to become more demanding as the Town of Farmington continues to grow. The path already laid by those supervisors who went' before will serve as an aid in dealing with the complex challenges faced by the town in its next 200 years.

108

SUPERVISORS· TOWN OF FARMINGTON April 1797 April 1813

.

April 1847 April 1852

.

. .

Aprl 1852·Apri I 1857 April 1857 April 1860 April 1861 April 1862 1862 April April 1864 April 1865 April 1866 March 1866 - April 1867 April 1867 March 1871

. . . . . . .

March 1871 - March 1873. . March 1873 - March 1875. : March 1875 - March 1877 .. : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : March 1877 - March 1879 . March 1879 - March 1880 . March 1880 - March 1886 . March 1886 - March 1887 . March 1887 - March 1888 . March 1888 - March 1892 . March 1892 - March 1894 . March 1894 - March 1896 . March 1896 - March 1898 . *

March 1898 - March 1901 March 1901 - November 1903

.

November 1903-November 1905

.

.

November 1905-November 1913

.

November 1913-November 1923 November 1923 - November 1925

.

November 1925 - November 1933 November 1933 - November 1935 November 1935 - November 1941

.

November 1941 - November 1957 November 1957 - November 1964 November 1964 - November 1975

.

November 1975 - Present.

.

. . . . .

Jared Comstock Nathan Pierce, Sr. Thomas J. McLouth Lindley W. Smith Edward Herendeen Gideon R. Payne E.H. Knight Gardner L. Sheldon Marshall McLouth Gardner Mason Gardner Sheldon-elected on death of Gardner Mason Daniel R. Smith George Collins Amos C. Brown Lyman G. Lapham George Loomis Ellery G. Allen LeGrand L. Morse Henry Greene Jared S. Rose Charles H. Herendeen Henry C. Osburn William H. Edmonston Charles H. Herendeen Edwin J. Gardner Charles H. Herendeen Joseph W. Tuttle Albert H. Stevenson John A. Scribner Oscar B. Gardner Gilbert H. Padgham Oscar B. Gardner RoyW. Wyman Kenneth E. Bowe Elwyn C. Herendeen Wesley T. Payne

*

Note change of election date - from spring to fall. Also note that beginning in 1903 supervisors were elected in November but served from January tst to December 31st.

TOWN CLERK The Town Clerk's office has always been the information center for town residents. We issue conservation, marriage and dog licenses. We also issue various permits and collect water and sewer bills. We try to answer questions or refer you to someone who can help with your question or problem. We have our office at the Town Hall and are open forty­ three hours per week. Prior to 1978 and the construction of the present town hall, the clerks had their offices at their homes and were available to the public both day and night. The Farmington Town Clerk's office has not always been as busy as it is today. For example, in 1955 the money taken in was $361.00 as compared to 1987 in which our office took in $1,381,171.76. In 1950 the population was 1399 and in 1987 is was estimated to be 10,000 + . From April of 1839 to present there were 26 town clerks, some only serving one year. The longest in office was Frank O. Power who served twenty years (1908-1927). In November, 1929 Fred Herendeen lost the election by one vote to Gilbert H. Padgham, 272 to 273 votes. The Town was originally governed by a Town Board which consisted of a Supervisor and four Justices and in 1939 the Town Board was changed by State Law to Supervisor and four Councilmen. The Town Clerk is also Clerk of the Town Board. The oldest minutes that can be accounted for date back to 1797 and this book was turned over to the County in * 1958.

109

In 1922 the first two voting machines were used in the Town, one at North Farmington Grange and one at the Old Town House at the corner of Collett and County Road 8. At that time we had two voting districts and today we have seven.

In 1915 the dog tax set by the Town Board was $1.00 for the first dog, $3.00 for second dog, $3.00 for one bitch and $5.00 for the second bitch. In 1917 it was $2.00 for the first dog, $5.00 for the second, $5.00 for the first bitch and $15.00 for the second. Also the Town Board set a reward of $10.00 for each and every dog caught killing sheep in the town. Edwin J. Gardner was the first dog enumerator in 1929. The Clerk is also Registrar of Vital Statistics. The oldest records we have date back to the late 1800's when there were fifteen to twenty births (born at home) in the town per year. Since 1958 we have had only three registered births. At present Rose M. Kleman is Town Clerk and has held that position since 1974. The Deputy Clerk is appointed by the Town Clerk. Jennie Potter has held that position since 1978. *(These record books could not be located, neither at the County Archives nor in the Town Records, at this writing in 1988). TOWN JUSTICES Farmington has two town justices, Richard Cooksey and Larry Scott, who serve 4-year terms. They each work 20 hours per week and together they hear close to 2000 cases per year. The caseload breaks down as follows: Traffic cases -1600, Criminal cases - 290 and OWl - 90. These cases generate approximately $90,000 per year in fines.

Criminal cases that come under the jurisdication of the town court range from simple harassment to murder. In the case of a violation or misdemeanor, the town court hears the entire case. In a felony, the town court holds the arraignment and preliminary hearing and then the case goes to the Grand Jury. The town court holds very few jury trials. Town justices receive six days of basic training from the Office of Court Administration in New York City. They return once each year for recertification and advanced training. TAX COLLECTOR "Taxes" is not a word that everyone likes to hear, of course, but everyone knows that for ages this has been a means of revenue for a town and county to use to carry out its business and services to the public.

The Office of Tax Collector has the duty to send out tax bills to property owners, collect taxes due and disperse to our Town Supervisor and County Treasurer the amounts paid. There have been many Tax Collectors in the history of Farmington. In the beginning the office was held by men elected in March to one year terms. This continued until 1895 when two year terms went into effect and elections were held in November. In 1944, the first woman elected Tax Collector, was Lillian Briggs, who served for 12 years, followed by Valerie Weigert in 1956. Grace Allen was elected for 1962 and served for 16 years, the longest time this position had been held by one person. In 1978 Evelyn Sadler continued in this office which she still holds at present. In the November 1985 election it was voted to extend this office to four year terms.

The rapid growth of our town began in the 1960's. In 1962 there were approximately 600 parcels in our town. In 1972 there were 974 parcels and the amount of $409,437.17 on the tax roll to be collected. In 1978 there were 2,130 parcels and $817,618.55 on the tax roll to be collected. Of this amount, $447,615.83 was to be paid to the County Treasurer and $370,003.02 was to be paid to the town. In 1980 the number of parcels had increased to 2,743. This year of 1988 saw 3,014 parcels and $1,948;854.59 on the tax roll. The County is to receive $1,280,860.37 of this amount and the town receives $667,994.22 Already for 1989 another 400 to 500 new parcels are anticipated as our Town of Farmington continues to grow.

110

TOWN COUNCILMEN At present, four councilmen along with the Supervisor comprise the Town Board. As members of the Town Board, they attend meetings and vote to set town policy. They hire non-elected officers such as the Parks Maintenance Superintendent, the Water/Sewer Superintendent, Recreation Director, Dog Control Officer, etc. They are responsible for the legislative duties of the town and general town affairs. To aid them in directing these, they appoint committees: Town Planning Board, Zoning Board of Appeals, Conservation Board, etc. Often councilmen choose to serve on these committees as liasons to the Town Board as well. While for the major part of Farmington's history, men have held these positions, it should be noted that in November of 1983, the town's first Councilwoman, Mary Hillerman was elected. She served one four-year term from 1984 - 1987 and continues to actively participate in the community as a member of other committees and is also very involved in the work of the Republican Committee. In 1987 Jack McCabe was the first councilman elected on the Democratic ticket in many years. The last Democratic representative to the town government was Kenneth Bowe, who was Supervisor during the late 1950s and early 1960s.

Republican Rally - school house yard #12. Wm. McKinley/Hobart Ticket.

111

I r--

ELECTION DISTRICTS 1-2

Fire Hall Station One

3-7

Farmington Town Hall

112

HIGHWAY DEPARTMENT

What might have been the first official road in the Town of Farmington was called Mud Road. It was long used as an Indian Trail connecting the 17th century Indian sites from Totiakton at Honeoye Falls, Rochester junction, Gannagaro (Boughton Hill) to the Cayuga villages at the north end of Cayuga Lake. "We the Road Commissioners of Farmington, having by public request been called upon to layout a road, having attended to the business as follows: first beginning at a canting oak tree at corner of the roads running from Job Howland's corner and distance heregiven to Abiathar Power's and Gideon Payne's improvements, thence on the line between Power's and said Payne west six hundred and forty rods to town line near Mud Creek, five miles and one hundred and forty-eight rods nearly." (This road is believed to be County Road 41). Jonathan Smith Otis Comstock Nathan Pierce Commissioners The first road commissioner was Otis Comstock. He was appointed by the officers of the town in 1789. From that time until the early 1900's, the town was divided into 45 small districts. Each district was overseen by 4 or 5 appointed path viewers who maintained the roads in that district. These path viewers were also called path-masters. The first elected Highway Commissioner was Julius Aldrich. The legislature of the Town of Farmington established districts throughout the township and appointed three to four Commissioners of Highways to watch and oversee highways in districts designated to them. Meetings were called by said commissioners to resolve problems pertaining to these roads. They also got the taxpayers to work on these roads, which were no more than lanes, to keep them open until they were dedicated to the town. The people who lived on a particular road paid their taxes by either performing hand labor or labor by using their teams and wagons. All expenditures of highway funds for early road maintenance had to be agreed upon by the Town Board and this is done yet today. In the early days, the tax base was small, so the town floated a bond or Certificates of Indebtedness to be paid for over a period of three to five years. This is the way the Highway Department purchased equipment to build and maintain roads and also paid for snow removal. If the town was unable to open a road after a snow storm, it hired the residents to shovel the snow by hand. As the town grew, it expanded its road system to about 86 miles of dedicated highways. Then in 1929, Ontario County took over portions of these roads: County Road #8, County Road #28 and County Road #41. Remaining portions became county roads as late as 1963. About 1948, the New York State Thruway was built through the town cutting it in two. It cut off several roads, leaving them to be dead ends or abandoned. This is when several name changes occurred. Some roads were connected to others and given that name. A few became dead ends or abandoned. Among these are the following: Collett Road West Crowley Road Curran Road Herendeen Road Loomis Road Mertensia Road Plastermill Road Stafford Road

- dead end -

partially abandoned - connected to Hook Rd. and Crowley Rd. - dead end - detoured - dead end - dead end - dead end

The town highway sheds, as they were called because they were simply storage sheds, had heat in only one bay. This bay was heated by a wood stove and the wood was cut from roadsides by the highway employees during the winter months. The first highway building to house equipment was built around 1852 at what was then known as "Tuttle's Corners", at the north-western intersection of Plastermill Rd. (now Collett Rd.) and County Road #8. This building was added on to twice in 1910 and again in 1926. It burned while a new building was being constructed in August of 1961. The new highway garage had four bays and a meeting room on the eastern end of the building. Town Board meetings were held there until a new Town Hall was finished adjacent to the New York State Thruway on County Road #8, in 1978. Other town offices were also housed here prior to the completion of the new Town Hall. In 1973, four more bays were added to the highway garage to store equipment, and in 1975 a 40 foot by 60 foot salt-storage shed was built to prevent run-off and to protect the environment. Then in 1987, a cold storage building was constructed to store highway and parks equipment.

There are currently 80 miles of dedicated roads, of which 7% miles are still gravel. These gravel roads are Curran Road, Latting Road, Mt. Payne Road, Payne Road, Rushmore-Sheldon Road, Wiborn Road and Landfill Road.

113

The town now has a drainage district which consists of all the area east of County Road #8 and extending north and south to the town lines of Canandagua, Victor, Perinton, and Macedon. It is maintained by the Highway Department and was established to improve water run-off and poor drainage due to rapid development in the town.

The Highway Department now has a Highway Superintendent, elected by the people. In 1985, by permissive referendum of the people of the town, the term was changed from a 2-year to a 4-year term. Leo Everdyke has held this position since January 1, 1970 and is currently serving his first four-year term. He was elected following the retirement of the former superintendent, George Ford. In addition to the superintendent, the Highway Department consists of 12 full-time employees. They have a yearly budget of $1 million used to maintain and operate numerous pieces of equipment, plus other operating expenses and payrolls. A list of equipment is as follows:

3 - 10-wheeler dump trucks 4 - single axle dump trucks 1 - Oshkosh snow fighter 1 - Vac-all (street sweeper) 3 - pick-up trucks 1 - grader 1 - bulldozer

1 - back hoe excavator 1 - 3-wheeler road roller 6 - sanders 7 - snow plows with wings 2 - roadside mowers 2 - payloaders 1 - road shoulder machine

The average amount of salt used annually is 2,000 tons which is mixed with sand for snow and ice control on town roads. The average amount of sand is 3,000 tons.

All town trucks are equipped with 2-way radios and there is a base station at the highway garage and also one at the Town Hall. The Highway department has a part-time secretary to maintain constant control of expenditures. It employs one full-time mechanic who maintains over 50 pieces of equipment owned by Water/Sewer Department, Parks Department and Zoning as well as the Highway Department. As rapid growth continues the town continues to take dedication of more miles of road each year. Thus through the years, the position of Highway Superintendent has become more demanding. In order to serve the public more efficiently, the superintendent must be vigilant 24 hours a day every day of the year.

Town Highway Garage - located at 5630 Collett Road West.

114

J I

\ \

Plowing Snow

Leo Everdyke, Highway Superintendent. - 1986 Cheverolet % pick-up truck. Spring 1988

1988 Ford single-axle dump truck.

115

ROAD NAME CHANGES DATE OF CHANGE

ORIGINAL NAME

NAME CHANGED TO

Mud Road

West end-County Rd. #41. Rt. 332 east to County Rd. #8 became King Rd., Shortsville Rd., Hathaway Rd., Telephone Rd., or Gerlock * Rd. Now it is County Road 41.

May, 1930

Marquis Road

Cline Road

March, 1926

320A Road

From Rt. 96 north to Wayne County Line became County Road #8

May, 1908

Canandaigua-Victor Road

Rochester Road or Rt. 332

November, 1934

Farm to Market Road

From Rt. 96 south to the town line became Flint Hill Rd., Blacksmith Corners Rd. or County Rd. #28 (presently)

February, 1907

Manchester-Victor Road

Rt. 96

January, 1924

Gifford Road

From County Rd. #28 east to Yellow Mills Rd. became Rushmore Rd.

Clark Road

From Sheldon Road east to County Road #28 became Rushmore Road

Friends Church Road

Sheldon-Herendeen Rd., then to Rushmore­ Sheldon & is now Herendeen-5heldon Rd.

Victor Road

North from Allen-Padgham Road to Macedon line became Bowerman Road

Padelford Road or Robbins Road (from Rt. 96 south to Townline)

Farmington Station Road, then became Cou nty Road #8

Main Street (New Salem)

Padgham Road then Allen-Padgham Road

Maple Avenue

Hook Road-north of Allen-Padgham Road

September, 1940

Macedon Street

Nolan Road then to Farmington Road

Stone Street

Church Avenue

South Avenue

Hook Road, south of Allen-Padgham Road to Green Road

Loomis Road

Hook Road

Plaster Mill Road

From County Road #8 west to Victor line became Collett Road West

Loomis Road

Curran Road

Old State Road

Beaver Creek Road

Canandaigua-Farmington Townline Road

From Sand Hill Road east is now Latting Road

Risser Road

Payne Road

Erie Street Road

Rausler Road

Manchester-Victor Road

State Street, Rt. 96

Walton Road

Ellsworth Road

Seven Hills Road

Yahn Road

Prairie Street

Yellowmills Road

Wells Road

Mt. Payne Road

*From County Rd. #8 to Manchester town line is now known as Shortsville Rd.

116

FARMINGTON'S PARK LANDS· OPEN SPACE FOR TODAY AND THE NEXT TWO HUNDRED YEARS Many years ago Will Rogers remarked that, "The good Lord is makin' more people, but he ain't makin' no more land." For the last two decades Farmington has been favored with leaders who realized this truth and who have acted to protect open spaces within our Town during a time of development and population upsurge. Many years ago it was calculated that in the United States a million acres a year is bulldozed. Each year an area roughly the size of the State of Rhode Island is being paved over or built up. Today Farmington has forty five acres of park land. This valuable resource may have been muscled out by residential and commercial development if local government had not acted to provide for our leisure time needs. The Town Board first moved to acquire public land for parks in 1970 when it purchased the twenty one and a half acres which now comprises the Town Park and the Town Hall complex. This action provided approximately twenty acres of park land located very nearly in the center of town. In 1973 significant improvements began at the site with the installation of tennis and basketball courts, play equipment and parking facilities. Since that time the park has been expanded to include all attractions commonly associated with a public outdoor recreation facility. Accepted park planning policy recommends developing neighborhood parks and playgrounds. In 1975 when the Town acquired nearly ten acres in the Farmington Grove subdivision the first Farmington neighborhood park began. The following year earthwork commenced and shortly thereafter the park was serving the neighbors and community. The facility has been slowly upgraded and this bicentennial year will see a signficant construction and near completion of the site. During the 1988 construction season a natural ice rink and court games will be installed, and landscaping and grading improvements will be accomplished. By the mid 1970's residential development had spread throughout the western portion of the Town and the need for outdoor recreation facilities in northwest Farmington came to the attention of the Town Board. Negotiations began for the acquisition of fourteen and one half acres of public land on Allen-Padgham Road. In 1978 these efforts came to fruition and shortly thereafter development began at Pumpkin Hook Park. Park construction can be a very costly undertaking and it was the Town Board's wish to keep development costs from burdening the tax base. Accordingly, strategies were considered to lessen this burden. The town chose to apply for federal funds for acquiring land and building parks. This effort was successful and through the U.S. Department of Interior a grant was received to provide for half the cost of the Pumpkin Hook Park. Additionally, new parks were built in annual phases.

Following this plan, in 1986 Pumpkin Hook Park became a complete, year-round facility with the construction of a natural ice skating rink. The Farmington treasury of parks contains a unique heirloom. In 1976 the Town was deeded a three quarter acre parcel at the intersection of County Road #28 and Shortsville Road. In 1823 a Friends Meeting House was constructed there and hence this has become known as Meeting House Park. This site is wooded with a mature stand of evergreens and provided an ideal spot for a quiet family picnic on a sultry summer day.

The Town park system has developed during a very small portion of Farmington's two hundred year history, but it is a legacy for many future generations of townspeople. These public lands are for you to use today and to preserve for the future.

117

RECREATION COMMISSION The need for a recreation program for the Town was realized around 1965, with the formation of a five member commission. In the beginning the commission planned activities such as bowling, rollerskating, dances and the like. The commission members and parents of participating children shared the chaperoning responsibilities. At many early meetings the need was felt for a place for the committee to hold some events. The building of the Farmington Town Park caused the start of many programs. The Commission helped to organize and implement the first seeding of the lawn, prepare ball diamonds, set up swings, slides, sandboxes and other equipment. We now have a Summer Recreation Program in four parks. It is run by a Director and a staff who plan and supervise a wide variety of events in which our youth heartily participate each season. The Recreation Commission has provided programs of an educational as well as recreational nature for the youth and adults of Farmington. The youth and adult baseball leagues were started by the Commission. Their success is evidenced by the crowded parking lots and ball diamonds during the summer months. Other successful events have included the annual Easter egg hunt and the Haunted House at Halloween. The Commission continues to provide our townspeople with varied events and programs which enrich our lives. WATER DEPARTMENT The water lines were constructed in 1961 in South Farmington; hookups began in 1962. There were approximately thirty customers. The North Farmington lines were constructed in 1968 with forty-nine customers.

Today there are eighty miles of distribution lines within Farmington and Canandaigua. They serve approximately 2,300 customers. SEWER DEPARTMENT The sewer department was started in 1962 with the construction of the first lines and the plant on McMahon Road, in the Town of Victor. Today the department covers approximately fifty miles of service area with 1,750 customers.

ASSESSMENT In 1975 the total assessment of the Town was approximately $30,000,000. In 1987 the total assessed value was $230,000,000. ZONING

The need for a sound zoning program was realized in 1957 with the adoption of zoning and building codes that have helped to control the type of growth in the Town. In 1980 a zoning review board was established and has developed over the years into the system we have today.

118

NEW HOUSING UNITS IN THE TOWN OF FARMINGTON SUBDIVISIONS Beaver Creek Town Homes Brier Patch Brierwood Calm Lake Development. Creekpoi nt Creekwood Townhouses Doe Haven Fairdale (proposed) ; Farmbrook Farmington Grove Farmington Ponds Fawn Estates Galvi n Estates Greenbrier Kings Village Northbrook Commons Old Mill Stonewood Sunny Acres Sunset View Sweetbrier Misc ,

APARTMENT COMPLEXES 64

Terrace Apartments H igberg Apartments Farmington Court Finger Lakes Farmington Woodland Manor Maple Grove

33 22 80 53 159 212 335 729 164 120 13 17 71 96 110 38 42 116 18 98 85

Stonehedge Village Collett Woods Victor Heights

122 ·.··· 8 ··· 32 32 92 36 90 · 96 16

524 MOBILE HOME PARKS Hunts Trailer Park Northrup Mobile Terrace Farmington Mobile Park

285 211 138 534

GRAND

Mobile Homes

2,713

TOTAL

534 524

Apartments Subdivisions

2,713

GRAND TOTAL

3,771

Since 1958, with the inception of the community of Doe Haven, the Town of Farmington has seen a rapid rise in the number of housing units. The above list gives the number of living units built in the town since 1958. Since the last printing of this issue of the History of Farmington the number of housing units (built and proposed) has increased approximately 32%. We can attribute this increase to the recent suburban trend. Farmington has easy access to Rochester and the surrounding areas by the NYS Thruway, NYS Routes 96 & 332. Employment opportunities have increased with the addition to the town of the Farmington Industrial Park, Wade's Market, Ultra Fab, the Farmington branch of Canandaigua National Bank and many other small business.

119

XIII

Celebrations

Over the years Farmington has enjoyed numerous celebrations. About every twenty-five years the town has had an official commemoration of the founding of the town by our forefathers. In 1976, Farmington participated in the national bicentennial functions that marked the birth of the United States. In 1987 a committee was appointed by the Town Board to plan a 200th anniversary celebration. Included here are some descriptions and photos of some of the events that have taken place throughout the history of our community.

One of Lot Chilson's parties - Mud Creek.

- Orthodox Churchyard. July 4th Celebration - horseless Harry Warlow, William Bowerman carriage.

120

Fourth of July Celebration - Farmington, New York. Anson Gardner "Orator".

Float in Farmington Parade. July 4th. 121

1976 BICENTENNIAL

In 1976, as a part of the national bicentennial, many historic events took place in Farmington. A book was compiled, which we have used as the basis for this 1988 history of Farmington. The year's activities began with a gala dinner and ball on April 30, 1976 at the Farm Restaurant. It was sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce. Awards were given for beards, mustaches and costumes. The oldest Farmington native was honored and recognition was given to the descendants of Farmington Pioneers. An "Old Fashioned Day in May" was held on May 22, 1976. A walking tour of the hamlet of Pumpkin Hook (originally New Salem), with stops to view pioneer artifacts and visit old homes and churches and conestoga wagon rides were included in the day's activities. The July 4th parade began near the railroad tracks and proceeded north on County Rd. 8 to the Town Hall Park, where the floats were judged. The Bicentennial Hostesses were featured in the parade. Leola Popenhusen was the Senior Bicentennial Hostess and Betsy Everdyke and Nanette Crowther were Junior Hostesses. The parade also included many partlctpants dressed in colonial attire. The Farmington Firebirds, the local firemen's band, helped provide music for this event. The Farmington Friend's Church float featured a model of the church and several young people wearing traditional Quaker clothing. A giant 200th birthday cake flanked by four generations of the Hartley Payne family - son, Wes, grandson, Cliff and great-grandson, Dan, rode on another float. All are currently town residents. The Tom Sadler family contributed a horse-drawn milk wagon on behalf of the 4-H Club, and the Farmington Dairymen. The· Ontario County Dairy Maid for 1976, Marlene Calking greeted spectators from the float. The Victor-Farmington Ambulance Corps. entered a float with a colonial theme. The members of the Bahai faith also furnished a float. Its theme was "One Planet, One People" and consisted of a globe surrounded by people of different races.

July 4th Ceremony - 1976. Diane Jensen-Robinson, Chairperson & Charles Baker, representative of Friends Church.

122

- 1976. July 4th Parade

Friends Church Float - 1976 Matt Lloyd, Jeff Everdyke, Sue Ford. (left to right) Janet Ford, Linda Kula, Laura Kula, Hank De Back: Carrie Kula, Karen Coon. Jaeger,

123

Victor-Farmington Ambulance Corps Float - 1976.

The Payne Family Float at Victor's parade - 1976.

124

THE BICENTENNIAL CELEBRATION The Town of Farmington Bicentennial Committee was organized in March 1987. It is comprised of a group of volunteers appointed by the Town Board. The principal fund raising event was an auction held on Saturday, October 3, 1987 at the Town Highway Garage. A former town resident and professional auctioneer, Donnie Yahn donated his services. Items for the auction had been donated by many local businesses and by private individuals within the town. Bid tickets were raised, the gavel lowered and one by one a variety of more than one hundred and eighty items were auctioned off. These items ranged from a professional land survey and a microwave oven to trees and a horse drawn hayride. This event netted nearly $3,000 for the Bicentennial treasury. A Bicentennial logo was chosen in the summer of 1987. It appears on the front cover of this book. It depicts the first settlers of the town, Quakers from the Berkshire Region of Massachusetts who came in 1788 - 1789 by ox-sled and ox­ cart. Several items of memorabilia were sold with this logo - T-shirts, mugs (plastic and ceramic), pins, tietacks, caps and frisbees. Proceeds from these sales also added to the Bicentennial celebration funds. The next event was a Community Christmas Tree lighting held at the Town Park on Sunday, December 13, 1987. It was the first time the town sponsored a community Christmas tree. Carols were sung by all and refreshments were served to about 60 people.

In the spring of 1988, the Committee busily prepared for the year's festivities. The first major project was the re-edition of this book. On April 30th, commemorative Bicentennial Liberty trees were planted in each town park as a living tribute to Farmington's 200 years and as a symbol of hope for continued growth and prosperity for the community. A short dedication ceremony was held at the Town Park adjacent to the Town Hall. The tree planted there is a Katsura tree, a durable variety that will hopefully live to see the tercentennial. It is located diagonally off the northeastern corner of the Town Hall.

A Gala July 4th Celebration was held. A parade complete with bands, floats and marching units began at 12:30 pm and proceeded to the Town Park where it was followed by a brief ceremony. (A program from the day is included in this edition.) The afternoon was filled with old-time games and competitions, a chicken BBQ, a historical display, and other exhibitions. Square dance music & Country & Western danclnq led to the grande finale - a spectacular fireworks display. It was a very warm day with temperatures in the low 90's. However, the parade was attended by about 3,000 The crowd doubled to view the fireworks. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the day's events. Many remarked that people. they would remember this day for many years to come. A flurry of fall fashions and old-time fashions also took place on November 6th at the Bicentennial Fashion Show and Tea. The festivities continued in October with several events. A grand Bicentennial Ball was held on Saturday, October 1st, at the Farm Restaurant. Guests were asked to dress in costumes of their choice from six different eras: the Revolutionary War Era, the Civil War Era, the Victorian Period, the Roaring 20's, the 40's and 50's, the 60's and 70's. Three dinner choices were offered - beef, chicken and fish. The musical entertainment was provided by a much celebrated Rochester band, The Skycoasters. The Bicentennial baby was Ryan Thomas O'Connor, born to Thomas & Yvonne O'Connor of 5371 Fox Road on September 18,1988. He was the baby born closest to the birthdate of the first white child born in Farmington, Welcome Herendeen on September 17, 1790. The oldest citizen was Louis Gerlock, a life-long resident of the town. He was born on June 2, 1894 and is 94 years young! The Bicentennial quilt, a community effort, was presented by Pat Ford, chairperson of the Quilt Committee and will be put on display at the Town Hall. The following Saturday, October 8th., the pumpkins grown around our town throughout the summer appeared at the Town Park and were judged according to weight and prizes were awarded in two categories: Youth (16 and under) and Adult. There were 38 contest entrants. In the youth category the winners were: 1st place-Paul and Adam Sheldon whose pumpkin weighed 148 Ibs. and 2nd place-David VanderVelden whose pumpkin weighed 142 Ibs. In the adult category the winners were: 1st place-Pat Daly whose pumpkin weighed 199 Ibs. and 2nd place-Bette Ranney whose pumpkin weighed 138 Ibs. Rudy VanderVelden grew the largest pumpkin in town at 241.5 Ibs., but chose not to enter it in the contest as he was the contest co-ordinator. It is hoped that this contest will become an annual fall event. A Veteran's Day ceremony and plaque dedication was held at the Town Hall which was then followed by the burial of a Time Capsule to allow future generations to share in our celebration.

125

Again in December, a Community Christmas Tree was decorated and "Santa" was also on hand at this event.

The committee is also sponsoring several events in conjunction with the Farmington Historical Society: In March a photo puzzle of a local landmark building was placed in McDonald's Restaurant. Residents were asked to identify the building. A tour of the town cemeteries took place on Sunday, June 5th. As members of the Bicentennial Committee, we have endeavored to involve all facets of our community both in the planning of and in the actual events themselves. It is our sincere desire that we come together from all the areas of Farmington to celebrate the town's 200th birthday.

JUL Y 4th, 1988 TOWN OF FARMINGTON BICENTENNIAL PROGRAM 1. Welcome and reading of letter from President, Ronald Reagan, by Betsy Everdyke, Bicentennial Chairperson. 2.

National Anthem and Pledge of Allegiance led by a Cub Scout from pack 52.

3.

Invocation - Rev. Dale Dorrell, Pastor of Farmington Friends Church.

4. Welcoming Remarks - Wesley T. Payne, Town of Farmington Supervisor. Mr. Payne will introduce the following four guests: A. The Honorable Louise Slaughter, member of Congress - 30th Congressional District. Presentation of U.S. Flag.

B. The Honorable L. Paul Kehoe, New York State Senate (53rd District). Presentation of N.Y.S. Flag and Proclamation.

C. The Honorable Frank G. Talomie, Sr., New York State Assembly (129th District). Presentation of Proclamation.

D. The Honorable Renato (Ray) Vecchi, Ontario County Clerk.

5. Reading of Proclamation from Town of Farmington Hills, Michigan by Wesley T. Payne, Supervisor. 6.

Remarks by Representative of the 1794 Pickering Treaty Commemoration Committee by Mr. Robert Gorall.

7.

Keynote Speaker

8.

Remarks by Mr. Gustavus Wehrlin, Town of Farmington Councilman, Past Town Historian.

- Mr. Preston Pierce, Ontario County Historian.

9. Closing Announcements by Betsy Everdyke. 10.

Benediction - Rev. William Vallet, Pastor of the "New" Farmington Methodist Church.

Guest in Attendance on the Platform: Diana Van der Velden, Bicentennial Chairperson

126

Pumpkin Contest Winners (Youth Category): Front left to right: David Van der Velden, Adam Sheldon, Paul Sheldon. Back: Rudy Van der Velden.

Bicentennial Officers at Bicentennial Ball Diana Van der Velden, Betsy Everdyke, John Gligora

127

-

l �. /

Farmington Republicans' Float Parade - July 4th, 1988

Pumpkin Hook Clown Alley Float Parade - July 4th, 1988

128

Farmington Friends Church Float Parade - July 4th, 1988

St. John's Lutheran Church Float Parade - July 4th, 1988

129

At Podium - Betsy Everdyke (I to r) Rev. Dale Dorrell, Gustavus Wehrlin, Frank G. Talomie, Louise Slaughter, Wesley T. Payne, L. Paul Kehoe, Diana Van der Velden, Preston Pierce, Renato (Ray) Vecchi, Rev. William Vallet.

Historical Display & Bicentennial Quilt Gwen Crocker in traditional Quaker garb - July 4th, 1988

130

XIV

Grave Sites in Farmington

There are six cemeteries in the town of Farmington at this time, and there probably have been some other small family plots. The Hathaway, Payne and Power cemeteries are family plots that have not been used since about 1900. The earliest marked grave known in the town is in the Hathaway Cemetery. It is the burial place of Jemima Hathaway, wife of Isaac Hathaway and daughter of Nathan Comstock, she died in 1793. The Salem cemetery was started by the Wesley�n Church and later was turned over to the town and maintained by a cemetery association. It is no longer used, but IS maintained by the town parks department as are the other abandoned cemeteries. The North and South Farmington Cemeteries are still active and present a vivid record of the town's development. of the A small family plot called the Cooper cemetery was literally "dug up" when grading began for the construction Finger Lakes Race Track. NORTH FARMINGTON CEMETERY The North Farmington Cemetery is located at the northeast corner of the intersection of County Road 8 and Sheldon Road on lot #137 north and east of the Friends Meeting House. About fifteen acres of land was deeded in 1796 by the pioneer settler, Nathan Comstock, to be used by the Quakers as a site for a meeting house, school and "burying ground for Friends and friendly people." A strip of land was deeded to the cemetery association in 1898 by Mary H. Estes. In 1979 Arthur S. Herendeen deeded 1800 square feet of land to the North Farmington Cemetery Association. Quaker custom was that people were buried in rows, as they died, with the only marker being fieldstones. There are many unmarked graves in this cemetery. Unfortunately, early records, prior to 1840, have been lost. These might have covered the early burials and their absence causes many gaps in family geneologies. Two round-walled gardens were built by Lewis F. Allen and Charles H. Gardner in memory of these early unmarked graves. Both the Orthodox and Hicksite Friends meetings used this cemetery. In 1910 the Farmington Meeting deeded the property to the North Farmington Cemetery Association.

Otis Comstock, the first white settler to spend a winter in Farmington, is buried in this cemetery. The grave of his father, Nathan Comstock, one of the original purchasers of the land, is probably in the unmarked section of this cemetery. Abraham Lapham, who was also a pioneer settler, has a marked grave site here. Another interesting marker is that of Shelby Howard, who died in 1889 at the age of 81. The inscription reads: "Born a slave Lived a freeman Died in the Lord."

A small cobblestone marker locates the grave of Ann E. Markham. 1841-1927. It is said that she, with the help of her brother Charles H. Gardner, made her own tombstone.

131

SOUTH FARMINGTON CEMETERY The South Farmington Cemetery is located on the Shortsville Road, one tenth of a mile west of the intersection with County Road #28. It is located on the south side of the road, next to the South Farmington Chapel, which is now the home of the Abundant Life Assembly of God. Land for the South Farmington Cemetery Association was first deeded in 1823 by Welcome Herendeen, and later parcels were added in 1895 by George P. Power and in 1917 by Charles J. Gerlock. There are many graves of members of pioneer families including the Aldrich, Herendeen and Smith families. Nathan Herendeen died in 1807, aged eighty years. His marker reads: "SETILED NEAR TH IS PLACE ON 15TH OF 3 MO., 1790" He was originally buried in the orchard on his nearby farm, and the marker was put in the cemetery at a later date. One of our Civil War soldiers was:

Orin J. Herendeen, Capt. of Co. H, 126 Reg't NYSV, killed on the battlefield of Gettysburg, July 3, 1863, age 28 years. The marker for Gardner Mason reads:

"Died Suddenly Absent from home." Apr. 9, 1867 In the 67th year of his age. Psalm 58 verse 11 One wonders why it was noteworthy that he was absent from home. What stories these old stones could tell!

132

POWER CEMETERY The Power Cemetery located on County Road #41 east of State Route 332 on land formerly owned by the Power Family has some 40 gravestones and foot stones. Some of these stones are no longer in place but are leaning against trees or near the fence line. They are of a simple design, without ornamentation, and are either made of sandstone or limestone. The inscriptions are weathered to the point where reading them can be difficult if not impossible but the story they tell is fascinating. Unlike more modern stones, many include additional information such as parents of the young children and in the case of married women not only whom they married but who their parents were so it's possible to follow the family's story through several generations. Three generations of the Power family have found their final resting place here - Abiathar and Zimrhoda Power and their descendants. The earliest marker was for their son Thomas who died in 1814, aged 22 years. Two young Power sisters, the first and second wives of Mowry Aldrich, are buried here. Perhaps no other plot paints a more vivid picture of the harshness of pioneer life than the markers for Sophia Ford, a daughter of Abiathar and Zimrhoda Power who died in 1845 and her seven children, including two sons who died within a week of each other in October 1848, and four-day-old twin daughters.

Other family names are Hodgson, Mason, Odell, Pittinger, Rapalje, Tripp and VanDuzer. The last two burials in this cemetery appear to be Henry Brooks (February 1897) and his wife Elvira (March 1900). Four Brooks children are also buried there. Little Charles' stone is engraved: "Sleep Sweet Baby and Take thy Rest God Called Thee Home He Thought It Best" SALEM CEMETERY Variously known as the Farmington or the Lutheran Cemetery, the Salem Cemetery located on Farmington Road near Hook Road in the hamlet of "Pumpkin Hook" was originally the cemetery for the Wesleyan Methodist Church. The one acre parcel was deeded by Benjamin and Mahala C. Soule to the society June 16, 1842 for $170.00 - a burial place for "all persons of whatever conditions, color, clime, sect or creed".

The Wesleyan Church was organized in 1846 and thrived until 1876 when a disagreement among its parishioners caused such a rift that the church was disbanded. In about 1890 Farmington Grange #431 purchased the church building and according to records of a town meeting held in March 1897, the cemetery was declared town property and duly incorporated with Ellery Allen, Joseph Popenhusen and Theodore Bastian, trustees. There are more than 80 headstones in addition to many small grave markers on this ground. Apparently the earliest burials were in 1845. Many young children were laid to rest here including Minnie, Sophia, Frank and Fredarica who died in April and May 1887, all children of Harlof and Sophia Mamerow. Also found here are four children of Lewis F. and Judith Allen, two infant sons and two baby daughters, who share a common marker along side their parents. For two children of Lewis and Ellen Morgan the marker bears this inscription:

"They worthy lived and calmly died Now gently lay they side by side For all their love and kindness here, We can but give the falling tear." Neither child reached their first birthday. Their young mother, Ellen, is also buried here. She was twenty-three. Family names - Bauer, Shrader, Diemer, Bastian, Yahn to name a few-give testimony to the many German families who settled in the community. Frank Yahn's marker bears this inscription:

"In deine hande befehle ich Meinen geist; du hastmich Erloset, herr, du getreuer Gott. Ps. 31:6 Of interest, too, are two veterans - Smith-Hicks Crocker, a Civil War soldier C.B. 146 N.Y. Volunteer who died in 1920 and Pvt. William Yahn who died November 2, 1939.

133

Elizabeth, wife of Henry Root, died in February 1847. Her stone carries an ominous message: "Farewell my friend and husband dear Though I am dead yet sleep I here My end you know my grave you see Therefore prepare to follow me." Despite this good advice, Mr. Root does not appear to be buried in this cemetery. There were burials here into the 1960's but the cemetery is now inactive and under the care of the Town of Farmington Parks and Recreation Department.

PAYNE CEMETERY

Payne Cemetery may be reached by taking an abandoned road which runs south of Rt. 96 just east of Sand Hill Road. Only six Payne stones remain and one Lapham stone in a cemetery which was probably one of the grandest in town. Several footstones can be found. Footstones were in common use in early American times. The dates of death are between 1821 and 1875.

Allen Payne's stone is at least 10 feet high which makes it one of the tallest in town. John Payne's 1821 headstone Is about 5 feet high bearing a 12 line epitaph. This is the longest in town. The letters are chiseled out of a stone. The carver ran out of room at the end of each line so he piled the last few letters of the word on top of the end of the word. The verse Is poetic beginning "Farewell to all below the sun." The story told too many times of the early deaths of women is repeated again with the stone of Amanda M. Payne, death 12-16-1844 In her 21st year. Children's lives were so precious they were counted by days. Hannah M. Payne died 11-22-1837 at age 6 months and 15 days. Her epitaph Is partly legible:

"Ere Sin Could Blight our Baby Fair" "Death Came with Friendly Care" "This lovely Bud to Heaven Conveyed" "And Bid it Blossom There." 134

HATHAWAY CEMETERY Look for Hathaway Cemetery from Rte. 332 and County Rd. 41. It can be seen looking southwest from this crossroad known as Hathaway's Corner. Drive or walk through the barnyard. A "right of way" has been granted to the Town of Farmington to reach and maintain this cemetery. There are more than 48 markers with the oldest belonging to Jemima Hathaway, who rode horseback from Adams, Mass. in the Spring of 1790. She died on April 1, 1793 making her death one of the first in the town and her gravestone one of the oldest.

Jemima's husband, Isaac Hathaway, born 1755, is a documented Revolutionary patriot and was buried next to her in 1823. Stephen Hayward 1759-1839 is also a documented Revolutionary Patriot. The 20th Century has not witnessed a burial here as the most recent marker is inscribed 1898. Most of the stores which are still standing face the west. Many are toppled, broken and pieces are missing. The most unusual first names are found in this cemetery: Ziba, Savilla, Kezia, Benoni, Perez and Phi lena. One veteran of the Civil War, Stephen H. Osburn, has a stone which is inscribed "killed at Petersburg, Va. on October 28, 1864." He was a member of a New York State Regiment. This cemetery bears silent testimony to the untimely deaths of women and children in the early days of Farmington. A heart-shaped foot marker marks the grave of Mary age 3 and Spencer Brace age 13 brother and sister who both died in 1822 a few months apart. Ellen Hathaway's marker - as dictated to the stone cutter by her husband - is a memorial to all the young women who died in the prime of their lives - "GONE - FROM THE HEART THAT LOVED HER."

Payne Cemetery

Hathaway Cemetery

135

A CLOSING THOUGHT

Farmington is no longer the quiet, quaint town of yesteryear. Now it is the fastest growing town in Ontario County. New residents and businesses continue to settle "in". Yet, too, remain the contrasts: Commuters hurry to and from office and factory jobs, mostly in Rochester, while a few farmers can still be seen plowing and planting in the fields. Race horses speed at the track, while cattle graze peacefully in the neighboring fields. Children are bussed to school in adjacent communities and return home to play ball in Farmington's parks. As land is cleared and trees are cut down for new housing developments, woodlands remain that still are home to deer, racoons, pheasants, rabbits and other wildlife. Amidst the hustle-bustle pace of every day life in the 1980's when cars, microwave ovens, computers and VCR's abound, one can still escape modern technology and seek out those places of quiet solitude that still exist in the hidden corners of Farmington. "When we build, let us not think that we build forever. Let it not be for present delight nor for present use alone. Let it be such work as our descendents will thank us for; and let us think, as we lay stone on stone, that a day is to come when those stones will be held sacred because our hands have touched them, and that men will say as they look upon the labor and wrought substance of them, "See! This our father did for us." John Ruskin

136

MEMBERS OF THE BICENTENNIAL COMMITTEE

Betsy Everdyke co-chairperson Diana Van der Velden - co-chairperson John Gligora - Treasurer Rudy Van der Velden William Bohling

Tom & Sandra Deitz Jackie Morris Karen Scofield Barbara Barone Mary Hillerman Debbie Breese Theodore & Rosalie Fafinski & children - Daniel & Rebecca Virginia DeLano Gail Gligora Linda Ellis Nan Silliman John & Donna Powell Chuck Callari

Audrey Everdyke Kathy Lynch Sharon Wilder Margaret Hartsough Bette Ranney A. Allen Herendeen Helen Kirker Eileen Halpin

SOURCES OF HISTORICAL INFORMATION

Atlas of Ontario County (Pomeroy, Whiteman & Company) 1874. Historical and Statistical Gazetteer of New York State (RD. Smith, Publisher) 1860. History of Farmington, A.B. Katkamier, Author, 1897. History of the Herendeen Family, Lewis and Marion Allen, Authors. History of New Salem, Charles H. Gardner, Author, 1934. History of New Salem, Carrie Padgham, Author, 1966. History of Ontario County, Professor W.H. MCintosh, Author, 1876. History of Ontario County, (D. Mason and Company, Publisher) 1893. History of Ontario County & It's People's, Vols_ 1 & 2, Charles F. Milliken, A. (Lewis Historical Publishing Comp.) 1911. History of Schools, Lewis F. Allen, Author, 1933. New Century Atlas of Ontario County, New York, (Century Map Company: Philadelpha, Pa.,) 1904. Pioneers of Macedon, Mary Louis Eldredge, Author, 1912. Record of Minutes, Town of Farmington (November 8, 1906 - present). Supervisor's Log of Ontario County, New York, (1872 1886 1922). Highway Book Town of Farmington

137

Famdngton Town Historian 1000 County Road 8 F.mtI-a_ NY 14425