FOR RELEASE ON JUNE 3, 2013 CONTACT: Chandler Smith, Tour Director (303) 263-0082 [email protected] RIDE THE ROCKIES FORGES ON FOR 28th CONSECU...

250KB Sizes 0 Downloads 0 Views

Recommend Documents

May 19, 2006 - Kevin Endres, and Ann Mook, and Senators Jim Condos, Diane Snelling, Susan Bartlett, Hinda. Miller, and P

News Release Persbericht News Release News Release UNILEVER
Sep 27, 2010 - Unilever's US portfolio, complementing its own brands such as Suave, Dove ... Stockholders may obtain a d

Jul 10, 2007 - Travis J. Adkins. Route 2, Box 277F. Hurricane, WV. Daniel L. Alexander ... Brandon M. Childers. 4132 Tea

News Release
CNL FINANCIAL GROUP AND KKR LAUNCH CORPORATE CAPITAL TRUST II ... Oct. 14, 2015 — CNL Financial Group announced that t

News Release
Nov 20, 2015 - HND Route Master is multilingual. With it, users can search for the best routes via trains and buses from

Mile High Mites at the Casper Ice Arena. Colorado Avalanche's Learn-to-Play Hockey. Casper, Wyoming (June 20, 2017) –

Quebec City, May 21, 2010 – During a reception held on May 20, 2010, 26 students from Cégep de Sainte-Foy received sc

News Release
Jul 23, 2014 - The Junior Refuge Friends group at First Flight Middle School has had ... year, they've learned about ref

News release
May 5, 2009 - to stabilize banks of Noroton River in New Canaan. CONCORD, Mass. – The Town of New Canaan, Connecticut

News Release
ACE Limited acquired The Chubb Corporation (Chubb Corp) on ... ZURICH – January 31, 2017 – Chubb Limited (NYSE: CB)


CONTACT: Chandler Smith, Tour Director (303) 263-0082 [email protected]

RIDE THE ROCKIES FORGES ON FOR 28th CONSECUTIVE YEAR Denver, CO (June 3, 2013) -- The 28th annual Denver Post Ride The Rockies Bicycle Tour presented by Wells Fargo is gearing up to take 2,000 cyclists through Colorado for seven days of beautiful riding and eight enjoyable host communities. The 515-mile route starts in the town of Telluride, CO on June 8 and ends in the shadow of Pikes Peak at Cheyenne Mountain Resort in Colorado Springs, CO on June 15. The route travels through the host communities of Cortez, Durango, Pagosa Springs, Alamosa, Salida and Cañon City. "This year's ride features some of the state's most beautiful terrain," said Chandler Smith, Tour Director of Ride The Rockies. "Each stage affords cyclists impressive views and experiences that are uniquely Colorado." Over the course of the week, cyclists will climb over 20,000 vertical feet, traverse the highest suspension bridge in the United States while visiting the Royal Gorge Bridge & Park and enjoy three mountain passes including Lizard Head Pass (10,222 feet), Wolf Creek Pass (10,856 feet), Poncha Pass (9,010 feet). -More-

Continued: RIDE THE ROCKIES FORGES ON FOR 28th CONSECUTIVE YEAR The 2,000 participants, selected in a random lottery, represent 49 states and 11 foreign countries, including Australia, Canada, France, England, India, Ecuador, Spain, Germany, Belgium, New Zealand and Ireland. The non-competitive ride includes riders of all ages. The oldest registered rider is 84-year old Harley Magee of Westminster, CO. The youngest rider is 6-year old Keith Mahon of Houston, TX. Wells Fargo continues to support the tour as the presenting sponsor. “There’s no better way to experience our beautiful state than on a bike. Ride The Rockies affords that opportunity and more,” said Nathan Christian, Wells Fargo regional president for Colorado. “This event also provides an economic boost and raises thousands of dollars for nonprofit organizations in each of the cities along the route. We’re proud to once again sponsor this summertime classic that showcases the best of Colorado. To all the cyclists, I wish you a fun, safe ride. To the event organizers and volunteers, I thank you for making this great event happen.” A volunteer staff of approximately 100 people will support cyclists during the Tour. They will work at aid stations, serve as road marshals, transport water and baggage and drive “SAG” vehicles. The Tour is also accompanied by ride medics, ride officials, bicycle technicians and Colorado State Patrol. Ride The Rockies is also supported by a number of sponsors including: Wells Fargo, Suncor Energy, Odell Brewing Company, King Soopers, Hincapie Sportswear, St. Anthony Hospitals, Stadium Medical, Zoll, Gatorade, Maggiano’s, USA Pro Challenge, Sign Language, Power Bar, Wheat Ridge Cyclery, The Bicycle Doctor, Bicycle Village, Shimano, Bike Source, and Campus Cycles. Local organizing committees have been working with numerous individuals and organizations to provide a number of services to make the visitors’ stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.

Services include community meals, overnight camping facilities, showers,

entertainment, etc. -More-

Continued: RIDE THE ROCKIES FORGES ON FOR 28th CONSECUTIVE YEAR Additionally, local school organizations and non-profits will assist with overnight security for bicycles, official vehicle parking and the Green Team, helping Ride The Rockies move towards a zero-waste event. It’s estimated that cyclists will spend more than $1,750,000 at hotels, restaurants and retail businesses throughout the week in the different communities. Proceeds from Ride The Rockies benefit The Denver Post Community Foundation. All funds raised are returned directly to nonprofit organizations in Colorado. In addition, The Denver Post Community Foundation will award a $5,000 grant to an eligible nonprofit agency in each of the 2013 Ride The Rockies host communities. For more information, contact the Ride The Rockies staff at (303) 954-6700 or visit the event website at -30Enclosure: Residents of our 2013 host communities participating in Ride The Rockies.

LOCAL RESIDENTS PARTICIPATING IN THE 28TH ANNUAL RIDE THE ROCKIES Telluride: Joel Cantor Rick Fusting Gillian Parsons Cortez: Martin McKean Dean Palmquist Durango: Stephen Autry Laura Coleman Warren Eaton Kirsten Fulton Debbie Goodman Judith Jones Tara Morey Kathryn O’Reilly Shawn O’Reilly David Ottman Christi Small Eric Small Paul Squadrito Jon Warnick Beth Whitworth Pagosa Springs: Cathy Holland Chantelle Jordan Joseph Jordan Robert Lynch Andrea McGinn Leeann Skoglund Alamosa: Judy Egbert Martin Jones Marcia Tuggle Ian Walker Kip Walker

Salida: Jenny Filter Paul Gregg Gary McCarrell Patrick Murphy Dana Porter Jeffery Porter April Ralph Greg Ralph Stephen Redmond Cañon City: Gary Minor Jon Banker Michael Banker Julie Marshall Warren Marshall Paul Minor Harry Schumer Mason Shamis Dennis Vettese Stuart Vettese Colorado Springs: Mark Ashton Ed Baur Armand Boudreau Jr. Meggen Burghardt-Bruce Debbie Burton Carlos Cardenas Chris Carmichael Paige Carmichael Jared Cleghorn Graeme Cloutte Sherry Coutts Suzan Crary Hoover Scott Crosby Gary Dean Jan Elliott Hal Ellis Larry Entwistle Ligia Felsen Steve Fredrick Jorja French Mike French Orlando Gibbon Julie Gilbert

Colorado Springs cont.: Peter Hamblin Katie Hardman Tom Hardman Kevin Hartig William Hobart David Hoover Thomas Houck Christopher S. Keller Virginia Kelly Larry Kintz James Komadina Ralph Luttrell James Malm Greg Marr Jim Massa Nikki McComsey Christopher Mike Steve Moran Ronald Morgan Dennis Nuttall David Parks Todd Parks John Pfeil Christopher Phelan Don Powers Ralph Precord Michael Reeg Kyle Ries Ann Rotolo Heather Scholan Michael Silver Jane Sliker Neal Sliker Gary Sondermann Loryl Tabone Jeff Thomas Joseph Thomas Kathy Thomas Paul Tuttle Pete Vujcich Michael Watry Mark Weisbrod Gib Weiskopf John Winn Robert Woodworth