Read the press release. - Bureau of Governmental Research

Read the press release. - Bureau of Governmental Research

Officers Hardy B. Fowler Chairman Ludovico Feoli Vice Chairman J. Storey Charbonnet Secretary Norma Grace Treasurer BGR MEDIA RELEASE For Immediate R...

167KB Sizes 0 Downloads 5 Views

Officers Hardy B. Fowler Chairman Ludovico Feoli Vice Chairman J. Storey Charbonnet Secretary Norma Grace Treasurer

BGR MEDIA RELEASE For Immediate Release – October 16, 2017 Contact:

Amanda Kaiser, Communications & Development Manager (504) 525-4152, ext. 108

Past Chairman Mark A. Mayer President & CEO Amy L. Glovinsky Board Members Anne P. Baños Toya Barnes-Teamer Nicolas G. Bazan Kelly R. Brown Charmaine Caccioppi Caroline Zetzmann Calhoun Andrea Chen Maureen Clary Leah N. Engelhardt Joseph S. Exnicios Louis M. Freeman, Jr. Alex Gershanik Hunter G. Hill H. Merritt Lane, III Andrew R. Lee Martin Mayer Todd McDonald Jennifer Medbery Jennifer M. Neil Anthony Recasner Melissa Sawyer Nathalie G. Simon Slade Simons Steven W. Usdin Larry Washington Dennis Woltering Honorary Board Harry J. Blumenthal, Jr. Edgar L. Chase III J. Kelly Duncan Louis M. Freeman Richard W. Freeman, Jr. Ronald J. French David Guidry Hans B. Jonassen Diana M. Lewis Anne M. Milling R. King Milling George H. Porter III Lynes R. Sloss Sterling Scott Willis BUREAU OF GOVERNMENTAL RESEARCH 1055 St. Charles Ave, Suite 200 New Orleans, LA 70130

Phone 504-525-4152

BGR Seeking Nominations of Public Employees and Citizens for 2018 Excellence in Government Awards New Orleans (October 16, 2017) – The Bureau of Governmental Research (BGR) is now accepting nominations for its 2018 Excellence in Government Awards. Since 1994, BGR has given more than 150 awards Excellence in Government awards to extraordinary public employees and private citizens. The awards honor creative, dedicated public employees for their accomplishments and citizens who have worked to significantly improve local government. The deadline for nominations is January 16, 2018. “BGR looks forward to honoring the most dedicated, creative and highperforming individuals working on and in local government,” said Hardy B. Fowler, BGR Board Chairman. “The impact of Excellence in Government honorees’ work extends long past the award ceremony.” There are four Excellence in Government award categories. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes sustained performance over a career in public service. The Merit Award recognizes outstanding performance by public sector employees. The Innovation Award recognizes employees who have implemented new solutions to pressing problems. Finally, the Citizenship Award recognizes a private citizen who has worked to improve the quality of government. All public employee awards include a cash award. “BGR’s Excellence in Government awards motivate public sector achievement and citizen engagement, which align with BGR’s mission and benefit the community at large,” said Amy L. Glovinsky, BGR President

BGR Media Release October 16, 2017 Page 2 & CEO. “This is an exciting part of our mission where BGR recognizes those who are actively working for and facilitating efficient and effective government.” Anyone can nominate a public employee or private citizen for an award. BGR relies on nominators to bring awareness to unsung heroes who are making an important contribution to local government. BGR accepts nominations throughout the Greater New Orleans Region, including Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles and St. Tammany Parishes. For more details on eligibility and to submit a nomination, visit BGR is grateful for the support of its 2018 Excellence in Government sponsor, Canal Barge Company, Inc. **** BGR is a private, nonprofit, independent research organization. Since its founding in 1932, it has been dedicated to informed public policy-making and the effective use of public resources in the Greater New Orleans area. For more information, call 525-4152 or visit BGR’s website,